We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viennese whirl”
Review of Graben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Graben Hotel
Ranked #76 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Viennese whirl”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Location, location, location. The hotel is in an excellent location, just two minutes walk from St Stephens in the heart of the main shopping area, with all the main sites, such as the Hapsburg residence/Spanish riding school & opera all within a few minutes walk & the subway is also two minutes walk. The hotel is very clean, the staff professional and helpful and there is the bonus of the Italian restaurant on the ground floor. A downside for the hotel is the lack of a bar/lounge area to relax after a day sight, granted there are cafes/bars near the hotel, but a night cap before heading to bed would be preferable. As mentioned the major pluspoint is the location, make sure you purchase the 3 day travel pass, useful for visiting all the main sites; the subway is clean and has plenty of cameras. Vienna is a very pleasant place to visit, though there are not the wow sites of Rome and it is easy to get a little bored of visiting stately homes/residences. A cheap alternative to a taxi from the hotel is the CATS shuttle train, though it is a fair walk up to the hotel. All in all, Vienna is worth a visit and will look very special when covered with snow.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeponexporing01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a detailed review after your stay at Graben Hotel. We are very happy to read, that you enjoyed the stay in our house and that you loved the location! Thank you also for mentioning our very professional and friendly staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our hotels.

Best regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    325
    70
    26
    27
See reviews for
121
248
90
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was one of the nicest small hotels we stayed in Europe so far. The location was terrific right off of the pedestrian street near St Stephan's Cathedral. The u-Bahn is a few steps away and there's lots of nice restaurants and shops everywhere. Try the small restaurant across the street (
For great local food and atmosphere.
The hotel rooms are a nice size with two twins put together or separated. The breakfast which was included was terrific with lots of fresh breads and pastries as well as meats, cheeses, eggs and sausage, cereals, fruit, yogurt, coffee and a nice selection of teas.
We would have loved to stay here longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest Avram,

thank your for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you loved our small Graben Hotel in the very centre of Vienna, especially our rooms and our delicious breakfast buffet. We hope to welcome you soon again.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent location ,shopping area and restaurant very near ,close to St Stephen cathedral, and near to Opera,but small room ,small bathroom not level of 4 star ,small lobby,breakfast not bad staff not very helpful,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Haider B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

it was a great place , neat , excellent breakfast and helpful staff. for a business trip or a short visit to town , this is a great place to reserve, Gala hotels gave me also the best rates on the internet

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sadek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest Sadek,

thank you for your nice feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that everything was fine, that you appreciated the location, the breakfast and our staff. We would be happy to welcome you back again in the future!

Best regards from Vienna


Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very very convenient. 4* Vienna perhaps more like 3* UK but it was great for us, a group of 3 couples.
Rooms functional, clean and very adequate for a City break. Staff excellent. Plenty of food and variety for breakfast.
Italian restaurant next door, good value and good service.
Anyone going to Vienna should consider this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFMeriden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest PF Meriden,

thank you for choosing our Graben Hotel for your last trip to Vienna.
We are happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our amenities, especially our great customer service. Looking forward to your return visit.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The Graben Hotel is located just off Graben Strasse which is a large pedestrian street with
lots of high-end shopping and very close to the St. Stephen's Cathedral. The room was small but quiet and clean and had a refrigerator. Breakfasts are very nice with everything you'd possibly want. My only complaint was the young woman's attitude when we checked in. When we asked for the quiet room she laughed at us and said sarcastically that "it was a little late to be making that type of request"! She proceeded to put us in a room directly across from the elevator which was exactly what we didn't want! My husband went down to ask for another room and she put us in a room on the top floor at the end of the hall. All of the rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the young woman from Hungary who gave us great suggestions for our next stop in Budapest.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the back side and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dabrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest Dabrah,

thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to hear that you liked our Hotel Graben, especially the location in the very centre of Vienna, nearby the Stefan’s Cathedral and other tourist attractions.

We are very disappointed to read about the behaviour of our receptionist at your arrival. We spoke to our front office manager as well as to our receptionist about her behaviour and your complaint and we really would like to apologize – she usually is a very friendly and polite person and we do not really know what happened that day, … She assured us that she did not intend to be impolite to you and also wants sincerely to apologize.

As business owner we all are dependant on human performance and unfortunately the behaviour of the staff is not always as perfect as it should be. Mistakes happen and our guests are the ones who suffer most – we feel really very, very sorry about that.

Thank you again for telling us about your impressions at Graben Hotel. We will make sure that this will not happen again!

We hope to welcome you again, next time you visit Vienna.

Best regards

Your Kremslehner Familly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is truly fantastic. I have just stayed for 6 nights. It is the best location in Vienna. Walking distance to just about anything. The underground is less than 100m away. And less than 100m away is the hub of Vienna, this was the best choice I've made in ages. The room was always clean, the staff always friendly, breakfast was ok but could be improved by a larger option on hot food for people like me who can't eat bakery items. Staff can assist with English speaking like myself.

Room Tip: Just talk to the staff they are great. Always ready to assist no matter what your needs are
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest Sally C,

thank you very much for your nice feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Graben Hotel, especially the central location, the nice rooms and our friendly staff. Thank you for your suggestions regarding the breakfast, we will try to improve it in future. Looking forward to your return visit.

Best regards from Vienna

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#96 of 360 in Vienna
782 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#153 of 360 in Vienna
578 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#33 of 360 in Vienna
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#38 of 360 in Vienna
677 reviews
Inner City
Pension Domizil
Pension Domizil
#129 of 360 in Vienna
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graben Hotel

Property: Graben Hotel
Address: Dorotheergasse 3 | 1010 Wien, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#75 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#96 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Graben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Graben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graben Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing