We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Vienna”
Review of Kaiserin Elisabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Ranked #33 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Vienna”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My friend and I just returned from our stay at this hotel. We had a wonderful time in Vienna, thanks in large part to the staff at this hotel. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to almost everywhere we wanted to go.. Our room was spacious and clean and the breakfast was everything we could have wanted. I still miss their coffee.....The front desk staff were all knowledgable and went out of their way to help us, especially Johny Pour. They assisted us with everything from arranging private guided tours, to concerts, and making train reservations . I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fran60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    254
    32
    18
    9
See reviews for
144
332
149
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My wife and I showed up at the Kaiserin Elisabeth without a reservation, hoping they could accommodate us because the hotel we were booked into was not satisfactory. The staff at Kaiserin Elisabeth was super helpful and booked us into a terrific room.

Everything about our two nights stay here was great: the bed was comfortable, the bathtub heavenly, the breakfast outstanding. And, the location is perfect. I would gladly stay here again and can recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lescaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I have recently returned from a four night stay at the Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth. I booked one of the Superior Double Rooms. The traditionally furnished room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was large, with separate shower and bathtub and toilet. The room looked out into a courtyard, so it was very quiet, even with the windows open. The bed was very comfortable and long enough even for me (I stand 201 cm tall). The breakfast buffet had a variety of cereals, breads and rolls, pastries, cold meats and cheeses, but a limited selection of fruit – it was November, after all. The staff at both the front desk and at breakfast were pleasant, friendly and welcoming.

The location can't be beat. It's just a few steps off the Kärntner Straße and a short walk to the cathedral. All the major sites are within an easy walking distance, and Vienna is a lovely city for strolling around.

My only quibble is minor: the wifi reception in the top floor room wasn’t as good as it could have been. I needed to be near the door to ensure a good connection. If I moved further into the room, the connection dropped. This wasn’t really a problem for me. I was on holiday. But, if you need to work, this may be an adverse consideration.

Would I stay here again? Certainly! Consequently, I’d recommend it to any visitor to Vienna.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontePozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Perfect location in Vienna- central to all shopping and sights. Very friendly staff that all remembered us every time we came in and were friendly to our baby. Spacious rooms and accommodating for families. Nice breakfast included in the price. Clean rooms, restaurant, and entry/meeting areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyh917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

With 50 years experience visiting Vienna, I find the Kaiserin Elisabeth one of my two favorite hotels in the city. The location not far from the Stefansplatz is ideal and the service is impeccable. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is excellent, and the price exceptionally reasonable given the location. Single rooms are small by American standards (in fact, we really don't have single rooms, and a single occupant finds him/herself in a double room), but one doesn't spend all that much time in a room while on vacation anyhow. Besides, the size of the room is quite adequate, as is he bathroom. One of the advantages of the Weihburggasse is that despite its location it is somewhat off the beaten path, since tourists seem reluctant to leave the Kaerntnerstrasse for its side streets. Thus the hotel is quite quiet. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frohprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This hotel blends old world service and courtesy with modern, efficient facilities. Wonderfully located; good size,clean rooms; beautiful breakfasts,always cheerfully served and finally and most importantly, the kindest staff. you will meet. Thank you Johny Pour and Vincent Fassl ...... a home away from home. Evelyn, Australia

Room Tip: opposite the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Recommended by friends, this little gem of a hotel won our hearts form the moment we walked in. The reception is manned by the nicest and most helpful of managers. With courtesy and efficiency they re-organized our city tour allowing us a jump on our plans. Within an hour of arriving we were off on the tour. Their restaurant suggestions were excellent, they also helped with ballet and concert tickets - great seats! and generally mad us truly feel like welcome guests. The staff in the breakfast room instantly remember your coffee preferences and serve with a smile! Our room was lovely, and cosy being on the small side but nonetheless perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed ask for one that has a single mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMSDMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
#18 of 360 in Vienna
554 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 360 in Vienna
2,032 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#76 of 360 in Vienna
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#38 of 360 in Vienna
677 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#24 of 360 in Vienna
681 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiserin Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiserin Elisabeth

Property: Kaiserin Elisabeth
Address: Weihburggasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Vienna
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#35 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaiserin Elisabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find the HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH directly in the city center of Vienna, just next to the famous pedestrian zone the Kärntnerstraße and the Graben, only a few steps from St. Stephan`s Cathedral.Our 63 non-smoking rooms are located on four floors. Each room provides bathroom/shower and WC, and is equipped with satellite-TV, flatscreen TV, telephone, radio, minibar, roomsafe, internetaccessW-Lan (free of charge for our guests), and air-condition. Smoking is allowed in an own separate area in our breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kaiserin Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiserin Elisabeth Vienna
Kaiserin Elisabeth Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing