We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #95 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Visiting Vienna for the Christmas markets, this is an ideal hotel as location is very central,clean and of very high standards.STaff at the reception very helpful and friendly.Restaurant hotel food is excellent but a bit pricy and portions a bit small.Said this, will definetly return and make it a point to re stay.Breakfast has quite a vast selection from where to chose and everything is genuine.Keep8t up!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cliftonMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Clifton Malta!
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are very happy that you had a nice stay in our Hotel Royal.
Such nice and appreciative comments, that’s exactly what keeps us going.
We will forward your kind words on to our team!
We hope to see you soon again. Happy New Year your Hotel Royal team and the Kremslehner family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    344
    85
    32
    41
See reviews for
162
228
98
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were a group of 8 friends which we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was in the centre and there are many shops around of everything you need.The rooms were very clean and breakfast very good .The receptionists speak good English and were very helpful .Looking foward to go again in this hotel.I recomand this hotel.and about galahotels where I book can't find better they have good prices and good hotels Thanks for all your service.Mary rose Bartolo
again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mary Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear guest! Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay at our Hotel Royal. We will gladly pass them on to our team. We hope to welcome you or your friends soon again at our Hotel. Greetings your Kremslehner family and the Hotel Royal team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Hotel Royal is situated in the very heart of Vienna- the corner of Graben Strasse and the Carentner Strasse, near the Stephan Dom. It is a lovely hotel, with comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and nice people at the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Arnon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest Arnon,

thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Royal and that we could exceed your expectation.

Looking forward to your return visit.

Best regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smolyan, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel is located near to St.Stephan Cathedral-a perfect spot for tourists. We stayed for the first time on Dec.2011 and were amazed of its location.The second time we tried to stay at the hotel was this year-Nov 16-21. The booking was made on-line with legal booking company, 4 months in advance and fully paid. At the arrival the receptionist said that there is an overbooking (they said it was a booking company mistake,which was not true) and we must move to another hotel - Hotel Regina which is outside the ring, not so attractive in location, which was my main reason to book hotel Royal. They proposed us to cancel the reservation and refund the full sum which was not an option, because our return flight was 5 days away and I didn't want to loose time in searching another hotels last minute. Of course proposed a free taxi to Regina which I refused. Said will upgrade to 'superior' room at Regina for compensation. We were accommodated at room 511 with the 'beautiful' view to the inside of the building, towards the emergency staircase, and received a couple of sweets.
****************************
Of course the Hotel manager will say that the Hotel Regina is a 15min walk from the centre and is also 4stars. But Dear Kremslehner Family , the choice of the hotel and more importantly the location is MY CHOICE and not yours. If I wanted a hotel outside of the ring I would chose a better one for this money. A compensation of 10 sweets and 'superior room' is not enough. You are using the attractiveness of the hotel to catch tourists and after that relocate to another less attractive. It's not fair, it's foully!
*************************
The booking company-which I contacted immediately- wasn't informed by the hotel for the overbooking in advance and was surprised by me for this. They compensated me a 20% refund and apologised for the inconvenience. They tried everything to rectify the problem but didn't. I had great communication with their support team of EasyClickTravel for which I'm grateful. Thanks.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank naskorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest Naskorb,

thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback after your recent stay in Vienna.

We sincerely want to apologize again for all inconveniences you were faced to upon arrival. Unfortunately, due to a massive problem with our computer system, we were faced to an overbooking and had to relocate some of our guests. In that situation, we had to find the best solution for our guests and were convinced, that choosing one of our own properties would have been so. We are sorry that you too were concerned and that you didn’t like the alternative hotel we proposed you. The room we assigned you in our Hotel Regina was definitely a Superior Room and the dysfunction of the safe had been solved immediately the next morning.

Regarding the central location of our hotel, we are aware that no reason could satisfy your disappointment of not having been located in the hotel of your choice, but also want to point out, that our Hotel Regina is very well located, the first district starts just after the park of the Votive Church in front of the Hotel. And the distance between the two hotels are approx. 1,3km. Between both hotels you have all major sights- the Cathedral evidentally is closer to out Hotel Royal but the Rathaus for example with the most famous Christmas market is closer to our Hotel Regina.

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.

Sincerely,

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The only advantage of the hotel is that it is located in the centre. However the service is so not for the 4 -stars hotel. Breakfasts are the same all the time. They finish at 10. However if you come at 9.30 there is already no hot water or no juice. They are taking the plates away. Furthermore, they close the doors for the night. And i had to wait outside getting cold as nobody heard me ringing the bell. I believe the responsible for the opening doors guy was just sleeping and I had to be outside on a street. And plus to all this I am missing some items from the hotel room and they did NOTHING about it! Even said to me that there was no cleaning in my room, however had new towels and the bad was done!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aalliiceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest Ailicee,

we are extremely sorry to hear about the problems you were faced during your stay at our Hotel Royal and that we could not exceed your expectation.

Regarding the breakfast service we normally are complimented for the choice and the quality of our buffet and really feel sorry that you didn’t like it.

Regarding the front entrance, for security reasons the door is locked during the night. To enter a door bell is installed outside. We are sorry that you had to wait a while outside, our night audit was of course not asleep, but he had started his security patrol through the hotel and could not open you immediately.

Regarding your missed items we are really very surprised. We have a claim book at reception and there is nothing noted about this matter. In such a case our Manager on Duty has to be informed and normally clients ask to make a report at the police.

We want to apologize again for all inconveniences and hope that you could anyhow enjoy your stay in Vienna.

Best regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

the hotel royal used to be my favourite place to stay whenever i was in vienna. naturally, when i booked my winter holiday, i reserved a room at this specific hotel. it is important to mention that the reservation was made through a legitimate lisenced travel agency months ago and was fully paid for by the time i got to vienna. i was,therefore shocked and amazed, upon arival to the hotel, on november 29, when i was told by the reception clerk that the hotel was full and decided to remove me from there to hotel regina, which is located in a different neighborhood, outside the city center, promising me a ''superior'' room over there, while lying about the true location of hotel regina and marking it on an imaginary attractive spot on the city map for me. i naturally refused, but after spending an hour running around the city center trying to find an alternative hotel, which was impossible on a friday night, i protested but had to agree to be moved, since sleeping on the street was not an option. let me just mention that the room in hotel regina was not ''superior'' in any way. it was dark as a dungeon and had a dysfunctional safe. i was finally moved to a smaller room. because of the poor location of hotel regina i had to take two trains, or walk for over half an hour to get to the city center, which was exactly what i wanted to avoid by booking a hotel right in the city center. such behavior of a hotel- throwing me out of a room that was reserved for me and giving it to someone else is an ugly fraud and discrimination. why the hell was someone else more deserving of my place in hotel royal. no compensation was offered to me for my dissapointment and dyscomfort, except for a 10 euro taxi ride to the alternative hotel. luring people to spend their hard earned money on a specific hotel, based on its fabulous city center location, and sending them to fill empty rooms in a different remote hotel is cheating. luckily my father is austrian and we are going write a formal complaint to the austrian tourist and commerce authorities and if necessary pursue legal actions until i will get a reasonable explanation and compensation for my ruined holiday. i urge all trip advisor readers to stay away from this establishment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank itaiTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback after your recent stay in Vienna.

We sincerely want to apologize again for all inconveniences you were faced to upon arrival. Unfortunately, due to a massive problem with our computer system, we were faced to an overbooking and had to relocate some of our guests. In that situation, we had to find the best solution for our guests and were convinced, that choosing one of our own properties would have been so.

We are sorry that you we had to choose you and that you didn’t like the alternative hotel we proposed to you. The room we assigned you in our Hotel Regina was definitely a Superior Room and the dysfunction of the safe had been solved immediately the next morning.

Regarding the central location of our hotel, we are aware that no reason could satisfy your disappointment of not having been located in the hotel of your choice, but also want to point out, that our Hotel Regina is very well located, the first district starts just after the park of the Votive Church in front of the Hotel. And the distance between the two hotels are approx. 1,3km. Between both hotels you have all major sights - the Cathedral is evidentially closer to our Hotel Royal but the Rathaus for example with the most famous Christmas market is closer to our Hotel Regina.

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.
Sincerely,

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The location of this hotel is beyond ideal for exploring Vienna, I couldn't have imagined a better spot. The hotel itself is clean, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was a decent spread. The hotel isn't the most modern, especially the room furniture, but the cleanliness and location make up for it. We spent four nights there, and had zero complaints. The breakfast doesn't vary daily, so after four days we wanted a change, but the choice was sufficient for a few short days stay. I would not overlook this hotel in your options of where to stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could exceed your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back in future!

Best regards


Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#71 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#34 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#147 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Inner City
Pension Domizil
Pension Domizil
#104 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Singerstrasse 3 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#70 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#102 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Vienna
Hotel Royal Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing