We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #110 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Beside the St Stephen's Cathedral, It was extremely handy to get to most of the sights of Vienna. Before this trip, I was unaware that Old Vienna is easily walk-able. The Hotel has a very good restaurant on the roof, and a good one an the ground floor. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The room we had was on the second floor. It was clean and of adequate size. We stayed 4 nights. The toiletries were the only black mark. The breakfast buffet was also very good. I would recommend this hotel mainly for it's location; and we will return.

Room Tip: We overlooked the street outside, and despite this, were not bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest John R,

with pleasure we read your comments about our Hotel Royal after your recent stay in Vienna. Thank you for choosing and for recommending us. We are very pleased to read, that everything exceed your expectations, especially the very central location, the nice room, our beautiful restaurant, our friendly staff, the delicious breakfast, …

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your impressions.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is in a really good location. We could walk to the local sites.

There are local cafes open until very late - which is good for late arrivals.

Very friendly and helpful staff as well.

(Also make sure you buy some cakes from Demel nearby)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeMike1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Guest MeMike1234,

thank you for your excellent evaluation on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you soon again at Hotel Royal.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Position of this hotel could not have been better. As a 4 star hotel it met our needs, but my only critism was the pillows. To arrive with only 1 skinny lumpy pillow each was not a good introduction. The staff were excellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest Daphne 643,

thank you for taking the time to send us a review after your stay at our Hotel Royal.

We are delighted to hear that everything was almost fine. Regarding the pillow, we are sorry to hear that you did not ask at reception for a different or an additional one. We have different pillows at disposal (allergy pillow, pillow with different fillings, … ).

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again in one of our Kremslehner Hotels.

Best regards

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I spent a week in the hotel and I had a great (!) experience. First of all - great location right near the Dom, it's a great starting point for all the trips around the city (everything is much closer in real life than on the map). I stayed there for 7 nights at the and of August. I pre-booked my staying using Booking.com, my order was non-refundable and was fully paid before my stay. After reading all the stories here about switching the guests to a different hotel, I sent an e-mail to the hotel (actually twice) to confirm my reservation, and the hotel politely confirmed the reservation for both e-mails. I also asked in my reservation to get a non smoking room, as smoking is very popular around Austria, and got one. The room was on the first floor, and although it's in the hart of the old city, it was very spacious and had 2 chairs with a table and a desk. It looks like it was renovated not too long ago (and especially the bathroom), I also didn't have any problems with the wi-fi (maybe because I was on the first floor), and it was quiet. The breakfast was a bit poor compare to other 4 stars hotels - not much of a selection, but both hot and cold dishes were there. For those who are interesed in buying food for the rest of the day - there is a hugh suparmarket right in front of the hotel. The TV was one of the "old style" Tvs, but I barely watched it and the bed is a bit weird - very low and soft (also the pillows). The hotel's staff was very polite but didn't really know the easiest ways to get from one point to another. Although it's a bit pricy, I highly recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: * if you are a non smoker ask for a non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom_ISR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest Tom ISR,

thank you for your very nice and detailed review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear, that you appreciated your stay at our Hotel Royal, that we could exceed your expectation and that you could recommend our house.
Thank your very much!

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards from Vienna.


Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Hotel Royal in Singerstrasse is an excellent hotel with reasonable prices and a friendly, helpful, and service minded staff.

Nice and tidy room, comfortable size, and a clean bathroom.

Great breakfast buffet between 7 - 10 am with a large variety of food.

The location of the hotel is right in the middle of downtown Vienna and only a few steps to the subway. Within walking distance of Hofburg Palace, several churches and cathedrals, the Danube Canal, the old jewish quarter, the City Park and lots of shops: Gucci as well as H&M. ;o)

Don't hesitate booking a room at this perfectly located hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pierre André K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your nice feedback at TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Royal, especially the very central location (nearby a real shopping paradise), the tasty breakfast and the professional service provided by our staff.

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor! Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards from Vienna.
Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We went to the restaurant with some colleagues and guests from US. Everyone was very pleased with the food, service and especially the fantastic view of the city centre. Will absolutely come back during my next visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Viktoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest Viktoria K,

thank you very much for your very nice feedback. We are delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our Restaurant, especially the good location, our very nice staff and the view. Hoping to seeing you soon again!

Best regards from Vienna


Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel is in an excellent position smack in the centre of Vienna just a few steps away from St Stephens. The property would do with some new furniture but the style is quite contemporary and would suite most visitors. Rooms are quite spacious and the breakfast is very good, wide selection and if you wan something hat isn't there simply ask for it and you shall most likely get it.
I would recommend the property for short and long stays anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Pierre F,

thank you for your nice review.

We are happy that you enjoyed our central location, our service and the friendliness of our employees.
Thank you for recommending us!

Hope to welcome you soon again

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#80 of 358 in Vienna
725 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#33 of 358 in Vienna
909 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 358 in Vienna
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Wandl
Hotel Wandl
#165 of 358 in Vienna
406 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#168 of 358 in Vienna
614 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Singerstrasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Vienna
#69 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#81 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £89 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Vienna
Hotel Royal Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing