We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #99 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is our second time staying at the hotel, is centrally located
The rooms are good and large
The staff were so friendly and eager to help
Good breakfast
If I came back to Vienna I'll stay at this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank מאיר ג
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

we are delighted to hear that we could exceed your expectations with our continual services.

Thank you for booking us again and for recommending us to your friends.

Looking forward to your return visit.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    355
    87
    32
    44
See reviews for
166
238
101
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I hate giving hotels bad reviews, especially because the staff were so friendly and eager to help. However, our stay at the hotel was fairly poor for the following reasons:
- The beds were probably the most terrible beds I've ever slept in. They were extremely thin, hard, and we could feel every spring in the bed. My sister resorted to putting an extra thick blanket underneath the sheet so it would have extra padding. It barely helped;
- The pillows! My gosh, I didn't think such things existed. Really thin, and extremely lumpy. I would like to emphasise the word lumpy here. We were at the point where we were going to storm downstairs and demand another room because of the bed debacle, especially because we had been on the train from Switzerland for 13 hours that day. We needed a good rest. We didn't get it;
- The breakfast was terrible, and the coffee was simply flavoured water. We resorted to getting a McDonald's coffee each morning (McDonald's was across the road from the hotel);
- The blankets were really, really old. They also smelt a little strange;
- Do not expect any Wi-fi. There isn't any. I had to join an open Wi-fi connection somewhere nearby from my hotel room because I gave up on the hotel Wi-fi.

But there were good things too. Such as:
- The hotel staff were really nice, every single one we talked to were friendly and willing to help. We did not ask for another room because we are not the type to put people out. But I don't expect to go to a hotel and have to ask for a proper bed and pillow. If I have to ask the staff for a decent bed, something's not quite right there;
- The location was of course excellent. The metro was right around the corner;
- They provided all bathroom products which was great because we ran out of shampoo during our European trip;
- The decor was very nice--This was both nice for us but annoying at the same time because they seemed to put so much effort into the 'look' of the room and less emphasis on the bed situation;

I could not give this hotel any more than two stars. While there were some good things about this hotel, the bed situation let it down greatly. If guests cannot get a good sleep and wake up with back pain each morning, this hotel is going to have a lot of cranky guests to deal with. I cannot remember the room number but please change those beds!

Room Tip: Ask for comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your very detailed comments on TripAdvisor.

We are so sorry to hear, that you had some problems to rest in our beds, and more than sorry, that you did not inform the reception about it.

As you have written, we are a small hotel in the very centre of Vienna, close to the most known shopping mile and the Stephan’s Cathedral. The Hotel Royal as well as all our other hotels are all 4 star hotels and we always try to do our best to satisfy all clients requests.

Not only do we have different pillows, responding to our international clients, but we also have mattresses on stock. You were the first one claiming about mattress and pillow in room nr. 65. We checked the case immediately and have to admit, that we need to change the mattress. Regarding the pillows, the décor is standard. On request we are happy to provide pillows with different fillings or anti-allergic pillows.

Again, we are so sorry, that you did not inform the reception, as we could have solved the problem immediately or propose you a room change.

Regarding the complaint about our breakfast buffet, we really want to reject this accusation, as we have a lot of Viennese clients coming only for the breakfast to our Hotel! We propose a rich buffet responding not only the strict 4* Hotel guidelines but also the prospects of our loyal clients. The coffee is a typical breakfast coffee, on request you may have an Espresso, etc. from our waiters.

Unclear is the question, why you did not have an internet connection. We have a free WIFI in the whole hotel and normally no problem with it.

Dear client, thank you also for mentioning the positive points, especially our really nice and professional staff. We are happy to pass on the compliments to them.

We sincerely want to apologize for the inconveniences you were faced to during your stay, and hope that you will give us another chance to convince you about our professionalism next time you visit Vienna.

Best regards


Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I found the staff at the hotel most helpful during a recent stay in mid November 2013 (for the Christkindlmarkts). They spent a good 60 minutes finding me a car service to a concert venue outside of the city. The breakfast spread was varied and ample. While the hotel could use new some new carpeting, overall I was delighted with this property ... especially the location ... and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winterlilycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your very nice reply after your stay at Hotel Royal.

We are delighted to read that our hotel with it’s very central location, the very helpful staff, … could exceed your expectation.

Please recommend us to your family and friends… we would be very happy to welcome you soon again in one of our hotels.

Best regards from Vienna.


Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my husband and daughter, the hotels location is fantastic and right into the centre but don't expect to receive any help from the staff, they are rude and uncaring. The wifi and breakfast are not fantastic either.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a high room because you can not see out of the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mckriley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank your for letting us know about your experiences at our Hotel. We are very sorry to hear that you were not treated properly by our staff. We put a lot effort on the friendlyness and helpfulness of our team and usually we get very good feed back. We can only excuse the behaviour - this should not happen and we well take care it will not happen again.
Please come back and give us the possibility to prove that our team usually treat every guest with the typical Viennese charm.

Greeting your family Kremslehner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights with my mother. What a nice place: really spacious rooms, very clean. It's literally a stone's throw from the Stephansdome and right on the main shopping street. It's not new but everything is really well kept and clean. The room was very quiet. The staff is really polite and friendly. The breakfast was really good with lots if different breads etc. I can really recommend this hotel!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bissy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank your for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satiesfied with all our services. Please recommend our hotel to others! We would be very glad to welcome you back to our Hotel Royal soon again!

Your Kremslehner family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The staff was friendly, the rooms were comfortable and clean, and the breakfast / restaurant were good. The location is fantastic! Easy walking distance to lots of places. If however, you're a TV watcher while on vacation and/or you really need WiFi, I would think about picking another hotel. I don't watch TV on vacation (or I should say I don't miss it) but the channels (those that worked) weren't even clear. As far was WiFi, luckily I was able to tap into a free WiFi - because the hotel's didn't work. Of course this could be room location, but it is 2014. Also, there were zero toiletries. Not even soap in the shower (and I would say some kind of shower gel has become standard)
I gave the hotel a 3 because the location was great, the breakfast was good, and the price wasn't bad - but there were things missing.

Room Tip: Don't count on WiFi Bring toiletries
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musket_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest!
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay in our Hotel Royal. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the location and our team. We are very sorry to hear about the missing toiletries and will speak to our housekeeping immideately. This really should not happen and we only can excuse this mistake. Regarding the WIFI we are aware that some rooms have bad connections especially when the hotel is fully booked. The WIFI should have worked in the lobby though. Nevertheless we are very sorry that this problem has influenced your stay with us and I can assure you that this will not happen again as we are checking all WIFI connections at the moment and they are being upgraded. We hope that you will visit us soon again. Best regards your Kremslehner family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Was on a business trip but tried to get a decent Hotel in the middle of Vienna to do a bit of sightseeing. This hotel was right in the middle and a great place to walk to everything from.
Breakfast was really nice. loads of things laid out to meet everyone's requirements
Staff were really helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Kevin!
Thank you for letting us know about your recent business trip to Vienna - we are glad to hear that you did not regret choosing our Hotel Royal. We will pass on your kind comments to our staff and hope you will return soon! Best wishes your family Kremslehner and the Hotel Royal team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#77 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#33 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#150 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Inner City
Pension Domizil
Pension Domizil
#132 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Singerstrasse 3 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#73 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#102 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Vienna
Hotel Royal Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing