We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where time stood still”
Review of Kaiserin Elisabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Ranked #32 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very charming hotel in central Vienna which gives you a feeling of tranquility in the midst of the city beat. Time also appears to have stood still in terms of the interior design but - apart from it being part of its charm - the hotel is still very well preserved and maintained. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

When I first arrived, I was semi-greeted and then the front desk guy kind of just slapped all the map and tour guide pamphlets in front of me with no explanation. The most he asked was if I'd like him to mark where to hotel is. It did not feel like a very warm and friendly welcome. Perhaps because I wasn't officially a guest yet as I was an hour early for check-in. They also did not inform me of the breakfast hours after I did check in.

Breakfast was very basic and uninteresting. I peaked in to see what they had and none of it interested me. They really should offer more fresh fruit like berries and sliced f r e s h pineapple or melon. Their pineapple and melon was practically pale. I didn't eat breakfast here.

I stayed in a standard single's room. But, for the highest floor and a "quiet room," there was a lot of noise. Doors slamming shut and people walking, talking or banging. And, this was literally at 6 am. Also, the AC in the room is very loud and rackety so it's hard to fall asleep to. And, without it it gets pretty hot. The room itself is cozy but all the noise is just awful. This may be because each room has two doors so when someone closes theirs to leave, they have to slam two. So two slams per room can really add up. The pillows also were very flat, but that's Europe..

Before I even got this room, it was not ready even though I came back at 13:00 when they said to. I had to wait 15-20 more minutes until it was finally ready. The front desk person did try to offer me another room while I waited because mine was taking so long. I declined because he said the other room was not as nice or quiet as this one.. Who knows really if the other one was louder than mine because my room, 408, had very thin walls! It's also very close to the maid station.

Wifi is a little slow and spotty, but I still managed to get things done. The bathroom was very spacious and nice. I liked the shower and the amenities provided. Although they do not provide conditioner; just a heads up for women.

The front desk offers a tour that is done daily from a Grayline Vienna sightseeing guide. It is a bus tour around the city with a stop at Schönbrunn palace. Do not take this tour. I am positive it was a waste of time and money. Check the company's reviews, a lot of other people feel the same. It was 44€ and really disappointing. Take a bike tour instead. Really.

By the end of my stay I met the first friendly staff member. His name is Mr. Por (I don't know if I spelled that correctly?) and he was so very friendly and helpful. I appreciated his kindness and warm welcome very much. This is how the front desk should always be! The bag and front door men were very welcoming too.

Overall this hotel felt very nice, but the noise was just frustrating at times. I would recommend staying here if you bring ear plugs, and want to be in the center of absolutely everything. A little far from the museum quarter though.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelnutt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at Kaiser Elisabeth in June 2014 and found it to be an excellent hotel and located perfectly close to St Stephans Cathedral, metro, restaurants and shops. Very comfortable room and amenities and the staff were great, especially Afshar who was very helpful on all matters. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone considering visiting Vienna.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank markarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We spent our honeymoon here and proved to be a great choice. The great thing about this hotel was the gentleman on the desk, who basically acted as tour guides. From giving us tips on great restaurants, to advising on places for us to see. Where local knowledge proved to be a great advantage.
The hotel's location is a real plus, just off the high street, so within easy walk of everything. The breakfast is amazing, nice rooms and when we go back to Vienna we will be going straight back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin_Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have visited the Kaiserin Elisabeth a number of times and are surprised by the antiquity of the decor, with high ceilings, hardwood floors, and firm beds.

It was with surprise, I learned the building was 750 years old. In spite of that, with small rooms to the back we would not consider (facing adjacent structural walls, or best a fit for a single person, etc.) we stayed in one of the front rooms overlooking the street, but silent with double pane openable windows and competent air conditioning, it still was an effect of going back in time at least one century.

To top it off, by polite questioning and a smile, the warmth of the Reception staff is classic. They give honest opinions and are ready to help with any problem. Unheard of behavior in contemporary Europe.

Breakfasts are included in most programs, and make it easy to fill up before a busy day, with good food and pastries.

All this within 50-80 yards of the Stephansplatz and Cathedral...

Prices are moderate by current standards, but be careful about getting a room with no view, or a room too small. They are half the price of better rooms, but go for the history. You will love it as we do.

Room Tip: Look for rooms to the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaullMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel was great in an absolutely perfect location. The single room was small but perfectly laid out, clean and comfortable. A great value for the money spent. I would stay here again anytime I'm in Vienna. The customer service was also outstanding at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling246845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is located in the central part of the 1010 district and is right on the main shopping strip of Vienna. The foyer is majestic and many Viennese celebrities have stayed there. However, the rooms were old and the bed was slanted; hence I was rolling towards one side. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast - excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 359 in Vienna
2,223 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#100 of 359 in Vienna
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 359 in Vienna
830 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#39 of 359 in Vienna
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiserin Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiserin Elisabeth

Address: Weihburggasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Vienna
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#26 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#35 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £116 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaiserin Elisabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find the HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH directly in the city center of Vienna, just next to the famous pedestrian zone the Kärntnerstraße and the Graben, only a few steps from St. Stephan`s Cathedral.Our 63 non-smoking rooms are located on four floors. Each room provides bathroom/shower and WC, and is equipped with satellite-TV, flatscreen TV, telephone, radio, minibar, roomsafe, internetaccessW-Lan (free of charge for our guests), and air-condition. Smoking is allowed in an own separate area in our breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kaiserin Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiserin Elisabeth Vienna
Kaiserin Elisabeth Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing