We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely warm hotel”
Review of Savoy Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Vienna
Ranked #162 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Savoy Garni is a small hotel in an excellent location in Vienna, just off Marihilherstrasse and 2 minutes from the U-bahn station. The staff are very helpful and efficient, rooms are nicely designed and capacious, breakfast is very good inspite of the very small breakfast room. In my opinion it is the best value for money you can get!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naguib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

The good things about this hotel:
-nice, friendly staff
-nice bathroom
-large room
-fruit available at the front desk
-convenient location, near the subway and within walking distance of many sites

The negatives:
-the very small breakfast room makes for tight squeezes
-the room was dated and dingy
-in our room, the wi-fi only worked near the door

Overall, an okay place to stay, but not worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elainegw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel was the best we stayed in while in Europe. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. It is air conditioned and the staff was extremely helpful. The buffet breakfast was very good and was included in the price of the room.
WiFi was not included for free, but can be purchased (expensive). We paid 24 euro for 24 hours and then purchased an additional 3 hours for 15 euro.
All of Switzerland is expensive so the value of the hotel was good. It is well located in the city within walking distance of almost everything.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, with decor in tradfitional style, and in a good position for restaurants and cafes and all the historical interest of the city. The staff are very friendly and helpful and it is impeccably clean with a beautiful welcome on arrival. The breakfast is also great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d0risday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Booked three nights based on TripAdvisor reviews. As we were traveling by rail, we wanted a hotel that was convenient to the Westbahnhof or within an easy commute by public transit while also being situated close to the principal sights. The Savoy was both. Thanks to the excellent directions provided by hotel staff via e-mail, we were easily able to travel using the metro (2 stops on U3 ) and take the exit that brought us closest to the hotel. We chose a “Vienna style” room and were given a large room (by European standards) on the 6th floor overlooking the courtyard. The room and hotel were as described in earlier reviews. We thought the location was very good, within walking distance to the old town and museum quarter and an easy subway ride trod the Schoenbrunn. Palace. The staff were helpful, friendly and professional. On arrival the receptionist warned us that the breakfast room was very small and would get congested unless we arrived early, e.g., 7:00am, which we did. The breakfast offerings were adequate. Our room was quiet and appeared clean. However, the separate toilet room had a slight but noticeable (to me but less so to my wife) smell of urine The sink and bathtub drains were very, very slow. There is no air conditioning but the windows open. It was unusually cold during our stay so AC was not required. The room décor and furnishings are tired looking. Overall, the Savoy is a decent three star hotel at reasonable cost. It’s price, convenient location and good staff make up for any shortcomings. .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esquimalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We arrived at this hotel on a cold and rainy night walking from the West train station. It is a 10-15 minute walk. The hotel is very quiet and the lobby is beautiful. We had a large triple room which was clean but the decor was dated and there were spots on the fabric of bed skirts and carpet. Breakfast was nice but the room they serve it in is entirely too small for the number of tables and chairs and you constantly bump into other guests in the process of moving around or getting food.You can easily walk to the museum ring and Mozart Haus, Spanish horses... in the opposite direction of the West station and it takes 15minutes to walk to the main square. There is a metro station which is about 5 minutes walking on the main shopping blvd. We jsut walked every where and that worked out very well.

Room Tip: The elevator is very small and slow so if you have mobility issues, ask for a room on the lower leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelinmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed here in December 2011. The good news is the hotel is cheap and within walking distance of the Vienna State Opera. The bad news is just about everything else. The room was tiny and dark. The desk clerk I encountered most often during my stay was a middle aged man who was the personification of rude and condescending. Any question was met with the attitude, "How incredibly stupid you must me not to know this information. What a waste of my valuable time it is to be forced to deal with such a person as you." (I must add that the young man who was desk clerk at my arrival was very helpful, but he disappeared--alas.) He was often away from the front desk and obviously resented having to leave whatever he was doing (chatting up the maids, having coffee in the kitchen, etc.) to actually do what he was paid to do.

There is no one to help with your luggage, and to get into the hotel you have to walk up a flight of steps (no elevator), turn to the left and go up several more steps. The door opens out, which forces you off of the landing onto the steps below--while somehow juggling your luggage. The breakfast room is tiny and most mornings I was unable to get in, even though I tried several different times.

But then, this seemed to be par for my experience in Vienna. Unlike my experiences in Berlin, Dresden, Leipzig, people in Vienna seemed to take delight in making other people's lives as difficult as possible, just for the delight in doing so. With any luck I'll never have to go to the city again.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere unless your only concern is financial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadforDresden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#90 of 359 in Vienna
1,285 reviews
Neubau
Hotel-Pension Continental
Hotel-Pension Continental
#83 of 359 in Vienna
486 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#105 of 359 in Vienna
421 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#43 of 359 in Vienna
1,086 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#135 of 359 in Vienna
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Vienna

Address: Lindengasse 12, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £70 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Savoy Hotel Vienna 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Savoy*** is one of the nicest privately owned properties in Vienna, well known for its elegant well proportioned rooms, it central location and for its friendly staff. The rooms at Hotel Savoy are very spacious (25 m²) and comprise of an anteroom, private bathroom and seperate toilet and are equipped with safe, telephone, cable TV, radio, hairdryer, free internet access via WLAN minibar and tea&coffeemaking facilities. NEWS: all our rooms are equipped with air-condition! The Hotel Savoy is located close to the city centre of Vienna. Only a 5 minute walk away from the Ringstraße which features some of the most important historical buildings of the city - the Imperial Palace of the Hofburg, Parliament, the City Hall and the Vienna State Opera House to name but a few. In the immediate vicinity of the hotel is the romantic pedestrian zone known as Spittelberg, which features wonderful examples of Baroque and Biedermeier architecture with the buildings now home to many small cafes, restaurants and even some private breweries and the largest shopping street in Vienna - the Mariahilfer Strasse is literally just steps away. But also the Lindengasse is causing a splash on the fashion scene. Located at the heart of the Neubau creative district, has become a bustling hub of contemporary fashion with numerous small boutiques. The Hotel Savoy is situated on the main underground line U3 with the station 'Neubaugasse' directly opposite the Hotel (30m) offering a quick and easy 3-minute ride into the heart of the city centre at Stephansplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Savoy Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Savoy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing