We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Johann Strauss
Ranked #128 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Brookeville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Central location, welcoming staff”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Besides being a short walk to the subway, the hotel is close to several nice restaurants.
Very comfortable spot.
Only downside was the erratic wifi in one's respective room. We often had to cart our
laptops down to the lobby to connect. A serious throwback for a business trip!
Otherwise, a solid choice to rest and to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you liked our Hotel Johann Strauss.

We are sorry to hear, that you had some problems with the WLAN during your stay. We are aware that demands have changed radically related to the internet and are already looking for a better and faster solution.

Hopefully we may welcome you soon again.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    203
    71
    11
    2
See reviews for
81
150
42
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Ideally situated for visiting, Nice building and near Karlskirch, Belveder and the city. UBahn just outside. Staff helpful and friendly and were great when we put a plaque outside to remember our family. Rooms clean and comfortable and breakfast was well laid out and good verity

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good and we had 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Kay!

Thank your for choosing Hotel Johann Strauss for your recent visit to Vienna. We are glad to hear that you felt at home with us and that our team made your visit comfortable. We would be very glad to welcome you soon again with us!

Best greetings your Kremslehner family and the team of Hotel Johann Strauss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was visiting one of the university departments in Vienna and this was the closest hotel. As it was only 3 minutes walk away, it was very convenient. The hotel is also very close to a metro station and is only about 20 minutes walk from the Stefanskirche, the very centre of Vienna. It is a traditional building and some things are quite old fashioned, but well-maintained. I was happy that they offer a free wifi service in the hotel: however, the connection was rather poor in my room so it was easier to be in the lobby area when I wanted to be online. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious and with a high ceiling – quite different to modern hotel rooms which in comparison would feel quite cramped. From my room there was a view onto a quiet little courtyard. For breakfast there was a good choice of savoury and sweet things.

Room Tip: The rear side of the building
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MarionBurkimsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest!

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit of our Hotel Johann Strauss. We are glad to hear that the location proved useful for you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. As we are a family run Hotel we try to give our rooms and amenities a private and personal touch and are glad to hear that you liked our surroundings.

Best regards your Kremslehner family and the Johann Strauss Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Nice hotel close to the center (15 min. walk from Stephansplatz), very close to a Metro station. Rooms was a bit tired but spacious and clean. Free WiFi. Great breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. All in all - highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest!

Thank you for making the effort to give us postive feed back about your recent stay at our Hotel Johann Strauss. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be more than happy to welcome you soon back to one of the 4 Kremslehner hotels.

Best greetings from Vienna, your Kremslehner family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Room was big and cool (the temperature outside was between 32 & 34 degrees C during our stay). Very clean and quiet too. Even provided an ironing board and iron on request.
Excellent breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Very good location for public transport, restaurants and walking into the centre of Vienna.
We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side of the hotel which is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Hotel Johann Strauss for your last vacation in Vienna. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our large rooms, the excellent breakfast and our friendly staff. Thank you for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a nice little hotel in walking distance of centre of Vienna. Breakfast buffet provided a huge choice. The hotel is showing signs that it could do with some updating and the rooms are a bit tired, but it is charming non the less. The staff where very helpful and there are some nice restaurants and bars in walking distance

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitmatkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Johann Strauss, especially the central location, the friendly staff and the gorgeous breakfast. Looking forwards to your soon return visit.
Best regards your Kremslehner family and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

nice hotel, clean, quite big rooms for rather good price, good brecfust buffet and very close to the subway plus just a few minutes walk to Karlsplatz. friendly stuff. I've revisited this hotel myself!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay at our Hotel Johann Strauss. We are proud that you were not disappointed and hope you will come back very soon. In the meantime we send our warmest regards, your family Kremslehner and the Hotel Johann Strauss team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#45 of 360 in Vienna
904 reviews
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Wieden
Pakat City Hotel
Pakat City Hotel
#201 of 360 in Vienna
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alservorstadt
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#101 of 360 in Vienna
776 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Carlton Opera
Hotel Carlton Opera
#180 of 360 in Vienna
365 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Johann Strauss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johann Strauss

Property: Hotel Johann Strauss
Address: Favoritenstrasse 12 | 1040 Vienna, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#110 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Johann Strauss 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Johann Strauss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johann Strauss Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing