We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon Travels”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #98 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Travels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The final stop on our honeymoon was Vienna. We chose the Hotel Royal based on its location within the old city and the good value. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone traveling to Vienna. The location can not be beat as you're just around the corner from St. Stephen's Cathedral. We arrived via train and it was such an easy subway trip to the hotel. We flew home and the subway / train trip to the airport was a breeze. Very clean large rooms. Comfy beds. Good shower (and water pressure). Wonderful breakfast every morning that really gave us a good base for the day. Nice staff. I can not say enough about what a wonderful stay we had.

Room Tip: We booked directly with the hotel and received a better rate than on Expedia. Asked for a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your really nice feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time in Vienna and that you really enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Royal.

It is correct that we offer in all our Hotels better rates directly at the Hotel or on our homepage than on the various suppliers. Always ask us first!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Looking forwards to welcoming you soon again

Best regards from Vienna

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    349
    86
    32
    42
See reviews for
163
234
99
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, UT
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

There is not a better located hotel in Vienna. It is about as close to St. Stephan's as you can get. The room was small by American standards, but big enough. The breakfast was nice. No complaints, great stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSL_Donk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest!

Thank you so much for your nice comment about our Hotel - please recommend us to your friends! We would be more than happy to welcome you soon back again at our Hotel Royal.
Warmest regards from Vienna, your Kremslehner family and the Hotel Royal team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is all about location - and the view of St. Stephens cathedral roof from the smart roof terrace restaurant. All the main sights are a walk away - even Schonbrun for the more adventurous. Rooms are functional but the beds and pillows are awful. The breakfast room is a delight and breakfast itself is good. We tend to choose hotels with some tradition and charm and this hotel does the job nicely.We got the impression that the no smoking policy in Viennese bars and restaurants was a little lax so be warned.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAVID C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive review.

We are happy to read that you enjoey our location as well as our Ristorante Settimo Cielo!

We hope to welcome you soon again

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was nicely located at city center and steps away from the metro. Although the cathedral chimes didn't stop until 11 pm and started up again at 6 am. The bed was the worst I've slept in for my entire life (50 years!!)The pillows were terrible too. I slept with two blankets under me and still the bed was as hard as a rock. Didn't rest well. The rooms were sparse and old. Definitely low budget. But the staff was very sweet, helpful and always cheerful. Breakfast was good too.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 219Kristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

we are sorry to hear that you had reasons to complain during your stay!
Unfortunately you did not come to reception to change the room! Upon your next stay in a Hotel, regardless which, please always mention at reception if there is anything they can do to improve your stay.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Vienna, nevertheless

Kind regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Full of old world charm in centre of city next to St. Stephens cathedral, lots of eating places, shops close by - within walking distance of most tourist destinations.The staff, particularly in the breakfast room, were friendly and cheerful. The breakfasts were good with a lovely variety on offer. Even tho’ close to cathedral bells it was a quiet hotel apart from a little noise first thing in the mornings, no traffic noise as in a pedestrianized area. Our room was clean and comfortable, would happily make a return visit. The café on the corner by hotel had great iced coffee with ice-cream and delicious cakes!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grace c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice reply on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Royal and would be very happy to welcome you soon again.

Sunny regards form Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramat gan, israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I just spent 5 nights at the Hotel Royal in Vienna. The location couldn't have been better, right next to Stephan Cathedral and within walking distance to many of th main sights. The hotel is also right next to a subway station. In addition, I generally felt very safe walking around in the area near the hotel (or elsewhere in Vienna). The room was very clean and pleasant with a nice bathroom. The hotel is right on a busy street. I had the airconditioner on and did not open the window, so I did not hear any noise. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was very good. The only two drawbacks were the following: Single rooms in European hotels are often very small with tiny single beds. This was not the case here. There were two single beds, but they were on wheels and kept moving, so in effect you ended up sleeping on a very narrow single bed, with a very narrow single blanket. Other than that, the bed was quite comforable.The second problem was the hight of the bathtub, which could certainly pose a safety problem for older and even younger travelers. The hotel has a nice Italian restaurant on the premises (with pictures of many famous customers, such as Placido Domingo), which came in handy since I arrved late and did not feel like going out looking for a place to eat late at night. The hotel also has also a rooftop bar. However, it was totally suffocating because of the smoke, so this was not an option for me. In Austria, smoking is allowed in many restaurants. In this case, there wasn't even a designated non-smokers' area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkirschner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

than you very much for choosing our Hotel Royal.

We are delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay at Hotel Royal. We will pass your compliments and suggestions on for improvement to our team. Thank you again!

Looking forward to your soon return visit.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Four of us stayed at this hotel for a four night break and found it to be perfect for our needs. The location is superb and we thought it was very good value for money. We are seniors but I think it might not be modern enough for young people. It has obviously been very popular with very famous artists who have performed at the nearby Opera House and there is much musical history to be seen in the many photos around the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were spacious and clean. The first night we ate at the roof restaurant which was superb fine dining but very expensive. We were on the fifth floor and found that there was a little noise early in the morning which was our only slight complaint. Breakfast was very good indeed.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less early morning noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest!
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at our Hotel Royal. We are very glad to hear that the situation of the hotel suited your needs and that our services met your expectations. Regarding the noise - as the Hotel is situated downtown sometimes noises occur that are out of our influences but are common in big cities.
We hope to welcome you soon back in one of our Kremslehner Hotels!
Your family Kremslehner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#75 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#35 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#145 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#10 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Inner City
Pension Domizil
Pension Domizil
#100 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Singerstrasse 3 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#71 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#102 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Vienna
Hotel Royal Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing