We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Graben Hotel
Ranked #85 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Ideally located; absolutely central but in a quiet pedestrian side street with no indication that the central shopping and tourist attractions were only a block away.
Our room on the 7h (top) floor was small but the bed was very comfortable and sound insulation was perfect. Heating was controllable and the small bathroom was well-designed so that two of us could use it at the same time without getting in each others way.
The hotel staff were charming, friendly and helpful.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Ellbird!
Thank your for your nice remarks about your stay at our Graben Hotel. We are glad to hear that you liked the situation of the Hotel and that your were satisfied with all our services. It is always a great pleasure to hear that our team makes our guests feel at home! We would be very glad to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes for a Happy New Year, your Graben Hotel and the Kremslehner family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

We are currently staying at the Graben Hotel in Vienna for 1 month over the Xmas and New Period. The location is right in the heart of the Graben and all the main shopping areas and attractions. Close to all the Beisl's, Heuriger's/Keller's etc etc and also the ubahn and trams and The service is fantastic....the room/s are great.....the staff really really friendly and helpful...the breakfast......the best ever.....They make us feel special every day.....They help with all your questions about the area, attractions, local stuff and also helping us to learn German! We love the place and have already handed out so many business cards for the hotel to all the other Aussies we meet. Thank you for making us welcome. We feel like this is truly our home.

Room Tip: superior room....either 13 or 23 is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillianandKen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Great location,
the check in was painless
had a very enjoyable few days in Vienna made even more enjoyable by the
staff at this hotel.
the reception staff were always happy to give directions .
a lovely hotel experience in a beautiful city.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear John D, thank you so much for your nice remarks about our Graben Hotel. We will pass them gladly on to our team who always give their best to make everybody feel at home. We would be more than glad to welcome you back soon again. Best wishes for a Happy new Year!
Your Kremslehner family and the Graben Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We have visited this hotel many times and the first thing you see, as you enter the hotel, is this big smile from the bell-man. He has always been there. He must be the best visite card a hotel can have. Always friendly, helpful and in a good mood.
The hotel is in the very center of Vienna, 100 m from the Stephans Dome. It,s a smallish hotel with a variety of rooms, from small to medium sizes. The room prices include an excellent buffet breakfast, also including a friendly service staff. Try to get a room towards the street but on higher floors, not to be disturbed by street noise. From the hotel, it's only a 15 minutes walk to the Morzins Place, from where the busses to the airport leaves.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank sedelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Mrs Sedelma! We are very glad to have you as one of our trusted guests! We will pass on your kind words to Mr Gomaa - who is the owner of the smile described. He has been working for us for many years now and he will be glad to hear that his friendly smile has made impression. We would be glad to welcome you soon back again to our Graben Hotel!
Your Kremslehner family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Graben Hotel's best feature is it's location steps from everything you should want to see in Vienna's old town. St.Stephen's Cathedral is about a block, and the Opera is a reasonable walk a little further. But, this is not to say the hotel itself is not worth it. The location is only part of the Graben's charm. Old world meets more modern conveniences here. VERY clean and helpful staff make this one a wonderful place to stay in this timeless city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceeceerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Des Plaines! We would like to thank you that you have taken time to let us know about your experiences in our Graben Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our services and that you felt at home with us. We will pass on your kind words to our team.
Greatings from Vienna, your Graben Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I booked this hotel because of its proximity to the Spanish Riding School. I was a bit hesitant because previous reviews were mixed, but I had a very pleasant stay. My room was compact but very comfortable, with a comfy bed, hot water, good food, and friendly reception staff. My only criticism was that there was no kettle or tea/coffee making facilities, but it wasn't a big deal. The hotel is in an excellent location, just a few minutes walk from the nearest train station and in the midst of the Graben, a big pedestrian shopping precinct. A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest Vicki S,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback, we are delighted to read that you appreciated our hotel, especially the great location and our friendly staff.

We hope to welcome you soon again and remain

with best regards from Vienna


Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I visited in late November and I was terribly cold. I turned on the air condition and it heated the room up by 4.00 am. Ok, I arrived at midnight, but i ve got a room with a max 15-16 degree originally.

The room was very narrow, not spacious. Breakfast was ok, good location, no question about this.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Bankar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest Bankar 77,

we are extremely sorry to hear that you had some problems with the heating in your room during your stay with us.

We will talk with our maintenance team about this problem. Thank you for your nice comments about our breakfast and our good location.

We hope to welcome you again, nect time you visit Vienna.

Best regards


Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#109 of 359 in Vienna
852 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#34 of 359 in Vienna
908 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Wandl
Hotel Wandl
#160 of 359 in Vienna
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#166 of 359 in Vienna
614 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 359 in Vienna
2,195 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graben Hotel

Address: Dorotheergasse 3 | 1010 Wien, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#95 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £95 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Graben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Graben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graben Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing