We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great if you are looking to explore the city”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #100 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel is in an excellent position smack in the centre of Vienna just a few steps away from St Stephens. The property would do with some new furniture but the style is quite contemporary and would suite most visitors. Rooms are quite spacious and the breakfast is very good, wide selection and if you wan something hat isn't there simply ask for it and you shall most likely get it.
I would recommend the property for short and long stays anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Pierre F,

thank you for your nice review.

We are happy that you enjoyed our central location, our service and the friendliness of our employees.
Thank you for recommending us!

Hope to welcome you soon again

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

When we arrived for check-in at Hotel Royal in the evening, we were told there was a mistake with our booking, which obviously was very unsettling for us, I at first thought that the booking didn't even go through and that it was all possibly a scam. But we were then told that we were being transferred to a sister hotel, Regina Hotel, in a different part of town. This, apart from stressful, wasn't great for us because we had a wedding to go to the following day and needed to depart from somewhere near Hotel Royal. We were told that the Regina Hotel would pick up the taxi bill from Hotel Royal on the way there. We waited for a while, the taxi arrived and eventually we got to Hotel Regina, by that point it was getting quite late and we were getting very tired. We checked in at Regina, which was fine, but I'd say more of a very good 3 star, not 4 star, hotel and spent the night there, which was comfortable, but the room wasn't anything to write home about, nor was the bathroom or the toilteries (we didn't even take them home). Also, the twin setup was two single beds put together like a double, but I'm comfortable enough with my friend that it didn't bother us too much, plus we were really tired by that point to be asking for a room with space between the beds.

The breakfast at Regina was lovely, very nice indeed. They have a nice outside area and it felt great to sit out in the sun and admire the cathedral across the road. The food selection was very good too, I found. First of all, there were the cooked breakfast options (perhaps, not a full English breakfast, but scrambled eggs [little bit average], bacon and sausage), then the cold cuts and cheese and, best of all, the fantastic bread and savoury spread and pastries. And lots of varieties of jam.

When we came to check out of Regina to be transferred back to Hotel Royal (as it was agreed at Hotel Royal the night before), the lady at the reception told us that the hotel won't pick up our taxi fare back. The fare wasn't huge on the way over, but still, whose fault was it that we were at Regina in the first place? I booked Hotel Royal! We argued for a bit and she eventually gave up, but frankly, when a hotel makes a blatant mistake like that they ought to try and keep the guests sweet; so that was a bit stressful and I really didn't feel like this argument should have taken place at all.

We then returned to Hotel Royal, where we had a nice room, it was more spacious and better decorated, although in the same style, than Regina. The twin was also a true twin, with space between beds. But we were quite unfortunate with our neighbours; our room was adjacent to another and connected via a door, which presumably could be used for bigger families on holiday. Our neighbours were so noisy that it sounded like they had about 7 children and could've done with the two rooms to ourselves. It didn't sound like there were any infants, as no-one was actually crying, but there was constant shouting, which sounded like sporadic arguing. We thought part of the problem was the door between our rooms, which looked like it didn't close very tightly, but we didn't complain to the reception as all the shouting stopped shortly before we went to bed and then resumed at a respectable hour, although we were still asleep, at about 8 the following morning.

The location of Hotel Royal is incredibly central, just off Stephansplatz. The following morning we had breakfast at Royal and were hoping to be at the roof terrace, which is advertised on their website and on TravelRepublic. Of course, that turned out to be a high end restaurant, only open for lunch and dinner, while the breakfast was served downstairs. The outdoors bit wasn't anywhere near as nice or big as at Regina, but we still sat outside as it was a warm day, although the inside of the breakfast hall had pretty nice decor, if a bit dark. Unfortunately, the food selection wasn't as good as at Regina - fewer bread varieties and no pastries (sob), but the scrambled eggs were very tasty.

After chek out we kept our bags at the Reception, which was arranged without a problem.

Overall, our stay at Hotel Royal and Regina Hotel didn't go as smoothly as we would have liked, but we thought both hotels provided good, although definitely not excellent and, in my opinion, only just 4 star, accommodation. Our room was better at Hotel Royal and the breakfast was better at Hotel Regina.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rowanberryjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Guest Rowanberryjam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us!

We are very sorry that there has been a misunderstanding regarding your booking at our Hotel Royal.
Our sister Hotel Regina is a 10 minute walk from our Hotel Royal, next to the ring with all the sights nearby and a mere 100 metres to the first district.

Despite this confusion, our staff tried to make your stay as comfortable as possible and we are happy that you enjoyed our extensive breakfast buffet at our Hote Regina - especially sitting outside underneath the arcades during summer time!

Furthermore, we are delighted that you liked our refurbished rooms at our Hotel Royal upon your return. All our Hotels have a similar style, as this represents our Kremslehner Hotels.
At Hotel Royal breakfast is served in our Ristorante Firenze Enoteca, which is decorated in authentic Italian decor and is one of the oldest and most original Italian restaurants in Vienna.
Even though your stay did not turn out to be as expected originally, we are glad that you were able to enjoy the best of both hotels (breakfast, room, location).

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future and would be glad to personally assist you with your next booking!

Kind Regards

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

What a gem. Fantastic location. Easy walk to all the major sights and 10 steps to the underground and right next to the cathedral. Very friendly staff, and an amazing breakfast. Large room with AC. The only thing was that the first floor must have been under renovation as the carpet was covered up. Very quiet room. Don't waste money on Taxies or tour buses, Take public transportation and get the Vienna card. If you like the movie the Third Man- Take the Third Man Walking Tour, great way to enjoy the city and hear about the movie and Vienna after the war.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jstoy215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your very nice feedback you posted on TripAdvisor.

We are really delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Royal.

Because of comments like yours we are currently updating our furnishings. We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next trip to Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The Hotel Royal is the ultimate choice when you travelling in Vienna
It's not just because of the central location in the heart of the old town
It's not just because of the shortest walking distance of all the most attractive sites that the city has to offer
It's not just because of the amazing views of the city as seen from the terrace of the hotel's rooftop restaurant
It's not just because of the great breakfast with so variety menu…
and more:
The underground station [lines u1 and u3] right in front of the
Many Shops, cafés, restaurants, everything is around you so from the early morning to late at night you are in the middle of the vibrant life
B u t : all these things are meaningless if the hotel was not good
I stayed at hotel ROYAL for 6 nights [16-22.7.2013]
my room was very comfortable, beautifully renovated , air conditioned which is very important for those who came to Vienna in summer
the hotel staff were so friendly and helpful, every need of mine was met with a smile and good faith.
Wi-fi, internet, very clean bathroom
Hotel Royal means to feel at home from the moment you arrive
the atmosphere around ....
I couldn't ask for more than this charming hotel
For me this is the first time in Hotel Royal , but not the last time.
I'm so glad that I found a place like home for 7 days, great staff like a family,
all of this in an very attractive and inexpensive price!
WHO NEEDS MORE ?
highly recommend

D. Bar-Ratson, Israel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Guest,

it was so nice to reed you comments about your recent stay at our Hotel Royal.

We are really delighted that you appreciated so much our hotel, the central location, the nice rooms, our large breakfast buffet, etc. etc. etc. but in particular we are really thankful for your compliments regarding our staff.

Thank you again for posting your review at TripAdvisor. Looking forward to your soon return visit.

Best regards from Vienna


Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was great for shopping and visiting the local churches. I recommend to find a horse drawn carriage and tour that way, it gives you a sense of what it was like before cars and saves wear and tear on your feet! NO parking at this hotel. Off-site is available with the valet for around 35 euro per day. Rooms were a little dated. The Italian restaurant next door was good, and provided the continental breakfast. NO air conditioning, so go when it is cool. Staff at the front desk was extremely helpful and spoke good English. Sadly we did not take advantage of the rooftop cafe.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperHogFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Hotel Royal.

We are delighted to read your comments about our good amenities, our central location, and we are extremely thankful to read that our team was able to respond to all you requests.

Thank you again for posting a review on TripAdvisor, we look forward to your return visit!

Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect! And, the staff is remarkable - very friendly and helpful. We very much enjoyed having breakfast on the top floor (this may have been because of renovation of the ground floor restaurant, but looking out on the roof of Stephansdom and hearing its bells was incredible. We had plenty of hot water, good air conditioning, and working WIFI. We definitely will stay her on our next trip to Vienna.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. Ours on the 4th had no street noise with windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JemezFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your very nice review about our Hotel Royal.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the central location, our beautiful restaurant Settimo Cielo and the service provided from our staff.

Thank you again for posting your review at TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to your return visit

we remain with kind regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I always stay at Hotel Royal when I travel for meetings in Vienna The convenient central location with metro lines 1 and 3 right in front and the friendly staff make me feel at home. Free wifi, good breakfast and two nice italian restaurants make the difference! To be perfect, I would suggest to replace the tiny old TV in all rooms and to have a dedicated staff in the panoramic wine bar at Settimo Cielo. We were guests in 3 rooms and we went up for a drink and they refused to serve us because it would interfere with the dinner service. We were told to come after 10 pm.

Room Tip: Rooms by the end of the hallway may have a weak WI-FI signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for choosing Hotel Royal for your recent stay in Vienna. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, especially the very central location, our good breakfast buffet, our staff and our two high quality Italian restaurants. We are very sorry to hear, that you did not find a space at our Ristorante Settimo Cielo as you came just for a drink. We checked already with our head of service and were told, that only when we are very busy servings meals and do not have any seating space available there is no possibility to take a drink in our restaurant. We really want to apologise for this incident.Thank you again for the kind comments and we looking forward to hosting you again in the future.
Best regards your Kremslehner family and the Hotel Royal team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#88 of 359 in Vienna
736 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#10 of 359 in Vienna
2,239 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#32 of 359 in Vienna
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#122 of 359 in Vienna
208 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Wandl
Hotel Wandl
#165 of 359 in Vienna
416 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#40 of 359 in Vienna
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Singerstrasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Vienna
#69 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#74 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £83 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Vienna
Hotel Royal Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing