We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and service fit for an empress” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaiserin Elisabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Ranked #34 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location and service fit for an empress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Kaiserin Elisabeth is in a wonderful location in central Vienna, on a quiet side street near the Stephansdom and the pedestrian area. The room was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was very large, with both a bathtub and a shower. The whole hotel has an antique charm, but the new touches are very nice - I liked the glass elevator. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a lot of choice. All the staff was extremely nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again on another visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielaAvitabile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    244
    32
    17
    9
See reviews for
140
320
147
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth for 4 nights in late January and am pleased to say that this hotel meets all expectations. A perfect position near the cathedral makes it ideal for walking to all the beautiful sights in Vienna. Hotel reception staff were courteous and friendly and their invaluable recommendations for local restaurants were very much appreciated. Any requests or queries were handled professionally and promptly.The single room was immaculate and inviting. Breakfasts were tasty and generous and everything within the hotel was quiet and enjoyable.
I will definitely return to stay at this lovely hotel.
One small gripe - previous guest had programmed alarm clock and in the middle of the night when it started,it was impossible for me to turn it off. Suggested to staff that room servicing should de-activate all alarm clocks as part of cleaning process.

Room Tip: Single rooms may not have much in the way of windows (mine overlooked a light well) but front rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect for everything - very close to Stephansplatz station, right in the heart of the city center, easy to commute from and to the airport. The hotel decoration is in a classic style. All the staff were really nice. The room is very clean, spacious, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom has everything it should and would have. I felt like I was in a nice private apartment in the middle of the city. The breakfast is also really good - varieties of breads, pastries, cheese, hams and others. The price is quite reasonable (with booking.com's deal).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneThune-Larsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed here again in Feb 2014 (my third visit in the past several years) and still love this hotel. What do I like about it?

--I love the fact it is both a quiet hotel (great for sleeping) and right in the middle of the Old City. St. Stephen's Cathedral is about a block away. The Staats Oper (opera house) is a short walk down the pedestrian-only main street that is on the doorstep of this hotel. I always see an opera when I am in town and stroll back to the Kaiserin Elisabeth. Ubahn stop is very short walk from the hotel if you are venturing further.

--I love the traditional charm. Walking back into the hotel in the evening to see the fire in the lounge is always heart-warming. The staff is very professional and helpful. Rooms are very tasteful and (of course) spotlessly clean.

--Breakfast is a delight. Full range of buffet breakfast items in a charming breakfast room off the lobby lounge. Staff quickly remembers your morning tea/coffee preferences and delivers that promptly. Very nice.

--It is a great value. Hard to get the location, charm, professional service, and history of this hotel anywhere for such a good price

I look forward to my next visit. Hopefully, soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank basho88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klindert, Manager at Kaiserin Elisabeth, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast !

Vielen herzlichen Dank, dass Sie sich für uns Zeit genommen haben, und Ihre positiven Eindrücke mit uns und anderen Reisenden teilen. Es freut uns besonders, dass wir Sie bereits zu unseren Stammgästen zählen dürfen, und wir Sie von unserem freundlichen und individuellen Service wiederholt begeistern konnten.
Wir freuen uns auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen direkt im Zentrum von Wien, und senden herzliche Grüße Ihr Team HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I have now stayed at Kaiserin Elisabeth at least six times, including for two days before Christmas last year and housing my company's international board of directors there for its annual meeting in March 2013. The staff are remarkably warm in their greeting and attentive to every request, including working very hard to obtain a dinner reservation for my wife and me on Christmas Eve at our preferred restaurant. The rooms are nicely appointed in formal Viennese style and feature sitting as well as sleeping areas. The breakfast is first class and included with the room rate, and in the last year the hotel has begun offering an English language newspaper option. The location, close to the main shopping streets and to the museums, makes strolling in central Vienna entertainment all its own. There is no restaurant for dinner on site but room service is available and good restaurants abound in the neighborhood. There are grander hotels in Vienna but for the money Kaiserin Elisabeth has become my favorite.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inner courtyard are quieter, but all light and the street is a dead end so not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

If you want a comfortable hotel, excellent service and a little bit of Viennese charm, then this hotel is for you. The location is ideal - close to everything important. The breakfast is great. The staff were superb, locating the odd spare ticket to a couple of cultural events for a disorganised tourist like me who didn't find the time to book them before travelling. Highly recommended and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Christmas. The staff was fluent in English and friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was very god and included in the room rate. The location is right in the center of the old city, just around the corner from St. Stephens Cathedral. We thought the rooms were large by European standards and the bathroom was modern. We walked everywhere and the subway station is about 100 yards from the front door.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
#15 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#71 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#32 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#24 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#95 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiserin Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiserin Elisabeth

Property: Kaiserin Elisabeth
Address: Weihburggasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Vienna
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#29 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#35 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaiserin Elisabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find the HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH directly in the city center of Vienna, just next to the famous pedestrian zone the Kärntnerstraße and the Graben, only a few steps from St. Stephan`s Cathedral.Our 63 non-smoking rooms are located on four floors. Each room provides bathroom/shower and WC, and is equipped with satellite-TV, flatscreen TV, telephone, radio, minibar, roomsafe, internetaccessW-Lan (free of charge for our guests), and air-condition. Smoking is allowed in an own separate area in our breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Kaiserin Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiserin Elisabeth Vienna
Kaiserin Elisabeth Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing