We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, reliable, but a little out of town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel
Ranked #124 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Wales
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean, reliable, but a little out of town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a good, clean, medium-end hotel. As one would expect, the food and drinks were excellent and the service fine. It was a good 20 min walk to the centre of town but there was a tram stop nearby (10 min ride) and taxis were only c. €8 each way. Very good breakfast. Room ok but a little small for 2. Would certainly use it again of needed. A typical hotel from this company.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriceTheOrgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    505
    212
    75
    23
See reviews for
248
425
66
326
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The interior of the hotel is very nice. The room spacy with big soft bed, clean and well equipped. Breakfast is interesting with diversity of products and the lounge is nice to stay. However, personnel is doing just what is required and no more (for example we were not helped with a restaurant reservation), the sleep is not very good as we have noise especially from other rooms and last but not least WiFi is unavailable in rooms and cable internet is costly. I always feel bad for hotels that do not provide internet service free to their clients and this will determine my review. If you are not interested in net connection the place is nice and worth visiting. I wanted to put 3 stars because of the internet but I feel I would misjudge the rest of the hotel...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel close to the Belvedere Gardens and 20 minutes walk from the centre or a short tram journey. Number 71.

In all respects this is a five star establishment but unfortunately we had appalling service for our evening meal orgaised as a group booking by our tour company. Afterwards the bar service was non-existent and we had to ask to be served after we had been seated in front of the bar for about 45 minutes.

However we would definitely recommend this hotel for business or vacatioon stays.

Unfortunately the atmosphere during the late afternoon and evening was totally ruined by an outside disco pounding heavy metal/rap music which went on for several hours but fortunately finished at 10.00pm.

The hotel management obviously have little regard for other paying guests when such events take place as the noise permeated every part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Check whether there is an outside event before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here 20/22 May 2014 and loved everything about the Hotel ... in particular the beds - had the best night's sleep in a hotel in a long time. Breakfast is excellent. Staff are helpful and courteous.
However, this is another of those hotels that doesn't believe we are living in the 21st century. They were charging €15 a day for wifi. There was no free wifi anywhere in the hotel ... there was free wifi in a bus I took outside the hotel, but not in the Renaissance. I brought it to the attention of the reception staff who said they were reviewing their policy. I hope they will move with the times ... or maybe they will decide to start charging guests for water and electricity in their rooms!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLANTA,GA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Our room (in the newer part) was very spacious and immaculate (bathroom is great). The service was wonderful. We had breakfast, cocktails and evening snacks included. The food was plentiful, convenient, and very good.
The location is outside of the "ring", but walkable to the "ring stop" in nice weather and also, located close to the s7 line which can bring you right into the city center.

Room Tip: Old building is prettier. New building can accomodate an extra bed. We had a queen/king but added a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMSEACOAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just had my second enjoyable tourist stay at this hotel and I can recommend it.
Location is in a quiet well maintained neighbourhood close to the city centre (2 tram stops) and there are excellent restaurants to cover most tastes within in walking distance.

Reception area very attractive, rooms are sufficiently spacious, well furnished and have big beds. Customer service excellent. Also has a relaxing bar area.

Access and cost 0f wi-fi well documented by others and it is the only issue letting the hotel down.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pendlerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I had big hopes to stay at this Marriott property however was quite disappointed. The hotel looks nice from the outside but the rooms are pretty old, rooms were big though. The safe (a model of maybe 20 years ago) had a sheet of paper with the most unprofessional instructions on how to use it. I guess the housekeeper wrote her notes on it and then made 20 copies to be put into the safes.

Also I thought all Marriott properties had free internet in the lobby... I guess this one does not participate!

Breakfast was very average and served really bad filter coffee.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FKOEL411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Drobig, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Freddy K,

Thank you for your time to tell us about your stay at the Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel.

Unfortunately we have learnt that you were quite disappointed with our hotel, since we were unable to fulfill your needs and expectations.

Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies on all inconvenience caused.
The service you received is not up to our standards and not the Renaissance way to take care of our guest’s as we strive to create extraordinary hotel experiences for them.
We certainly shared your feedback with the entire team.

Furthermore we are delighted to inform you that we will have free Wi-Fi available in the lobby starting June 1st, 2014.

Dear Freddy K, we do remain in the hope that we are able to welcome you back at our hotel to make our next stay with us a memorable and unforgettable one.

With warm regards,

Alexandra Drobig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#84 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#76 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Landstraße
Lindner Hotel Am Belvedere
Lindner Hotel Am Belvedere
#111 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel

Property: Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel
Address: Ungargasse 60, Vienna 1030, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#90 Family Hotel in Vienna
#92 Business Hotel in Vienna
#107 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a former military riding school from 1850, the neo-classical Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel is located conveniently to public transportation, the airport and famous attractions. The baroque Belvedere Palace with its impressive Klimt collection is just a short walk away. All guest rooms were renovated in 2013 and feature elegant design details, air-conditioning, high-speed Internet access, a large work space, 24-hour room service, a flat-screen TV and bed dressed with fluffy pillows, down duvets and crisp linens. This hotel offers numerous dining options throughout the day. Enjoy a full American breakfast buffet, sample traditional Austrian dishes and seasonal specialties at the rustic Arsenal; or sip cocktails late into the night at the Lobby Bar. The City Garden is host to the hotel's popular City Barbecue, where diners can enjoy chef favorites, grill on their own or just relax in the lounge. Both business and leisure guests will enjoy the indoor pool with adjacent sunbathing-area and the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vienna
Vienna Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing