We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel
Ranked #123 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week at a conference and for some "touristing". The hotel itself is very grand and imposing but as always it is the little things that let down. Whilst room was basically as expected it did not have those extra touched you would expect plus bed was not very comfortable and A/C was not very adjustable. The staff however were great. Restaurant served a good selection for breakfast - didn't eat in evenings as some walkable local pub/restaurants. Major bugbear for me "again" is the internet/ wifi - you have to pay for it everywhere! I'm sorry but no hotel should charge for this any more as if they put it in for the staff there is no/little extra cost to supply for guests - do hotels charge extra for using water, electricity and TV I don't think so! Also, it had been "billed" as central and is definitely not - takes taxi rides of Euro8-10 each way to get to central Vienna. Nothing really bad but the acid test is would I stay here again when visiting Vienna ... No, as there better hotels at similar prices that are actually in central Vienna.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldbolter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Drobig, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel for your last visit at Vienna and for taking your time to share the experiences you gained.

We have learnt that you enjoyed your stay with us, although some amenities and services did not meet your expectations and needs. A few issues occurred.

As you mentioned the little things do make a difference and that is the reason why we take your feedback seriously to improve our standards and services accordingly.

On behalf of the entire team we would like to state our sincere apologies on all inconveniences caused.
As the past cannot be changed, we do remain in the hope that you accept our apologies and that we are able to welcome you back at our hotel to make your next stay with us a memorable and unforgettable one.

With kind regards,

Alexandra Drobig
Guest Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Normally when I go away with my husband I let him write the hotel reviews I, but there were several things that disappointed me about this hotel. Stayed in the main hotel. Yes the room was good and the bed was comfortable, but I found the room overheated and couldn't get the temperature set any lower. No bathrobes or slippers were provided. The pool area was OK but the temperature of the water was on the chilly side, and care was required when walking round the pool as it got very slippery when wet. In addition use of the steam room and sauna was not free - a charge of 7.50 euros was levied for each use.
There was no free Wi Fi anywhere in the hotel not even in the business centre, and when used it was very slow.
The breakfast buffet was however excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold food.
Taxi to the state opera took about 5-10 minutes and the cost varied between 9-12 euros each way depending on traffic and the route taken.

Room Tip: Maybe the executive floor or the other wing would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Drobig, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you and your husband for choosing the Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel for your visit in Vienna and for taking you time to share your experiences gained with us on tripadvisor.

Unfortunately we have become aware that you were unable to enjoy your stay with us to the fullest due to an overheated room. You were disappointed from the pool area and the offered service.

On behalf of the entire team we would like to state our sincere apologies on all inconveniences caused. The service you received is not the Renaissance way to take care of our guests as we strive to create extraordinary hotel experiences for them. We would like to let you know that we have shared your feedback with the entire team.

To change the past is unfortunately not possible. We can only learn from it for the future.
We would be more than delighted to welcome you back at our hotel to persuade you of our friendliness and professionalism and to make your next stay with us a memorable and unforgettable one.

With kindest regards,

Alexandra Drobig
Guest Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights to celebrate our birthday in Vienna. We booked a basic room, but it was very elegant, classy and comfy. Classical dark decor, but it really fit the style of the hotel.
The breakfast was excellent - big breakfast buffet including warm dishes, freshly baked pancakes, etc. - the breakfast area in the garden is very nice too. Great service.
The location is alright but could be better...we didn't care, because we really came because of the hotel, but for tourists there might be places closer to the interesting parts of Vienna.
Only minus: the pool is really quite small and get's crowded easily. The pictures on the homepage make one think, it was much larger and classier, but it's really rather old-school and small. The pool was one of the main reasons for us to book the hotel, but we only spent like 15 minutes there... but the breakfast and the rest was really great. Also, the hotel sent us a bottle of champagne to our room as a birthday gift. That was really nice and thoughtful! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunny_on_a_mission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Just stayed here for the second time. The hotel has a main building where reception, the heated indoor pool, fitness center, restaurant and all the old (but recently renovated) rooms are. Just across their private driveway (20 steps away) is their new building which houses their executive lounge and modern, luxurious rooms. You should ONLY book and stay in that new building.

Do not be fooled by their "junior suite" in the main building, it is smaller than some of the rooms in the executive wing! All the rooms in the main building have shower/tub combo, all the rooms in the executive wing have large walk in rain showers. Also don't be fooled with "executive lounge access" rooms, they are in the old building and just give you access to the lounge.

In the new building is their very large, very well designed executive lounge. Breakfast is typical Marriott executive lounge. In addition they have free snacks, soft drinks and beer all day long. They have a free dinner for a couple of hours at night with cheap sekt and cheap wine also free.

Room Tip: Ask for room 913. The 800 rooms are the first floor of the new building, the 900 rooms are the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seaside_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Place of the hotel is good, close to the main center. Easy to reach and the hotel itself is a friendly hotel. Especially ladies at reception and waiters in the main restaurant and lobby bar is perfect. Only gap is the house keeping. They like to start very early. Also there are 50+ rooms at the same floor and 3 elevators so if you are staying at the corner, for timing you should take care.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Temizcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterLorenz, General Manager at Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear sir/madam,

First of all we would like to thank you for your visit at The Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel and for taking your time to share the experiences you’ve gained with us on tripadvisor.
Your feedback is very valuable to us and we appreciate the chance you are giving us to respond.

We have learnt that you were satisfied with the service you received from the reception and restaurant staff, but unfortunately you felt disturbed by the housekeeping department. You reported that they started working really early in the morning.

On behalf of the entire team we would like to state our sincere apologies on all inconveniences caused.

Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with the entire team and that we talked to the housekeeping department to ensure a quiet atmosphere at our hotel.

Unfortunately we cannot change the past but only learn from it for the future. Let us state once more our sincere apologies on all inconveniences caused. We do remain in the hope that you accept our apologies and that we are able to welcome you back.

Sincerely yours,


Alexandra Drobig
Guest Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I spent one night here on a work trip. The hotel is nice and quite comfortable. It seemed like a lot of business travelers. The staff were very friendly.

The biggest qualm our group had was the lack of wireless internet in the rooms. I was in the first room of the elevator (706) and I was able to get a signal but if you were further down the hall, I guess the signal was too weak and you have to plug in an Ethernet wire to get service.

As for the location, it was about 25 minutes from the airport. We took taxis everywhere, so I don't really know what's walking distance from the hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This is my second time at the Imperial Riding school. This is a fabulous hotel. The new wing and the lounge in it are just great. The room I got was brand-new, very stylish, very comfortable, and Spacious. Easy to get around on public transportation from the hotel. This is my hotel of choice in Vienna.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Steven123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#69 of 359 in Vienna
1,145 reviews
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#62 of 359 in Vienna
1,842 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#73 of 359 in Vienna
2,976 reviews
Inner City
Grand Ferdinand - Your Hotel In The City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel

Address: Ungargasse 60, Vienna 1030, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Vienna
#92 Business Hotel in Vienna
#93 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#107 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £83 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a former military riding school from 1850, the neo-classical Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel is located conveniently to public transportation, the airport and famous attractions. The baroque Belvedere Palace with its impressive Klimt collection is just a short walk away. All guest rooms were renovated in 2013 and feature elegant design details, air-conditioning, high-speed Internet access, a large work space, 24-hour room service, a flat-screen TV and bed dressed with fluffy pillows, down duvets and crisp linens. This hotel offers numerous dining options throughout the day. Enjoy a full American breakfast buffet, sample traditional Austrian dishes and seasonal specialties at the rustic Arsenal; or sip cocktails late into the night at the Lobby Bar. The City Garden is host to the hotel's popular City Barbecue, where diners can enjoy chef favorites, grill on their own or just relax in the lounge. Both business and leisure guests will enjoy the indoor pool with adjacent sunbathing-area and the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vienna
Vienna Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing