We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Vienna(Vienna)
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$409
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (939)
Filter reviews
939 results
Traveller rating
600
273
38
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
600
273
38
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationsingle roomstephen's cathedralold world charmfront desk stafflovely hotelhigh ceilingsopera housequiet roomthe heart of the citythe main shopping streetnice sizeair conditioningbreakfast buffetwalking distanceminute walkside street
Filter
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 939 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I booked a superior room at this hotel on the strength of the reviews on this site and for its location. The latter did not disappoint but the first did. I am not criticizing the hotel. The staff is friendly, eager to help, and speaks English very well. The breakfast is good. Wifi works very well. Great pillows. But there is nothing special about it. It is just like every other European hotel in its class: small, crowded with furniture, a wardrobe instead of a closet, long brocade drapes, hard towels, white duvets, and one of those beds that is really a futon. There is no box springs, just a 5 inch mattress placed on top of bare slats and not overly comfy. The tap water tastes ghastly. All that said, bonus points for having chairs, a fixed shower head, an elevator, and a tub that is wider than most for half the tub. This hotel is good and a nice place to stay but don't expect much out of the ordinary for Europe.

Room Tip: There are none with views so get the biggest you can
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yearbook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Doing some homework and research about this hotel paid off and all I had read was true. The staff are polite, friendly, professional and knowledgeable and speak very good English. They gave us several useful tips regarding the Christmas Markets and transport. Our room was very spacious (superior room) with lovely high ceilings and nice and warm. The bathroom was big with a huge bath (OK so I'm only 5ft so it doesn't take much but my husband is 6ft and loved it). The shower too was nice and spacious with plenty elbow room and it was great having 2 sinks. The hotel doesn't have a bar but it does have a very nice lounge and you can order teas/coffee/beer/wine/spirits etc. They put on complimentary Glüwein and biscuits in the evening which was a nice touch. Breakfast was the usual continental affair, good selection and I recommend the eggs. They must have happy hens in Vienna because they were delicious! One warning, the breakfast room is small so you may not get a table straight away if you hit it at a busy time. This happened to us and we waited in the lounge for only a few minutes before being called through. This was no problem to us as we a were on holiday and in no hurry. The location of the hotel is a true asset, right next to the pedestrian thoroughfare and just round the corner from St Stephen's Cathedral (Dom). I can't think of anything to fault this hotel for and will definitely book it again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed in Vienna for a quick weekend after a work trip. The hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth was a lovely place for the stay. It was in a great location for shopping and food and a very quick walk to St. Stephan's church, which was quite beautiful.

The staff were friendly and the room was quite large, especially for a single room. Everything was clean and beautifully appointed. Perhaps the only reason not to give this a 5-star rating is because the toilet was in a separate tiny room from the bathroom. Apparently this is quite common in Austria, but a bit uncomfortable. Either way, I would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it to others. Especially single ladies travelling alone. I felt very safe there.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank stephsamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klindert, Manager at Kaiserin Elisabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Hotelguest,

First of all thank you very much that you have taken your time to give us your review. Feedback is always very important for us and our team. It is nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, and we are looking forward to welcome you again at HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH

With kind regards the team of
HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I make a booking with free cancelation in this hotel and notice, that 10 Euro disappeared from my account.I know, that to verify the credit card hotels usually take 1-1,5 Euro, but never 10...I was waited, may be they will return money on my account, but they didn't ...within more, than 1 month..Good business… or cheating…This is not a question of money, but of a confidence.
I will never stay in such a hotel…

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank LadyLu X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klindert, Manager at Kaiserin Elisabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

May we kindly inform you about following procedure within our hotel. Your credit card has definitely not been charged. Reservations with free cancellations are never charged in advance. Our system takes only an authorization of EUR 10,- in order to check if the advised credit card number is valid. This amount declines with 10 days automatically. This is only a so called reservation but not a charge.

Our controlling department is responsible for checking every day all accounts and credit card statements. Latest the day after each departure any kind of irregularity would notice, as we would have a difference between our invoices compared to all charged cred card statements.
Once you can give us any proof that this EUR 10,- have been definitely charged from your account, we will give you a ten times execution back.

Please find my direct e-mail account: andrea.holland@kaiserinelisabeth.at We are looking forward to your reply, and beg to remain
with kind regards from Vienna

HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH
Andrea Holland
Marketing & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

There are several things that are nice about this hotel, but the best is the location. Even compared with all the other major luxury hotels, this location was best. It is one block from St. Stephan's Cathedral (Dom) and it is only about 3 blocks from the former royal palace and opera house. It also sits on the main shopping zone of the city with lots of store, bars, and restaurants next door. It has a very nice interior, breakfast buffest selection, and staff was very cordial. The only downsides are no bar or pool in the hotel (in my opinion the only think keeping it from being a luxury 5 star). Parking is about 30 euro per day for valet parking. Again, would recommend for its ambience and location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews