We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apparently Eastern Europeans not that welcome here” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel
Ranked #126 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Bucharest
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Apparently Eastern Europeans not that welcome here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived at the Imperial Riding School in Vienna on Dec 26th, after 10 p.m. After checking in, we just got in our room and less than 5 min later I got a text message from my bank announcing me that an amount by far exceeding the total price for the 6 nights we booked at the hotel has been charged on my credit card. I called reception to ask why, especially since we had not been informed in any way about such rules, and I was told that this is the way they do business with Russian and other Easter European tourists. Fact confirmed also by the manager on duty at the time, in a very arrogant manner. Now, anyone is absolutely free to privately disregard some nations if they so think fit, but for a hotel, bluntly admitting that to the customer is absolutely unacceptable. Imagine what would happen if it was not about Eastern European people, but about coloured people, or, wow, I cannot even thing about that, Israelians. I am sure there would be a lawsuit and damage claims and the press yelling. And rightfully so. What about being politically correct? If not just correct and polite to the customers? After all, we were spending our money there, which is what a hotel is supposed to want. If Easter European money is not good for them, why not refuse reservations right away? It would be much more honest. So all in all, it was my 2nd stay in this hotel, 1st time was perfect, 3 years ago, nothing to complain about, but after this time I will certainly not visit again. Regardless of other hotel services, which I have to admit were fine (this is why I rate 3 stars, instead of zero deserved by their behavior).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ionci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterLorenz, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear sir/madam,


First of all we would like to thank you for your visit at The Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel and for taking your time to share the experiences you’ve gained with us on tripadvisor.
Your feedback is very valuable to us and we appreciate the chance you are giving us to respond.

Unfortunately we have learnt that your stay with us did not meet all of your needs and expectations and that you were not able to enjoy your stay to the fullest.
You did not feel welcomed and appreciated as an Eastern European and you were disappointed about the lack of service provided to you.

On behalf of the entire team we would like to state our sincere apologies on all inconveniences caused. We can completely understand your anger and your frustration and we genuinely regret the reported incident.

The service you received is not up to our standards and not the Renaissance way to take care of our guest’s regardless form which country they arrive.
Please be assured that we do not accept this kind of behavior and therefore we take your feedback seriously and shared it with the entire team.
May be we ask you to send us your confirmation number or your name to ensure we talk to the respective associates to avoid such mistakes and behavior in the future?

Unfortunately we cannot change the past, but only learn from it for the future.

If you should have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us directly under alexandra.drobig@renaissancehotels.com.

We do remain in the hope that you accept our letter of regret and that we are able to welcome you back at our hotel.

With kind regards,


Alexandra Drobig
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    498
    208
    72
    23
See reviews for
245
418
62
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed here for four nights in December and this is truly a great hotel. It was an old historic riding school back in the day obviously now converted to a unique hotel venue. The rooms are quite spacious and very comfortable with extra large bathrooms. The imperial club for Marriott elite guests was quite fantastic. It basically had around the clock food and beverages available all day long. BreKfast was included in my rate and it was great, tons of options and open until 11 am ( no having to rush and get there by 9am like in the US!).

The location is just outside of city center. A doable walk but the 71 tram line runs right by the hotel and is quite efficient, inexpensive, and easy to use. It made getting everywhere around the city super easy, even well into the night and ear,y morning hours.

My two negatives were that the sleeping room, lobby, gym, restaurant and club were unbearably hot. This seemed to be a trend all over Vienna but it became quite uncomfortable. Secondly, I had asked for two wake up calls and was never called which was a first for me. It was by no means a crisis but I would be weary if you needed to depend on that.

otherwise a very nice unique hotel totally worth booking if you are looking for a Marriott property a bit different from the norm.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kitcat99w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during the last week of December a group of ten friends in all. Adjoining room request and king size beds were arranged without fuss. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable.
Breakfast was tasty, with a wide selection of food and beverages available. Front desk staff and managers on duty extremely efficient and friendly.
The hotel is not as centrally located as we would have hoped but fast train connection to the city is available within five minutes walking distance.
A very good hotel !
Thank you Mr.Oberoi sir !

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adam099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UTAH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We wanted to see Vienna at Christmas. The markets etc. It's a good 35 minute walk to the main shopping area but it is fairly easy to find. It is also on a main trolley route if you walk up to the corner. Trolley 71 will take you quite close to the Opera House etc. There is also a subway train station just behind the hotel. We are walkers so chose to do the walk daily. It's also a great way to get to know the city.
It's a very pretty hotel, especially at night. There is a Russian Orthodox church behind the hotel which looks beautiful. We actually stayed here twice as we did Vienna first, then went to Prague and came back just before we flew out. We were able to stay in both the new and old section of the hotel.
The staff are really nice. The airline had lost our luggage and I dealt with 2 people at the front desk who helped me with the phone-calls to track it. Both Sabina and Fabrizio were a pleasure to deal with. (I hope I spelled their names correctly, sorry if I didn't.)
Our room was on the 6th floor of the older section of the hotel. The only odd thing for me was that you had to swipe your room card to use the elevator to go up. You didn't need to on the trips down. Our room faced the back of the hotel. Our windows opened which was nice as we like fresh air. There is a subway train that goes by but it is quite a bit below street level that we really didn't notice it much...plus I use a sound app to sleep at night. The room was a good size with lots of storage space. The bed was a bit firmer than I personally prefer, but the down pillows and and comforter were lovely. The bathroom was nice and had a deep tub/shower. There is a 110V outlet in the bathroom. On either side of the bed there was a 220V outlet and we used these as well as the outlets at the desk for our electronic devices. We brought plug converters with us and when you are using a laptop, I-pad, Nook, camera or cell phone, they are 110/220 so you don't need a transformer. There is a safe in each room which instead of creating a passcode, you swipe your credit card to open and close it. We actually quite liked that feature. It doesn't charge you, it's just an extra amount of security.
The wi-fi was a bit slow, but not bad. There is a charge for it, but since we are Platinum members, we don't have to pay the fee. We used the a-lotted 3 device limit per room. There isn't a lot of English channels on the tv, pretty much just news, but that is normal throughout Europe.
The club lounge is really large. They serve, breakfast, snacks, dinner and desserts. Really good selection at all of them. We loved the beverage choices. They also have wine and beer at no charge but we don't drink. Every morning they had a selection of newspapers, 1 in English which was nice. They clean up the tables very quickly here. There is free wi-fi I think in the Club Lounge but we had it already so didn't try it out. There are also 2 computers by the front desk that you can use to check your email etc. It takes a bit of getting used to the different keyboard, as it's not the Qwerty we are used to in the US.
The 2nd trip we were given a suite in the new section of the hotel which is in the same building as the Club Lounge (directly across from the main entrance to the hotel.) Our room was on the 2nd floor and we got updated to a lovely suite. We were directly across from the Russian Orthodox church this time and it is gorgeous. The bathroom was huge and had both a tub and a separate shower. My only complaint was we were out of range of receiving an internet signal.
We were in room 914.
We loved staying at this hotel and although it was a fair hike everyday to go into the main section of the city, we saved quite a bit of money by using the Club Lounge. We chose to walk as we knew we would be enjoying the Viennese food and didn't want to gain any weight.
The city is gorgeous and we loved our Christmas in Vienna experience. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IamKWgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

The check in was uneventful and the staff was friendly. The rooms are typical for a European hotel. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were clean, the only problem was that they were not fully enclosed making it a little cold. The room on the very furthest end of the corridor was wonderful. The bathroom was bigger than most of the others in the hotel and there was a window in it. The grocery store was called Billa and was about 50 yards on the left of the roadside driveway. The train station was very convenient and very close by. The lounge in the building opposite of the lobby was very convenient and nice. They serve yogurts, finger sandwiches, and a variety of drinks for snacks. They also serve a full breakfast. The desserts are delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here for a week. I found the hotel very nice and the breakfast was decent. The lounge did not have great food, however sleep and bathroom facilities were extremely decent. I would return to stay here if I have too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolateginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

LOCATION: Located in a quiet neighborhood in a great city, very close to attractions Less than 100 metres from the Train station with direct train from and to airport (not the expensive City Express). With Vienna pass, we only paid EU4 per person each way (Taxi from airport around EU40). Short tram ride from City Centre and attractions.
STAFF: Very helpful and friendly staff. They took great care of us all the way. Everyone speaks English, though learning a few German works (Dake Shoen - Thank you, certainly helps). Great breakfast, snacks and evening meals.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50_US_States_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#84 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#77 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Landstraße
Lindner Hotel Am Belvedere
Lindner Hotel Am Belvedere
#113 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#82 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel

Property: Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel
Address: Ungargasse 60, Vienna 1030, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Vienna
#92 Business Hotel in Vienna
#94 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#107 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a former military riding school from 1850, the neo-classical Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel is located conveniently to public transportation, the airport and famous attractions. The baroque Belvedere Palace with its impressive Klimt collection is just a short walk away. All guest rooms were renovated in 2013 and feature elegant design details, air-conditioning, high-speed Internet access, a large work space, 24-hour room service, a flat-screen TV and bed dressed with fluffy pillows, down duvets and crisp linens. This hotel offers numerous dining options throughout the day. Enjoy a full American breakfast buffet, sample traditional Austrian dishes and seasonal specialties at the rustic Arsenal; or sip cocktails late into the night at the Lobby Bar. The City Garden is host to the hotel's popular City Barbecue, where diners can enjoy chef favorites, grill on their own or just relax in the lounge. Both business and leisure guests will enjoy the indoor pool with adjacent sunbathing-area and the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vienna
Vienna Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing