We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Position”
Review of Hilton Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Vienna
Ranked #114 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Best is location - quarter of an hour's walk from St Stephen's, ten more to Hofburg. Right by the main city public transportation knots, including the Airport train shuttle. Public garage (expensive!) directly below reception area. Evening view of the Stadtpark and Centre (if you landed with a South facing room) memorable. The huge lobby hall with a rather hidden bar is not a great architectural achievement.

The second time around and going through booking.com we got a truly large double corner room. Very good in all details, if somewhat outdated. However, even though having prepaid the room for three and arriving late afternoon, we had to call reception for the third bed. The reception itself was faultless and effficient.

We only used the hotel restaurant for breakfast, and only because it was included in our price. Nothing to complain about, good choice of classic and even some Asian food, but at 28 EUR that one is charged otherwise, it is a ripoff. In a half empty restaurant we were seated by an automatic terrace door - every time someone used it, it kept closing and opening five successive times (in spite of attempts by the staff to reset the system) and the outside temperature was not really on July level that very morning. Additionally, we had to keep ordering our second cappuccino to three different staff members before finally getting one fifteen minutes after our first order. Not acceptable for five stars, either.

The price we got was competitive for five stars, though, and we might return for some other Vienna break. Imperial on the Ringstrasse remains my absolute favorite, though. But not so close to the best restaurant in Central Europe, the Steiereck, as Hilton is...

Room Tip: South facing corner double, as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ZahtevniGost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 3,246 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location. It is a very short walk to the historic center. There are great restaurants near by that one can walk to. The lobby was very comfortable and the bar staff were very attentive but not intrusive. The breakfast that was part of our package and had something for everyone. Fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, hot items and omelets and waffles individually made as well as traditional European items. The coffee was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank lindadL1424QK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights,wished booked for longer.,Enjoyed everything in the hotel.We had the executive lounge which is very spacious,room is spotlessly clean,Extra effort made for everything in this hotel.
The executive lounge with river view is awesome. We have stayed in many hiltons but the executive lounge in this one is unique.the food In the lounge is fresh and endless supply.The happy hour with hot snack and any alcohol was just a bonus.Thank you to the manager and staff for putting all the effort as it's really worth it.
,the staff are helpful,friendly and hard working.good choice of breakfast sitting outside by the river,nice morning and evening walk on the river
Out sitting area very relaxing. Gym is outstanding.sauna and jacuzzi also very good.Endless things to mention...
Overall can't fault anything,well above standard with everything.thank you all the staff who made our stay so pleasant,

Room Tip: For family executive room is nice,children will love the lounge,has free internet in exet lounge. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sh0bna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nice, large room, excellent breakfast and perfect location
The hotel is located a step from the underground, tram, bus station, airport train and walking distance to Shtefanplatz. It is ideal for those who prefer walking as well for those who will use public transportation
The hotel staff is nice and Nandor Barnucz- Head Concierge service was excellent.
The offered breakfast is rich with more choices then one can pick.
The room was large and comfortable with good e/c.
The lack of free Wi-Fi in the room is the only limitation I founded
I will definitely return and recommend the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EBY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The location of the hotel is ideal for tourists as it is close to tourist attractions and the city. Public transport is excellent in Vienna and the hotel's location is perfect for public transport. We stayed for 9 days at the executive lounge floor and had a good view of the city. The room was large compared to European standards. It was very comfortable and clean. Housekeeping was excellent. The hotel restaurant and bars were great. The service was polite and friendly throughout our stay. Acoustics was great as you couldn't hear sounds in the corridor or the next door.

The executive lounge on 12th floor was adequate. Was it great ? Well compared to other hotel chains the menu could be more varied for breakfast or happy hour. Two minor criticisms, first, was the happy hour started at 6 pm, the manager would not open a locked mini-bar fridge at 5 minutes to 6 pm. There were two guests who were told to wait till 6 pm. My advice would have been to politely tell the guests it is open at 6 pm and then open it anyhow. So the guests will know next time. And secondly, the cheese platter was rather measly.....it was like a ration. Lol.

Overall it was a very good staff service. And great location.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff was very nice and helpful.
Since it was very hot during our stay, we loved to have the subway station with two lines across the street and the tram a block away. We used a lot of public transport transportation to avoid walking in the heat.
I just thought that the breakfast was a bit expensive, but there are lots of options just outside the hotel.
The room was nice and we had a nice view on our 9th floor room.
There is only free internet in the lobby and common areas.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreasgui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hilton Vienna is located next to Stadpark and a major transportation hub (Vien Mitte). This is ideal for anyone who wants to explore the city. For those who wants to stay close to the hotel, there are lots of restaurants and some shopping nearby, including the shopping mall inside Vien Mitte.

The rooms, lobby and meeting rooms are good. Food at the restaurant is decent but the prices are high. I would recommend booking a room with free breakfast. Hope you are an early riser because the breakfast buffet can be very busy, crowded with tour groups.

The worse thing about this hotel is the high internet costs. This has been noted in other reviews but it is still worth mentioning. If you must use it at the hotel, speed is good. I am just glad that my company paid for the extreme costs :)

Room Tip: Book a room with free breakfast. It will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Pay_It_Forward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#42 of 359 in Vienna
1,319 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Landstraße
InterContinental Wien
InterContinental Wien
#75 of 359 in Vienna
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#62 of 359 in Vienna
1,838 reviews
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#74 of 359 in Vienna
2,972 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vienna

Address: Am Stadtpark 1 | A-1030 Vienna, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Vienna
#46 Business Hotel in Vienna
#64 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#79 Family Hotel in Vienna
#84 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £74 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring contemporary decor, the award-winning Hilton Vienna hotel is one of Austria's premier hotels. Set in the heart of Vienna, the hotel is just 16 minutes from Vienna International Airport by the city airport train. The main sights and most fashionable shopping streets are within walking distance.Relax in our comfortable guest rooms and enjoy a high standard of amenities. Located on the higher floors of the hotel, the Executive rooms offer breathtaking views over Vienna and exclusive Executive Lounge access with complimentary continental breakfast, drinks and snacks. Upgrade to a bright suite for extra space and excellent views from the private balcony. Try innovative Austrian cuisine on the alfresco terrace of S'PARKS restaurant or enjoy Austrian wines and Viennese coffees at the Lobby Bar & Lounge at this Vienna hotel. Work out in the well-equipped gym or unwind in the sauna, steam bath and relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vienna Hotel Vienna
Hilton International Vienna
Vienna Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing