We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad ... at First”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Vienna Airport Conference Center
Ranked #150 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 June 2007

Entering the hotel I was rather pleasantly surprised. The lobby was nice and spacious, check-in efficient and quick and the room seemed modern and clean.

That said my impression changed quickly during the stay: The bed was very uncomfortable and the room became boiling hot - impossible to cool down even with the aircondition set to full speed and 10! degrees - nothing changed. It seemed only more moist and warm air from outside - it was a very hot day in Vienna - came into the room. That you can't even get some water from the mini bar during the night in a room that hot if you didn't take the key from reception at check-in sure was strange as well. Of course nobody advised that you need a key when checking in so that I only found at the time. The bathroom was very much on the small side.

Overall nothing you would expect from a 4 star hotel - 3 stars would definitely be more correctly describing the hotel. The location right opposite the terminal though is hard to beat for an early flight.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank imagine71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,525 - 1,531 of 2,481 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2007

I stayed one night ahead of catching an early flight . I thought that this was`a terrible hotel, and in the future I wouldn't touch it with a bargepole.

The lobby area is pleasant enough, but the check-in staff were curt and rude, seemingly only interested in selling upgraded rooms. The room itself`was awful. Boiling hot, and the air con didn't work. The window opened a crack, but that seemed to make no difference to the temperature, biut did let in a lot of noise. My complaints about the air con were met with a shrug. The room itself was tiny and very worn, with ugly stains on the walls. The bed was uncomfortable and old.

Bizarrely, the bathroom was large (the room was small), but there was no shower curtain, so a flood was unavoidable.

Overall, don't stay here. Travel to the airport is so easy, even for an early flight, that it is a far better bet to stay in the city and toi travel out.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DrDave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2007

We stayed at the NH Vienna in december so that we could get an early flight the next morning.

The hotel (and airport) is easy to get to via the S-Bahn which is very cheap and a model for airport transportation everywhere. Checkin was very efficient and we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room, the modern style in dark wood tones and nice bathroom. The linen and pillows were also top notch.

There was some aircraft noise up until about 11pm and then very quiet all night.

We paid about 100 euro for the room and it was worth it for the quality of the accomodation and the location at the airport, it's about a 2 minute walk to the flight check in.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Rossco25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2007

1 night at this fair hotel. Location is great, directly across from the terminal and the lobby looks fantastic, but that's where it ends. Rooms are small, beds and pillows are uncomfortable. No AC during the winter even though it was quite warm. Small bathroom, but good shower. Very pricey for accomodations received. Should not be called 4 star, closer to 2.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 69jets69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2007

Steps away from the airport. If you prefer to sleep in before an early departure, like I do, this is a great place to stay. And a good value, too. I paid 114 euro per night -- including breakfast -- which was the "conference" rate that had been arranged for us.

Actually, I could recommend this hotel for any single/couple staying in Vienna for a short time. This hotel also has easy access to the trains into the city of Vienna. (more about trains at the end)

If you can get the buffet breakfast included in your rate it is definitely worth it. (I do not know the price on its own as mine was included). The buffet has typical European cold cuts and cheese, American scrambled eggs and meats and carbs (french toast, etc), and lots of cereals, yogurts, and fruits. Try the scrambled eggs with a couple of slices of emmantaler cheese -- delicious! And the restaurants are non-smoking (unlike much of Europe, still).

The staff smiles, is friendly, and very helpful. No one seemed to care if I didn't speak German. They all spoke very understable English. It was raining and I had not packed an umbrella -- I borrowed one from the front-desk -- free and with a smile!

My room and bathroom were large (for Europe) and spotless -- and I am very, very picky when it comes to hotel cleanliness. Instead of carpeting, the floors are laminate that looks like hardwood and it's much, much cleaner than carpeting. I had no problem going barefoot, or in my stocking feet -- and the bottoms of my socks did not turn black like they do in so many carpeted hotel rooms. Extra towels were delivered with a smile, within 5 minutes. There was a wonderful box of chocolate truffles in the room the first day, as well as a piece of chocolate on each pillow and the chocolate on the pillows was replaced everyday. My room was non-smoking and nothing in the room smelled like stale smoke, nor like too much air freshener trying to cover smoke smells, either. It appeared that my whole floor was non-smoking rooms.

Elevators were larger and quicker than most European hotels I have visited.

Local phone calls were .30 euro (40 cents) -- which is not bad at all.

Hotel bar -- smoking is allowed there -- cigars, pipes, & cigarettes. Drinks are NOT too overpriced, but are not large, by any measure. I have to be honest, I was expecting worse.

Notes -- but by no means, complaints.
My room was too hot, so I turned off the heat. And knowing that is sometimes a problem for me I had requested a room with an operable window -- which worked out great.
I did not face the airport, but still could heard some noise until about 11pm and starting about 6am each morning -- with the window open. With the window closed, it was always very quiet. So, I wore earplugs and eyeshades and slept just fine.
Wake up calls were not automated and came about 5 minutes before actual requested wake up time.
Amenities in the bathroom, if used or missing, were replaced daily -- but inconsistently. If I took the toothbrush and comb and tissues, I got a toothbrush and washing pad the next day. Since I had packed all my own toiletries, this was not a problem. I just found it intriguing.
Bedding is high thread-count, but the duvet and pillows are not down/feathers.
TV channels in English were scarce, but adequate.

Again, I can highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Ok, more about the Trains:
It's 3 euro, each person, each way, to ride the "S" train into Vienna city center. The CAT (city airport train) is only 10 minutes faster and costs 8 euros each way. If you use either of these trains, please be sure to buy a ticket SPECIFICALLY for this leg of the ride. I rode the "S" train into and back from the city 3 times. The first time, I thought I'd "be smart" and buy a day card so that I could us the "U" bahn, trams, etc, while in the city. Well, the "tages carte" or day cards ARE NOT VALID on the "S" train, nor the CAT for that matter. To buy the ticket on board is 4.50 euro and a scolding from the conductor. This is because the "day card" ticket prices are paid to the city and the train ticket to the train company -- or something like that. It's still not a bad deal. Taxi's run about 40 euro each way. Be sure to get a set price if you take a taxi -- before you start your journey so that that are no surprises.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzyav8trix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2007

Could not be any closer to the airport. Took the bus from Bratislava to Vienna (only 11 Euro, return) right to the airport and stayed overnight for a 6:30am flight. Could not have been easier access to the airport - took 3 minutes to get from the hotel to the ticket counter. Very little airport noise, which was unexpected. Mainly the noise was from the cars not the planes. Very clean and modern hotel. 4:15 wake-up call was right on time. Great price too - 94 Euros but did not include breakfast - no problem, there are plenty of inexpensive places to eat in the airport - bought some fabulous pastry at a little coffee shop in the arrivals area. There is even a grocery store on the level below the arrivals level in the airport - didn't check it out though. Absolutely the BEST choice for convenience to the airport. Don't know about going to the city but you can get to the trains to the city from right inside the airport. Definitely will stay again if the occasion arises!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Denara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2006

This hotel is directly opposite the entrance to the hotel terminal and so is conveniently situated for people with early or late flights. I arrived on a flight just before midnight and was quickly checked into a modern, single room. This room was booked through alpharooms and so bed and breakfast was cheaper than the rates I have noticed in other reivews (£50). The room was clean, well equiped and there was no noise from outside. Obviously this hotel is not close to the attractions of Vienna but as an airport hotel, it's great. The breakfast buffet was excellent with many choices, unusual in Europe! I would recommend this hotel on that point alone!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vienna
MOXY Vienna Airport
#1 of 6 in Schwechat
284 reviews
Kaisermühlen
NH Danube City
NH Danube City
#92 of 359 in Vienna
1,131 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AZIMUT Hotel Vienna
#140 of 359 in Vienna
95 reviews
Boutiquehotel Hein
#2 of 6 in Schwechat
133 reviews
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Vienna Airport Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Vienna Airport Conference Center

Address: Einfahrtsstrasse 1- 3 | Schwechat, Vienna 1300, Austria (Formerly NH Vienna Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Vienna
#22 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#107 Business Hotel in Vienna
#108 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#132 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £78 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Vienna Airport Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Vienna Airport Conference Center hotel offers an innovative, modern and personalized setting with a stylish touch. Vienna lies at the crossroad between Western and Eastern Europe and its central geographical location means that all European capitals are relatively close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, NHHotels, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Vienna Airport Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Vienna Airport Hotel Vienna
Nh Hotel Vienna
Nh Hotels Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing