We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up To Hilton Standards”
Review of Hilton Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Vienna
Ranked #108 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Our tour group stayed at the Hilton Vienna at the end of our travels. We added on an extra night in order to decompress before our flight home.
Upon arrival, speaking to a reception agent, we requested a second luggage rack so we can comfortably unpack our suitcases. Three and a half hours later, I made a 2nd request and it was delivered in 15 minutes. Why the need for a second request?

The other drawbacks were:
* Limited shelf space in bathroom
* No ice buckets in the room. You have to call the front dest, request a bucket of ice and wait for it to be delivered.
* Mediocre breakfast compared to other hotels we stayed in.
* Initial refusal to credit my Hilton Honors account for my stay, even though we paid for it through our tour. It certainly wasn't free. In addition, they didn't want to credit my account for the extra day I paid for directly.

All in all, although the room was nice, the frustration with staff was discouraging.

Room Tip: Request a room somewhat near the elevators. It is a long walk to the furthest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank l1106410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,170 of 3,293 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Why does Hilton insist on charging €25 per day for slow wifi access? It simply is not good enough for business travellers. Wifi should be standard these days when paying €200 or more for a room. You can use the lobby wifi, but good luck getting any work done with gangs of young, disobedient middle eastern children running riot through the lobby and domineering the lifts & lobby computers to play games. If they are going to charge a fortune they should at least make the bandwidth exceptional, and not too slow to even stream a video...

I also paid €60 to launder some shirts and half came back stained. My room mini bar was filled with open, half drunk bottles when I checked in.

The bar staff were nice, the bed was comfy and the location was good. But I would not recommend this hotel for business, or even pleasure if you need internet access, a drink on arrival or clothes cleaned.

I used to like Hilton Hotels, but they are turning into a joke.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TrySmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldirektor, Manager at Hilton Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor!
Reading your overall evaluation I sincerely apologize for the described experiences made and I truly regret that we were not able to live up to your expectations.

Coming back to your feedback regarding the Internet fees I am very sorry if they have negatively influenced your stay with us. At the same time I fully understand your frustration about the described situation at in the lobby and I truly wish to apologize for the inconveniences caused.

Further to your feedback on our minibar and laundry service, please allow me to first of all to express my sincere apologies. We do operate our hotel on highest cleanliness- and quality standards, which numerous traveller reviews do confirm. Allow me to assure you that I have already evaluated this matter with our Executive Housekeeper in order to review our training standards and to avoid such re-occurrences in the future.

Dear Guest, thank you once again for your valuable time and comments which help us to constantly review our services and to better adjust them to our guest needs.

I truly hope you will give us the chance to prove that we are indeed better hosts and I would be more than delighted to welcome you as our guest again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hilton Vienna

Ronald Diesenreiter
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Location of Hilton Vienna is terrific. It is in heart of city, near big parks, shopping centers and historical places. Staff is extremely professional and good. Conference facilities at hotel are very good. Overall my stay experience was extremely good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NVpinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldirektor, Manager at Hilton Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this exceptional review of your recent stay at the Hilton Vienna.

I read, with great pleasure, how much you enjoyed your stay with us, the friendliness of our staff and our central location.
I also highly appreciate your positive feedback on our conference facilities.

Dear Guest, I truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards from Vienna,
Hilton Vienna

Ronald Diesenreiter
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel seems to turn a blind eye to unsupervised children doing what they want. The computers in the foyer are used by them from 8am till 11pm playing games. They roam the hotel by themselves including the Executive Lounge where they play games also on the computers in the business centre there. They also help themselves to drinks food etc all day totally unsupervised. There is no peace it seems staff are to scared or advised to leave them to do what they like.
If you want a relaxing hotel beware.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Greg393939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldirektor, Manager at Hilton Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.

Further to your comments, I sincerely apologize for the experiences made especially regarding the noise disturbance in the Executive Lounge. I fully understand your frustration about the described and I am very sorry for the impression you have received.

Dear Guest, I do hope you continue putting your trust and loyalty in the Hilton Vienna and please rest assured that your feedback does not stay unheard. I would be more than delighted welcoming you as our guest again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Hilton Vienna

Ronald Diesenreiter
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We arrived late at night (travelled via City Airport Train-16 minutes from Vienna Airport) and the check-in was quick. We were given a spacious standard twin bedroom at the Executive Floor with a view of Stadtpark. Toiletries, coffee making facilities, dressing gown, slippers, iron, ironing board and toiletries are all provided. There was free 8 hours Wi-Fi at the hotel lobby. What I didn't like was, housekeeping tried to enter our room twice at 8 am and at 9:30 in the morning. I called reception but they didn't do anything about it.

Room Tip: Corner room (Executive floor) is sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Maria_Thelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldirektor, Manager at Hilton Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback via Tripadvisor!

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your spacious guest room with park view and our amenities during your visit.

At the same time I greatly appreciate your valuable comments regarding the housekeeping service. Please allow me to first of all express my sincere apology for this invasion of your privacy. I have already informed our Executive Housekeeper who will make sure to train the team member involved.

Dear Guest, I would like thank you sincerely for sharing your very important feedback with me and I truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards to Dubai,
Hilton Vienna

Ronald Diesenreiter
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Hilton Vienna was my favorite hilton by far on my European travels. I stayed in all Hiltons from Budapest to Munich to Prague Berlin and Amsterdam during this two-week trip and none came close. Amazing staff made the difference. Well managed Front Office staff with Nikolaus in charge. Very genuine and kind individual. Clarrissa and Florentine were extremely helpful throughout my stay and always had a great smile while I asked my stupid American questions. As a former Director of Front Office for many Hiltons I can see this property follows the teachings required to be a successful Hilton property and for me it all started in the Front Office area. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topcat5834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldirektor, Manager at Hilton Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this great feedback on Tripadvisor!

I was thrilled to read that our hotel is your favourite Hilton hotel in Europe and that you very much enjoyed your stay with us! At the same time I would like to thank you for your kind words on our staff, in particular our Front Desk team. Positive feedback like yours is a great motivation for our team, ensuring that we consistently provide excellent service to our guests.

Dear Guest, thank you once again for your kind words and I truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Hilton Vienna

Ronald Diesenreiter
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed some times at Stadpark property between 2011 and 2014
I always knew that it is dirty, but the last time they gave me the "wrong room", I mean a room that you will never forget...
It is full of tourists, due to the closeness with the Opera, for this reason I think the staff is generally unpolite, they count on the fact that the customer will not come back to the same property, moreover, on the Hilton brand
The Gymn is not so bad at the end, probably the only good thing
If you can't live without the "Big aitch" I "warmly" suggest you to switch to the other 2 properties in town: Vienna Danube and Vienna Plaza

Room Tip: Avoid the room 529
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Eveight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldirektor, Manager at Hilton Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your recent stay at our hotel.

Reading your feedback, I very much regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and I am very sorry for the impression you have received.

Coming to back your comment regarding the friendliness of our staff however, I am very sorry to hear that you did not feel welcome by all our team members. This does in no way reflect the high service quality we expect from our team and wish to provide our guests and therefore I am very sorry if this has clouded your stay with us.

As it is our aim to provide our guests a perfect stay to their fullest satisfaction, allow me to kindly ask, what we could have done better to live up to your expectations, especially in regards to your evaluation of our guest rooms.

Your comments are truly valuable to us as they help us to better identify and consequently meet our guests’ needs - your response would therefore be very much appreciated.

I would be more than delighted if you gave us another chance to prove that we are indeed better hosts by visiting us again soon.

Kind regards,
Hilton Vienna

Ronald Diesenreiter
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#41 of 358 in Vienna
1,358 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Landstraße
InterContinental Wien
InterContinental Wien
#76 of 358 in Vienna
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#62 of 358 in Vienna
1,864 reviews
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#60 of 358 in Vienna
1,127 reviews
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#71 of 358 in Vienna
2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vienna

Address: Am Stadtpark 1 | A-1030 Vienna, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Vienna
#46 Business Hotel in Vienna
#63 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#78 Family Hotel in Vienna
#79 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £80 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring contemporary decor, the award-winning Hilton Vienna hotel is one of Austria's premier hotels. Set in the heart of Vienna, the hotel is just 16 minutes from Vienna International Airport by the city airport train. The main sights and most fashionable shopping streets are within walking distance.Relax in our comfortable guest rooms and enjoy a high standard of amenities. Located on the higher floors of the hotel, the Executive rooms offer breathtaking views over Vienna and exclusive Executive Lounge access with complimentary continental breakfast, drinks and snacks. Upgrade to a bright suite for extra space and excellent views from the private balcony. Try innovative Austrian cuisine on the alfresco terrace of S'PARKS restaurant or enjoy Austrian wines and Viennese coffees at the Lobby Bar & Lounge at this Vienna hotel. Work out in the well-equipped gym or unwind in the sauna, steam bath and relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vienna Hotel Vienna
Hilton International Vienna
Vienna Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing