We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Johann Strauss
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Hotel Saint Shermin(Vienna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
149
220
76
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
220
76
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground stationcity centrefresh fruit saladfree wifiquiet hotelbreakfast buffet isenjoyable stayrecommend this hotelwalking distancesmoked salmontwin roomminute walkcomfortable bedtop floorexcellent locationkarlsplatzkarlskirche
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was welcoming, with clean and fresh rooms. It is very near to Vienna attractions. It was recommended for the conference at TU Wien and the hotel was just across the road. It was easy to book/checkin/checkout, and staff was always ready to address queries. It had multiple options in the breakfast. But they could do with a microwave or toaster in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandeepAt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest!
Thank you for this nice feed back - we are happy that you enjoyed our close location to TU. We will consider your proposals for our breakfat service - thank you!
Looking forward to having you with us soon again, your family Kremslehner on behalf of the Johann Srauss team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

A great location within 10-15 min flat walk to the Opera House and shopping area. There are a number of restaurants, a supermarket & metro stop close by. The rooms were well appointed and the breakfast was excellent. Staff were very good and accommodating. An excellent stay- highly recommended !

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TakeMeTravellingTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest!

Thank you so much for this kind feed back that is highly appreciated!
Looking forward to your soon return visit!

Best wishes your family Kremslehner on behalf of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

This is very centrally located old Vienna hotel. Metro station is 10 meters away. Rooms may be large (American style) but are furbished sparsely in the late 1990s style. I'd say they are not designed at all in the modern sense of the word. However that should not bother you if you do not intend to spend a lot of time inside. Another year or two and rooms will need a refurbishment.
Breakfast is simple but varied and of high quality. The restaurant in the basement is very clean and spacious. Lots of restaurants in the area. Karlskirche is within ten minutes' walk. The bar in the lobby is poorly stocked but OK for a quick beer. Anyway quite a few watering holes are nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inner courtyard.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Konstantin_v_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Konstantin!

Thank you for leaving your feed back on tripadvisor. We just renovated a lot of rooms in our hotel and next year we will renovate the rest - as a family run hotel we can only do this step by step.
We are happy that you enjoyed the surroundings of our Hotel as well as our breakfast buffet and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again in one of the 4 Kremslehner Hotels in Vienna.

Best greetings, your family Kremslehner on behalf of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Rooms were disappointing the one and only pillow was thin and lumpy, poor liquid soap on wall, and decore basic and boring not had a facelift for years. Only one lift which was shared by guests, staff and builders. While I was there were builders were working on the inside and outside of the hotel, we were promised that they would not start work until way past 8am but one morning we had a builder on our 3rd floor window at 7.45am - very disconcerting, the manager said he had no control over them! It is bed and breakfast only as no restaurant and the only place to sit outside your room was the foyer. It has to be said that the location is very good

Room Tip: It appears that all the rooms are the same
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank rosalind s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Rosalind!
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel as much as you should have been! Our hotel unterwent a big reconstruction and you were stying with us during the last days. As the Hotel Johann Strauss is situated in a historic building of Art noveau in Vienna it comprises of only one staircase and only one elevator. In cause of this reconstruction we invested a lot of money to modernize this elevator an dto increase the speed.
Our Hotel is situated in the 4 th district of Vienna - the Freihausviertel - and it is surrounded by bars and restaurants... Therefor we do not have a restaurant of our own - we just offer drinks in our Hotel Lobby.
We are sorry that the workers started earlier than supposed and hope nevertheless that you enjoyed your days in our beautiful city!
I cann assure you that the works are completed by now and we want to excuse for all the troubles caused.
Best greetings your family Kremslehner on behalf of your Johann Strauss team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Location
This hotel has a perfect location. Its approx 15 min walk from Wien Hpf train station.Its an easy walk on one road and we managed with our rucksacks. There are 2 train stations from the airport - wien mitte and wien hpf. If you get the fast CAT train its expensive. However if you get the OBB train its €4.10 each and is about 5 mins slower. The benefit is the price and this train station is near hotel

Hotel
1. Friendly staff
2. Very clean hotel and welcoming
3. Really quiet hotel for noise
4. Huge room for twin room
5. Good shower
6. Free safe in room
7. Mini fridge to store water
8. Location - close to wien hpf and about 10min walk to Karlplatz and an easy safe flat walk. The cathedral is about another 5-10mins from karlsplatz

6. Breakfast
This deserves its own category. Loads of choices and something for everyone. Coffee and tea - help yourself, variety of juices and water. Fresh bread and rolls. Bacon, sausage and scrambled egg, Fresh croissants, fresh cheeses, salads etc, and salmon. There were also a selection of yogurts, cereals. Our fav had to be the fresh fruit salad - peaches, kiwi, pineapple, melon, grapes, orange etc etc

This hotel was such a find that if I ever get chance to return Ill def be booking here. I will also tell anyone to book here if they are planning a visit

I cant rate the hotel high enough. Im a pretty harsh critic but I cant fault this place in any shape. 10 out of 10 from us

Thanks for making our holiday so relaxing

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank picassotriggerfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear guest - wow - you just made our day with this especially nice feed back. It is the best way to thank our team for the hard work they are doing everyday for providing a relaxed holiday to our guests.
We will pass on you kind words to our team and thank you for spreading word about your stay and for recommending us to other travellers - as a family run hotel this is very important for us!
Hope to have you or some of your friends with us soon again!
In the meantime we send sunny greetings from Vienna, your family Kremslehner on behalf of your Johann Strauss Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews