We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Hotel Papageno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Papageno
Ranked #235 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The location of this hotel is a really good one - 5 min away from city center on a bus, or 10-15 min walk. Staff is very helpful and the breakfast is amazing for a 3 star hotel. The only minus is the bath tub - its a bit uncomfortable and there is no air condition (however you rarely need it in Vienna). Overall its a good place, and I would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aykhan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

I had chosen Papageno mainly for its good location near the University of Vienna (TU) where my conference was held. Photos on the website showed a positive picture of the hotel. However my room was very small with a single bed. The quality of the materials was meagre and the position of the television was inadequate to watch. Sanitary fittings were okay but nothing special and the room did not have airconditioning. This was not advertised byt he way, but in July you need one in Vienna. Breakfast was good.

So, location excellent, and there are better rooms than mine available probably.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ytzen_vdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Good location close to all transportation. The room is clean. Breakfast is excellent. They provide adapters for international power plugs. You can even rent a bike directly from the hotel. I paid €7 for half day bike rental plus bottle water and bike map - great value ! When I got home I found a small payment difference and emailed the hotel, the money was credited to my card in the 2nd day- excellent staff service.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank visitor2013july
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Nice place. Pleasant room, great window in the bathroom. Very good Hungarian vine club next door.
Good position, calm neighborhood, good connections to everything. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast serving. Reasonable price.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohoo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

They have good service. We gambled in June with having a hotel without air conditioning and failed. It was 30+ C in Vienna and in our room througout our stay. Upon request they provided a fan which made the stay bearable. Our room was very nice and spacious and nicely decorated but wear and tear show e.g. in the floor which is disintegrating. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isidorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Canan K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I confess that the name drew me to the website which makes the hotel seem a bit different. And it is. It is a quick 2 stop tram ride to Karls Platz where one can make quick connections to just about everything. The rooms were clean, bathrooms large and clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. In a dozen trips to Europe, the breakfast was the best. And at 2pm they put out coffee and a home made cake in the lobby for guests to enjoy, which is great if you are stopping by for a rest before heading out for the evening. We stayed at Hotel Papageno for a few days at the beginning and again at the end of our trip. I could not wish for a better hotel experience at any price and at Papageno's price, it was an amazingly good value. Mehr sein als Schein.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#53 of 359 in Vienna
994 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Johann Strauss
Hotel Johann Strauss
#119 of 359 in Vienna
434 reviews
Arthotel ANA Westbahn
#272 of 359 in Vienna
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Wieden
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna 4
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna 4
#184 of 359 in Vienna
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papageno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papageno

Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 23-25, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#115 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Papageno 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Papageno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Vienna
Vienna Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing