We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great service and clean/comfortable rooms”
Review of Graben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Graben Hotel
Ranked #71 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great service and clean/comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Graben Hotel is right in the heart of the city center in the main shopping area, a minute or so away from St Stephan’s Cathedral. The metro is a couple of metres away. The State Opera House and many other historical monuments are just minutes away.

On our arrival we were greeted by gracious and delightful Mahmoud Ameer at the reception. He made us feel so welcome which was a great start for our vacation in Vienna. Mahmoud was extremely helpful in giving us directions, advising us on good restaurants (one of us is a vegetarian) and organizing tours for us. He went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay extremely pleasant.

The rooms were extremely comfortable and clean. Even though the hotel was in an historical (old) building, the bathrooms were all modern and totally updated. The room even had an inbuilt radio in it.

The buffet breakfast had quite a good spread of quality food which included hot food as well.

The staff were extremely pleasant, always with a smile and were on a mission to please. Our 3 day stay in Vienna was made so much more memorable due the stay at Graben Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kausha25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

it was a pleasure to read your compliments about our Graben Hotel with its very central location and our very friendly staff.

Thank you very much for sharing your positive impressions on TripAdvisor and to recommend us to the other readers.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    329
    71
    26
    27
See reviews for
122
252
90
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Graben Hotel gave us EXCELLENT service the four days we stayed there, in every way. The hotel is very clean and the staff seem to love their jobs since no matter if you were in the restaurant for breakfast or the reception area, in the corridors - anywhere - you always got a happy smile from all staff. I have never experienced such high class staff members at a hotel. The rooms are modern and very clean. The hotel is located right in the center, 2 minute walk to the Stephanz Dome Cathedral, the subway was only a few meters away and the opera was about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We could not have stayed at a better hotel.

Room Tip: My room was facing the back courtyard, so there was no view. However, it was on the 7th floor (attic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your excellent feedback after your stay in our Graben Hotel in Vienna.

We are delighted to read, that you appreciated the very central location of our hotel, as well as our services.

Please recommend us also to your friends and come back soon.

We would be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards from Vienna

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Visited Hotel Graben early March on a business trip. The personnel was very friendly and service oriented (quite the opposite of Hotel Regina in the same chain). If you want to stay centrally in Vienna, this is a central as it gets. The restaurant is quite good too. You may want to ask for a non smoking room though (the non smoking smells - as expected).

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read, that you appreciated your stay at our Graben Hotel and that we could exceed your expectation.

Thank you also for mentioning the good food at our Trattoria Santo Stefano.

Please visit us soon again.

Warm regards form Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great Location, great room, Italian Restaurant was great and the breakfasts wonderful. The Staff were always so helpful and friendly and well informed. Walking distance to most of old Vienna. Paying a room service charge for a small bucket of ice was most unusual.
Fully recommend the Graben and some wonderful genuine Austrian Restaurants close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank your very much for writing a review after your stay in our Graben Hotel.

We are delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel, especially the very central location, our large breakfast buffet, our Italian Restaurant Trattoria Santo Stefano and our very friendly staff. Thank you!

Looking forward to your return visit,

we remain

with kind regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I selected the Graben Hotel because of the reviews and I was not disappointed. Traveling with three other females, we had booked 2 rooms. The location was awesome; close to shopping and the subway stations. The rooms were clean and of ample size. However, I am used to having coffee or tea in my room and this was not offered; this seems to be the case in most European hotels I have visited.

The staff from the front desk employees, maids and breakfast staff were not only friendly, but went above my expectation to make sure our visit was enjoyable. From checking train departure times to finding appropriate religious services for us, the staff wanted to please.

The continental breakfast offered a great variety of food.

We did not eat dinner at the hotel, but the restaurant directly across from the hotel, (literally 15 feet) had the best schnitzel we had in Vienna.

I highly recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29912Chris1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your very nice feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay at our Graben Hotel in Vienna.

We are really very delighted to hear, that we could absolutely exceed your expectations, especially with our very central location and moreover with our really friendly staff. Thank you again, also for recommending us, …

Looking forward to your soon return visit in one of our Hotels in Vienna, we remain with best regards


Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was taken to the PIzzeria Trattoria Santo Stefano at the Hotel Graben by a friend who lives in Vienna. We were looking for a traditional Italian-style restaurant and we were not disappointed.

We did not have a reservation but were soon shown to a comfortable table against one of the walls and received excellent service from the pleasant staff.

We had a simple but most enjoyable meal of minestrone soup and some excellent pasta dishes, all washed down with some Peroni beer and a nice glass of Chianti.

One of the attractions of this place, other than the ambience, service and excellent food was its central location. Dorotheergasse is only a very short distance from St Stephan's Cathedral and is a perfect spot for a casual meal when visiting the old city of Vienna. I will certainly return the next time I am there.

Room Tip: I did not stay at the Graben, but I can recommend the PIzzeria Trattoria Santo Stefano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your nice feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to hear, that you loved our Trattoria Santo Stefano in the heart of Vienna with its Italian Menu and our very professional and friendly staff…

We would be very happy to welcome you again, next time you visit our capital.

Best regards from Vienna


Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kielce, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Everything was ok but we were moved from the hotel Royal due to overbooking. Fortunatelly hotel Graben was located very close to Royal and the porters carried our bags, However I think that hotel's staff must be careful with overbooking. Not every guest will be so indulgent like us. Anyway the service was very good as well as the breakfasts. The room a bit small.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariusz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice feedback.

We are very sorry that we had to relocate you from our Hotel Royal to our Graben Hotel. The Graben Hotel as well as the Hotel Royal are both in property of the Kremslehner group Hotels and only a few minutes in walking. We apologize again for the inconveniences and are very delighted to hear that everything was OK at Graben Hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in one of our Hotels and remain

with best regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#101 of 360 in Vienna
795 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#163 of 360 in Vienna
586 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#32 of 360 in Vienna
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#45 of 360 in Vienna
684 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Hotel Wandl
Hotel Wandl
#174 of 360 in Vienna
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graben Hotel

Property: Graben Hotel
Address: Dorotheergasse 3 | 1010 Wien, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#75 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#96 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Graben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Graben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graben Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing