We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Stay ...”
Review of Graben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Graben Hotel
Ranked #76 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Raymond Terrace, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Lovely Stay ...”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I booked this hotel because of its proximity to the Spanish Riding School. I was a bit hesitant because previous reviews were mixed, but I had a very pleasant stay. My room was compact but very comfortable, with a comfy bed, hot water, good food, and friendly reception staff. My only criticism was that there was no kettle or tea/coffee making facilities, but it wasn't a big deal. The hotel is in an excellent location, just a few minutes walk from the nearest train station and in the midst of the Graben, a big pedestrian shopping precinct. A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest Vicki S,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback, we are delighted to read that you appreciated our hotel, especially the great location and our friendly staff.

We hope to welcome you soon again and remain

with best regards from Vienna


Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    325
    70
    26
    27
See reviews for
121
248
90
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I visited in late November and I was terribly cold. I turned on the air condition and it heated the room up by 4.00 am. Ok, I arrived at midnight, but i ve got a room with a max 15-16 degree originally.

The room was very narrow, not spacious. Breakfast was ok, good location, no question about this.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bankar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest Bankar 77,

we are extremely sorry to hear that you had some problems with the heating in your room during your stay with us.

We will talk with our maintenance team about this problem. Thank you for your nice comments about our breakfast and our good location.

We hope to welcome you again, nect time you visit Vienna.

Best regards


Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was the second time I have stayed in this hotel and again it didn't disappoint. The rooms are very spacious, absolutely immaculate and the beds are comfy. The breakfast was very tasty and the staff very friendly and informative. It was my birthday whilst staying here and the maid must have noticed my birthday cards and arranged for a little cake to be sent to our room. That was a lovely gesture and certainly made my day. Graben hotel is perfectly central and my husband and I will certainly be returning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millybobs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest Millybobs 2013,

thank you so much for your feedback.

We are very happy to read that you booked for the second time and that we could again exceed your expectation!
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our comfortable beds. Our team takes great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays.

Looking forward to welcoming you again, next time you visit Vienna.

Best regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL,Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed in this hotel mid October . We choose this hotel after reading all the good reviews here. The location is excellent, easy to get around most of the main attractions. The room is clean and nice and breakfast is excellent. However, when we arrived in the afternoon, we were greated by the most rude and snobbish receptionist we had ever met in all our hotel stays around the world. She never greet us nor give us a local map, practically throw the keys to us ! When we checked out, it's the same staff and when we paid exactly the amount in cash, her eyes roll ! This makes us wonder are all Wieners like that ? Or perhaps this hotel does not welcome Asians. Please state it in the web. Do not worry, we are here as tourist and not to stay in your country! Perhaps should send the receptionist for a customer service course.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank autumnfurano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your experience in our Graben Hotel. First of all we would sincerely like to apologize for what happened.

We checked with our front office staff and want to inform you that the front office manager herself did the check- in as well as the check-out! She did not remember the situation but was really surprised about the complaint. She assured us that she did not mean to be rude or impolite to you, and if you had this impression she really wants to apologize.

All our Kremslehner Hotels are 4* hotels and we assure you that we have a really international clientele, and also a lot of Asian guests. Our front office manager herself is a foreigner and absolutely not xenophobic.

Please apologize again for all inconveniences you were faced to at Graben Hotel. We hope, that you could anyhow enjoy your stay in Vienna and would be very pleased to welcome you again in one of our hotels.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Location, location, location. The hotel is in an excellent location, just two minutes walk from St Stephens in the heart of the main shopping area, with all the main sites, such as the Hapsburg residence/Spanish riding school & opera all within a few minutes walk & the subway is also two minutes walk. The hotel is very clean, the staff professional and helpful and there is the bonus of the Italian restaurant on the ground floor. A downside for the hotel is the lack of a bar/lounge area to relax after a day sight, granted there are cafes/bars near the hotel, but a night cap before heading to bed would be preferable. As mentioned the major pluspoint is the location, make sure you purchase the 3 day travel pass, useful for visiting all the main sites; the subway is clean and has plenty of cameras. Vienna is a very pleasant place to visit, though there are not the wow sites of Rome and it is easy to get a little bored of visiting stately homes/residences. A cheap alternative to a taxi from the hotel is the CATS shuttle train, though it is a fair walk up to the hotel. All in all, Vienna is worth a visit and will look very special when covered with snow.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeponexporing01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a detailed review after your stay at Graben Hotel. We are very happy to read, that you enjoyed the stay in our house and that you loved the location! Thank you also for mentioning our very professional and friendly staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our hotels.

Best regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was one of the nicest small hotels we stayed in Europe so far. The location was terrific right off of the pedestrian street near St Stephan's Cathedral. The u-Bahn is a few steps away and there's lots of nice restaurants and shops everywhere. Try the small restaurant across the street (
For great local food and atmosphere.
The hotel rooms are a nice size with two twins put together or separated. The breakfast which was included was terrific with lots of fresh breads and pastries as well as meats, cheeses, eggs and sausage, cereals, fruit, yogurt, coffee and a nice selection of teas.
We would have loved to stay here longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest Avram,

thank your for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you loved our small Graben Hotel in the very centre of Vienna, especially our rooms and our delicious breakfast buffet. We hope to welcome you soon again.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent location ,shopping area and restaurant very near ,close to St Stephen cathedral, and near to Opera,but small room ,small bathroom not level of 4 star ,small lobby,breakfast not bad staff not very helpful,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Haider B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#97 of 360 in Vienna
782 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#151 of 360 in Vienna
578 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#33 of 360 in Vienna
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#39 of 360 in Vienna
679 reviews
Inner City
Pension Domizil
Pension Domizil
#125 of 360 in Vienna
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graben Hotel

Property: Graben Hotel
Address: Dorotheergasse 3 | 1010 Wien, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#75 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#96 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Graben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Graben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graben Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing