We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“royal location plus, but average rooms”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #108 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Hotel Royal has a location to die for, great breakfast buffet and great Italian restaurant. Yes indeed. But, the rooms we were allocated were smallish and just average on both our visits. Also, the bathrooms needed better ventilation. Worth checking out other hotels in the city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing again Hotel Royal for your recent stay in Vienna.

We are happy to hear, that you get back to us and that you appreciate the very central location of our Hotel Royal as well as the delicious breakfast buffet. Regarding the rooms, we are sorry to hear, that they seemed to you to small, but we assure you, that all our rooms (even the smallest one) respects the strict guidelines for 4* Hotels! Please inform us about your next coming to Vienna. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our house.

Your Kremslehner family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

hi david purcell hear,if you go to vienna this the place to stey so good alround love the place staff so good , if i go back to vienna ill stey there .anbody who say this a bad place is mad good for walking allround the rooms are very good

Room Tip: rooms in the frt
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Hotel Royal. We are delighted to see your comments about our perfect amenities, our beautiful hotel and our friendly staff.

Thank you again for posting your review on TripAdvisor!

Looking forward to your return visit!

Your Kremslehner family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was the start of our Austrian holiday, 3 nights in Vienna. Maybe we should have read the directions and not rely upon the sat nav. After asking the same policeman twice, he accused our sat nav as being stupid and drove us there in our car, very friendly and helpful. The staff were incredibly helpful and nothing was too much trouble eg asking for a plate of bacon at breakfast when there was none on the buffet. We chose this hotel because of its location and we were not disappointed. There cannot be a better located hotel in Vienna. Yes, improvements can be made. Towels could be larger, thicker and softer ie better quality. Also, the single pillow was totally inadequate, even when I folded it to three times its normal thickness.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaveA1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay in our Hotel Royal.

We are delighted to read, that you loved our hotel, especially the central location and our very helpful staff. Regarding the rooms, we are sorry to hear, that you had some problems to rest because of our pillows. The pillow-filling are standard-fillings. On request we are happy to provide our clients with a supplement or a specific pillow in their room.

We hope to welcome you soon again in one of our hotels.

Best regards

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The final stop on our honeymoon was Vienna. We chose the Hotel Royal based on its location within the old city and the good value. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone traveling to Vienna. The location can not be beat as you're just around the corner from St. Stephen's Cathedral. We arrived via train and it was such an easy subway trip to the hotel. We flew home and the subway / train trip to the airport was a breeze. Very clean large rooms. Comfy beds. Good shower (and water pressure). Wonderful breakfast every morning that really gave us a good base for the day. Nice staff. I can not say enough about what a wonderful stay we had.

Room Tip: We booked directly with the hotel and received a better rate than on Expedia. Asked for a room on...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your really nice feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time in Vienna and that you really enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Royal.

It is correct that we offer in all our Hotels better rates directly at the Hotel or on our homepage than on the various suppliers. Always ask us first!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Looking forwards to welcoming you soon again

Best regards from Vienna

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

There is not a better located hotel in Vienna. It is about as close to St. Stephan's as you can get. The room was small by American standards, but big enough. The breakfast was nice. No complaints, great stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RSL_Donk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear guest!

Thank you so much for your nice comment about our Hotel - please recommend us to your friends! We would be more than happy to welcome you soon back again at our Hotel Royal.
Warmest regards from Vienna, your Kremslehner family and the Hotel Royal team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is all about location - and the view of St. Stephens cathedral roof from the smart roof terrace restaurant. All the main sights are a walk away - even Schonbrun for the more adventurous. Rooms are functional but the beds and pillows are awful. The breakfast room is a delight and breakfast itself is good. We tend to choose hotels with some tradition and charm and this hotel does the job nicely.We got the impression that the no smoking policy in Viennese bars and restaurants was a little lax so be warned.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAVID C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive review.

We are happy to read that you enjoey our location as well as our Ristorante Settimo Cielo!

We hope to welcome you soon again

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was nicely located at city center and steps away from the metro. Although the cathedral chimes didn't stop until 11 pm and started up again at 6 am. The bed was the worst I've slept in for my entire life (50 years!!)The pillows were terrible too. I slept with two blankets under me and still the bed was as hard as a rock. Didn't rest well. The rooms were sparse and old. Definitely low budget. But the staff was very sweet, helpful and always cheerful. Breakfast was good too.

Room Tip: Another hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 219Kristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

we are sorry to hear that you had reasons to complain during your stay!
Unfortunately you did not come to reception to change the room! Upon your next stay in a Hotel, regardless which, please always mention at reception if there is anything they can do to improve your stay.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Vienna, nevertheless

Kind regards

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#94 of 361 in Vienna
707 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#34 of 361 in Vienna
890 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#169 of 361 in Vienna
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 361 in Vienna
2,130 reviews
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#59 of 361 in Vienna
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Singerstrasse 3 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#81 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#102 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £98 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Vienna
Hotel Royal Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing