We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien
Ranked #132 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Got a double room through a last minute deal on Hotwire… fabulous! The hotel is in a great location, walking distance from Sudbanhof (train station), Sudtirolerplatz (subway), several streetcar lines, and Belvedere palace. Grocery store is a three-minute walk, there's a fabulous kebab shop just around the corner at Sudtirolerplatz if you want some delish street meat for dinner. Bed was lovely, breakfast was fabulous!! Set in a beautiful room with endless trays of smoked fish, sliced meats and cheeses, different buns and spreads, bacon, sausages, eggs (both scrambled and hard-boiled), muesli with all the fixings, cereal, yogurt, fruit… lovely tea in sweet white teapots, hot delicious coffee in sparkly silver carafes that you can take to your table… a fantastic way to start the day! The women at the desk were usually very busy but I had endless questions about directions and nearby amenities and they made sure to make time for the annoying Canadian which I thought was very kind. Also had a power adapter for us to borrow as my husband had forgotten the one for his iphone.

Sure, the view of the construction at the train station isn't spectacular, but YOU'RE IN VIENNA. Are you really going to be sitting in your hotel room all day staring out the window?! I certainly hope not. If so, that's a huge waste of an airplane ticket. Stop complaining and go sit in Volksgarten for awhile, you whiners.

We loved our stay here!!! You should stay here too!

Room Tip: Like everyone else said, a room at the front faces construction and a busy street. But like I said a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzeQ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Mariella Thomas, General Manager at Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear guest,

thank you so much for having chosen the hotel Prinz Eugen and for your outstanding and detailed review on Tripadvisor.
The team and myself highly appreciate to hear that you and your husband really enjoyed
your stay at our hotel as well as your visit to Vienna. For your next stay, we will offer you a Superior room, facing the inner-courtyard, overlooking Vienna.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for your future reservation.
We very much look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel and remain,
with best regards, Mariella Thomas and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

Hotel Prinz Eugen is in a great location very close to "the ring" of the old part of the city. You can walk to the Belvedere Palaceand all the other attractions. Plus, it is a short walk to the train to get to Shonbrunn Palace. The hotel itself was clean and the staff was friendly and nice.
It wasn't fancy but it definitely met our needs at a reasonable price and the location was within a a few blocks of a great local restaurant "Sprell" which the front desk had recommended and it was so good we ended up eating there twice. The internet was a pain and they changed the password every 30 minutes but no big deal. Our room included a breakfast which was served in a modern, almost cafeteria setting with the usual European buffet including yogurts, cheeses, meats, eggs, and of course sausages. There was a really large selection and it was actually quite good. From the exterior of the hotel it gives the impression of being in a busy and not very pretty area but it turned out to be a perfect spot to get everywhere you needed to go with very little hassle. Try to get a room that doesn't overlook the front of the hotel because it borders a very busy street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street...very busy and a lot of traffic noise. Ours was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhoenixBabydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Mariella Thomas, General Manager at Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for having chosen the hotel Prinz Eugen for your visit in Vienna and for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly share your comments with my team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again,
with best rgareds, Mariella Thomas and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel during our 7-days stay in Vienna and we were really satisfied. Even though the outside sight does not look very promising, the inside of the hotel is classy and clean. We chose a room in one of the higher floors and in the rear part, because of the huge working site opposite the hotel. The room was clean and quiet and the breakfast buffet had everything a person could ask for. Most of the reception staff were rather nice but all of them were helpful. Another advantage is the hotel's location: it is a 5 minute walk away from the Metro station and 3 stops away from the City Center. Overall a very positive experience! We would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: If you want to avoid noise from the working site and get a better view, chose a room in the higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eli_George_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Mariella Thomas, General Manager at Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your positive and detailed feedback on tripadvisor. The team and myself highly appreciate to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your room as well as our location. We are looking forward to welcoming you again whenever you visit Vienna,
best regards, Mariella Thomas and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I'm not very keen on such big hotels(over 100 rooms) & try to avoid them if only possible.
I'm so glad we didn't avoid the Prinz Eugen.
The first impression isn't so promissing: an ugly building on a very busy street & if it's not enough- a huge construction site just across the street (they are building the new Central Station).
But everything changes once you go in: the lobby is spacious & very nice, the elevator is fast, the rooms are big, very clean, so are the bathrooms.
Be sure to take a room facing the backyard- quiet & overlooking a nice residential area.
Their breakfast buffet is amazing: staying here for 5 nights I don't think I succeeded to taste 20% of the enormous selection.
And the price? 75% of what we had paid in the inner city.
When you look at the map it seems that the hotel is far from the city centre & the main attractions(eccept the Belvedere, which is next door), but believe me it's location is amazing:
it's close to the U1 line, across the street there are 3 tram lines: D,O & 18, which will take you in minutes to every point.
Even if you want to go to Bratislava, the train station is a merely 10 min. easy walk & after 1h + 6min. exactly you are in the Slovakian capital city.
At this point the reader probably askes himself, if everything is so excellent why have I rated it only as "Average". Because of one "nice" receptionist, who tried to give us a "Standart" room at the price of a "Superior" one. I don't know if it's the hotels policy or her private initiative, but since they employ her, I hold them responsible. It's time somebody teaches them a lesson that not all tourists are dumb & to con a tourist is not a must.
Anyhow, I do strongly recommend this place, maybe you'll be lucky & won't meet that ugly receptionist. All the other girls were nice & full of good will.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miriam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The hotel overall was good. It was clean and neat, the location was not the best, it's not a walking distance from downtown. However, it's located near an underground station only 2 stops from downtown.

Our room has a very nice terrace with a quite nice view.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omartawfik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel or 2 nights during our family vacation o Europe. I was a little nervous when we pulled up as the outside of the hotel as it old and not well cared for. The front desk gals were not friendly and were not interested in us being there at all. The rooms were fine although the smelled of smoke. Breakfast was perfect and the location is central. Be aware that this hotel is on a very busy street and across the street fom a major construction site.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Mariella Thomas, General Manager at Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear, that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our location, the room and the breakfast. Furthermore I would like to apologize, that my colleague at the front desk wasn’t friendly and didn’t show attention to you.
Regardless, we do hope that we may welcome you at your next visit in Vienna again.
Looking forward and best regards, Mariella Thomas and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This hotel internet service in public area is free for 30 min. and you have to login using a different id and pass word. Even you login it is very very slow. I feel like I am in 90's. In room is 10 euro for 24 hrs. The location is very reasonable. Breakfast was ok. If you don't need internet service, it is not bad hotel. Next to hotel is a pharmacy. You can get the medicine with prescriptin bottle or prescriptions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ibis Wien Hauptbahnhof
#165 of 359 in Vienna
83 reviews
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AZIMUT Hotel Vienna
#207 of 359 in Vienna
30 reviews
Hotel Schani Wien
#42 of 359 in Vienna
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien

Address: Wiedner Guertel 14, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#138 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £63 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen in Vienna offers a perfect accommodation in the best location in close distance to the main railway station. Viennese sights such as St. Stephen's Cathedral are within easy walking distance and the beautiful Danube River is also within easy reach. All our rooms are equipped with bath or shower and WC as well as air conditioning, a workplace and satellite TV. Guests can relax in the evening at the hotel's bar. For seminars or smaller events, the hotel offers a meeting room and guests are free to use the WiFi in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinz Eugen Hotel
Prinz Eugen Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing