We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and central!”
Review of Kaiserin Elisabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Ranked #32 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and central!”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed four nights for a business trip. The location is super and the staff were really helpful and friendly. I forgot my camera in my room when I checked out, thought it was gone forever, but the cleaner found it and the camera was given to one of my collegues.
So I found the hotel very trustworthy.
The breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    258
    34
    18
    9
See reviews for
144
343
151
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in early October. The location of the hotel was excellent - it was very near the Stephansdom Metro stop and within walking distance of most of the tourist areas within the Ringstrasse. The reception desk personnel were very personable and helpful, especially Mr. Neuwirth and Mr. Pour, who recommended some good restaurants in the area and made reservations at a couple for us. The public areas were very nice; service was excellent; and the breakfasts were very good.
The room (205) generally was fine, but it was on the street side and, although the street was mostly pedestrian-only, there was early morning noise from trucks making deliveries to local businesses. The room was also a little small for the amount of furniture in it; it could be a bit difficult to manuever into the chairs around the small table.
We would certainly stay here again, but would probably request a room that wasn't on the street side.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper and like to sleep a little later, don't get a streetside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Great location and breakfast buffet. Service was good and the location is perfect for sightseeing. My room was pretty basic and the maid service was skimpy on shower soap. The front desk had access to excellent symphony and opera tickets. They were very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MesinaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

In late September 2012 we stayed at the Kaiserin Elisabeth Vienna for 3 nights, it was the tail end of the peak season, we paid Euro 216 per night (room 204) which included breakfast for 2. The windows open right up and and you can watch the goings on in the street below. Our room was large with high ceilings, bathroom was massive, housekeeping was spotless.
Wifi internet was free and fast. Modern appliances, TV, bar fridge, etc.
The hotel is near the corner of Karntner Strasse which is the main pedestrian shopping mall / promenade. At the back of the hotel is a Billa Supermarket, cafes and restaurants are all around.

Two outstanding features of the Kaiserin are;
1/ The breakfast buffet and the ladies who run it, great selection of hot/cold dishes, fast service, professional and friendly, worth every cent.
2/ The hotel's central location, right in the middle of the old Innerin Stadt (Inner City) just off Stephansplatz, near the Stephansdorm Cathedral. The Cathedral spire is a great reference point to find your way back to the hotel if you get a bit lost, just find a clear view and look up.

The hotel is only a few paces from the Stephansplatz U1/U3 underground rail station and a short walk to the trams. Suggest you also buy a 24 hour ticket for 9 Euros for the Yellow Ring Tram and take advantage of the hop on/off feature to see where all of the museums, galleries, mansions, palaces, theatres, etc, are. Many articles reckon Vienna has the best public transport in the world, we would agree but the plain clothes ticket inspectors are everywhere, buy the right ticket and validate at the gate or vending machine prior to use.

The central location of the hotel also means it is close to some great places to eat and drink.
We liked, 12 Apostle Keller (great wine, ancient underground cellars), Aida Konditorei (sensational cafe, cakes, chocolates), Renthalers Beisl (Traditional Austrian pub), 1516 Brewing Company (fresh beer, modern menu). For a breakfast or lunch meal try the Naschmarkt, this market is above the Kettenbruckengasse U4 station not far away. Don't forget to try a Wurstl Stand in the street, buy a sausage and beer and stand up at the counter with the locals, there are several near the hotel.

One down side of our stay was some bad advice we received from a hotel concierge, we asked for some specific directions and transport advice to a particular outer suburb/town, showed him or 3 day ticket, he advised us "Your ticket is good for everything but the horses!" based on that, we hopped on a outer suburban bus with the wrong ticket, got nabbed by a plain clothes inspector, got fined 100 Euro. Worst thing was the concierge later denied giving us that advice. Once again, beware of the transport inspectors.
Hope this helps.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H-and-S-Langwarrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We were staying three days in this small traditional hotel (superior room for EUR 250) and enjoyed every day. Although located in the very center, the spacious room was absolutely quiet, the complimentary continental breakfast was fine (personnel always remembering our special requests); WiFi was rather slow, but at least reliably working; and it was free, what is not frequently found in hotels of this category.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

After not being able to get into our first few choices of hotels, another hotel recommended Kaiserin Elisabeth. It look nice on the website and had mostly favorable reviews. We enjoyed our stay here very much both from the convenience of location, friendliness of staff and comfort of the rooms. We had a very spacious bath and everything was spotless. Breakfast was served in a comfortable room and was quite good. The only problems we encountered were a lot of noise in the early morning hours from our room overlooking the small pedestrian alley (my choice and we liked the room so much we never asked to change) and some difficulty in trying to drive up to the entrance which was located in a pedestrian zone. (yes, you can drive up to the door to unload your luggage!) Suggest if you want a quiet room, ask for an interior view but you will be missing the flavor of Vienna!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luvsunOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olomouc
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth for a short romantic holiday. The hotel is situated at a perfect location, right in the heart of the city center. Very good service, the staff was very attentive. We were there with our own car. The parking garage is a few blocks away, but the hotel took care of bringing our car away and back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 360 in Vienna
2,089 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#75 of 360 in Vienna
700 reviews
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#55 of 360 in Vienna
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#25 of 360 in Vienna
716 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 360 in Vienna
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiserin Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiserin Elisabeth

Property: Kaiserin Elisabeth
Address: Weihburggasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Vienna
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#35 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaiserin Elisabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find the HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH directly in the city center of Vienna, just next to the famous pedestrian zone the Kärntnerstraße and the Graben, only a few steps from St. Stephan`s Cathedral.Our 63 non-smoking rooms are located on four floors. Each room provides bathroom/shower and WC, and is equipped with satellite-TV, flatscreen TV, telephone, radio, minibar, roomsafe, internetaccessW-Lan (free of charge for our guests), and air-condition. Smoking is allowed in an own separate area in our breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kaiserin Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiserin Elisabeth Vienna
Kaiserin Elisabeth Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing