We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice large rooms, horrible service, mixed feelings”
Review of Hotel Tabor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tabor
Ranked #312 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice large rooms, horrible service, mixed feelings”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The rooms were nice, and big. Dated but comfortable. Breakfast was nice, if a bit rushed sometimes. The desk staff, especially the gentleman who was there in the afternoons and evening, was awful. He was surly, rude and obnoxious. Really unpleasant. When answered back in the same manner he seemed to calm down somewhat. Internet access is problematic and you have to be sure you are in a room that actually has it, they have a table showing the % of the connection the room gets, ask for 80% or you won't be happy. Convenient location, parking is a bit far away but worked OK for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touchofeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    61
    80
    41
    28
See reviews for
46
57
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We went to Vieana celebrate my 60th Birthday. I was a little worried about staying at The Tabor after reading the reviews but for a budget hotel it was really good. The breakfast was good with a great buffet choice. including yogurt,eggs,cheese, german meats, cereal, orange juice and choice of breads. As much tea or coffe as you wanted. The staff were very good. The room was hot so this waould be a problem in a heat wave but a large window could be opened. The hotel is in the Jewish quarter, tram stop and Tabor underground staition very close about a 15 min walk to St Stephens. Bar prices at the hotel and mini bar a bit pricey.

Room Tip: try to book a room with air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

nice hotel, big rooms, lift to upper floors, breakfast was a little busy, as it seemed everyone happend to turn up at the same time, apart from that a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigrob1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and would never ever go back.
The rooms were stinky (mouldy smelling) and everything was old and tired.
It is in desperate need of a renovation. The beds were tired and uncomfortable too.
They advertise cheaper rates, but then stick you for anything else.
The wifi was 15 Euro per stay (regardless of length), and you could only use it on one machine! Outrageous since most hotels have free wifi.
When we explained that we were two people in the same room, wanting to use our separate computers, they made no accommodation whatsoever and were extremely rude about it.
To be fair, the breakfast was good, and the breakfast staff were nice. They prepared us a small coffee tray to take back to our room.
We tried this place as a change to our regular Vienna hotel, the Wilemhof.
We will go back to the Wilemhof next time, only 20 Euro more but on a different planet!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notatoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Bacharach, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed for two nights having previously stayed two years ago and found it to be good. The first night was noisy with kids running around until about midnight, the second night was worse!!! A third group of kids had arrived, they gathered in the hall way chatting, doors slamming running from room to room whilst all the teachers sat in the bar drinking. I had to get up and get dressed to complain as the phone in my room did not work and the response was 'I don't know what I can do I am here by myself'. We had to leave the tv on to try to drown out the noise and attempt to get some sleep, probably got 2 hours in total!!! All they said when we complained next morning is that they were sorry and it was just unfortunate that they had 3 group bookings together and they would speak to the teachers. To be honest it was like staying in an expensive youth hostel without any rules. They had absolutely no idea how to deal with one group of kids let alone three and this is coming from someone who has stayed in youth hostels and is currently working in one which has groups of kids all year round.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca-louise3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Stayed here for 6 nights recently on a business visit. All the hotels in the near vicinity were booked and this was the only one available. Reserved the room through booking.com without any problem.

The hotel is located about 6 minute walk from Schwedenplatz and about 15 minute walk from the city centre. There is a tram stop close by and getting around Vienna is easy.

Rooms are big, clean and airy. Did not feel any lack of space. However, all teh carpets in the hotels seemed a bit old and wornout. Bathroom too very big with a bathtub and very convenient. Housekeeping was done daily and immaculate. The weather in Vienna was pleasant when I was there and hence did not feel the need for any air-conditioning. However, during summer it can get a litte uncomfortable and the way out is to keep the windows open. But if you have a room facing the main road (Taborstraße), there might a lot of noise due to the vehicles.

Breakfast served between 0645 and 1000 was a good spread and impressive. The staff at the reception and the restaurant was good and receptive.

The only problem that I faced during the stay was lack of wi-fi in the room. It was available only in the lobby and I was charged EUR 10 for unlimited access. Being on a business trip, this can be quite irritating and inconvenient.

Overall, a decent place to stay for a few days and explore Vienna.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloBLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The title of this review sums up my thoughts on Hotel Tabor -- only rooms on the 5th floor have air conditioning and it's quite loud to stay in a non-air conditioned room in the summer. The desk staff was incredibly surly as were a couple of the people in the breakfast room. At one point I asked if there was somewhere I could have my laundry done near the hotel and the receptionist shook his head, got out a map and showed me a place 5 train stops away. Guess what, on the corner, not 3 store fronts down from the hotel was a dry-cleaner who also did laundry....

Although there is a great restaurant in the neighborhood (Skopik and Lohn) and it is close to the metro (on the purple line) I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel City Central
Hotel City Central
#57 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Resonanz Vienna
Hotel Resonanz Vienna
#222 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#25 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Leopoldstadt
magdas HOTEL
magdas HOTEL
#63 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Leopoldstadt
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna 2
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna 2
#213 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tabor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tabor

Property: Hotel Tabor
Address: Taborstrasse 25, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tabor 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tabor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabor Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing