We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Papageno”
Review of Hotel Papageno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Papageno
Ranked #225 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hotel Papageno”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had two rooms on the top floor. One had a balcony (albeit rather tiny!) which was fantastic. The other was only a window. Luckily, the people in that room had a fan, because it was just so hot. Also good was the fact that they were able to provide a travel cot at a moment's notice because the firm we booked through had forgotten to ask, even though it was mentioned on our original paperwork.

Breakfast was great. Real value for money and definitely worth it. Location was also great- we walked/ pram pushed to the centre in a very short time every day, which was perfect. Overall, this hotel was excellent value for money- it was cheap but central with breakfast and afternoon coffee and cakes included.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    183
    82
    26
    18
See reviews for
81
151
44
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The location of this hotel is a really good one - 5 min away from city center on a bus, or 10-15 min walk. Staff is very helpful and the breakfast is amazing for a 3 star hotel. The only minus is the bath tub - its a bit uncomfortable and there is no air condition (however you rarely need it in Vienna). Overall its a good place, and I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aykhan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I had chosen Papageno mainly for its good location near the University of Vienna (TU) where my conference was held. Photos on the website showed a positive picture of the hotel. However my room was very small with a single bed. The quality of the materials was meagre and the position of the television was inadequate to watch. Sanitary fittings were okay but nothing special and the room did not have airconditioning. This was not advertised byt he way, but in July you need one in Vienna. Breakfast was good.

So, location excellent, and there are better rooms than mine available probably.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ytzen_vdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Good location close to all transportation. The room is clean. Breakfast is excellent. They provide adapters for international power plugs. You can even rent a bike directly from the hotel. I paid €7 for half day bike rental plus bottle water and bike map - great value ! When I got home I found a small payment difference and emailed the hotel, the money was credited to my card in the 2nd day- excellent staff service.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank visitor2013july
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montenegro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Nice place. Pleasant room, great window in the bathroom. Very good Hungarian vine club next door.
Good position, calm neighborhood, good connections to everything. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast serving. Reasonable price.

Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohoo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

They have good service. We gambled in June with having a hotel without air conditioning and failed. It was 30+ C in Vienna and in our room througout our stay. Upon request they provided a fan which made the stay bearable. Our room was very nice and spacious and nicely decorated but wear and tear show e.g. in the floor which is disintegrating. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isidorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#46 of 360 in Vienna
907 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Johann Strauss
Hotel Johann Strauss
#130 of 360 in Vienna
413 reviews
Arthotel ANA Westbahn
#306 of 360 in Vienna
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#104 of 360 in Vienna
289 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Carlton Opera
Hotel Carlton Opera
#180 of 360 in Vienna
366 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Drei Kronen
Hotel Drei Kronen
#176 of 360 in Vienna
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papageno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papageno

Property: Hotel Papageno
Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 23-25, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#115 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Papageno 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Papageno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Vienna
Vienna Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing