We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean rooms, very good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel
Ranked #127 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed several times in the last months. Breakfast is excellent with good choice and really nice stuff.
The rooms are nice and clean but no wi-fi and you have to pay way too much for the internet.
It has a small spa and a well-equipped fitness center. In the fitness room either the ventilation could be improved or more frequently cleaning would be needed, it’s always quite smelly.
Location is a bit far from the center but by car it’s quite easy to get there.
There are several nice restaurants nearby.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a back side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank La H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very nice hotel. Nice sized room for Europe! Very nice breakfast. Easy access using public transportation although the hotel is a few blocks up on the right off of the neulinggase stop on the O tram. No free internet/WiFi which was a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nansox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here in early May 2014. Reception is very nice, lobby is well furnished and inviting. I stayed on the 5th floor and had a nice view from my window. My room was very clean. Kingsize bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. The tv was a small console tv which was very disappointing. In a hotel of this size with the Renaissance name, I'd expect a larger flatscreen. I've had flat screens in much lesser quality hotels. There was no minibar but a mini fridge was available for any snacks you may have purchased. My room was very quiet even though I was located on main thoroughfare. WiFi is only available in the lobby which was another disappointment for a hotel of this caliber. They did offer 30 minutes free per 24 hrs which was nice. The buffet breakfast was very nice. There were options for anyone of any age. Fresh omelette and waffles were made to order. To wrap up on another positive note, upon checking out, my bill contained charges to my room at the restaurant bar which I never used. They were kind in dealing with this and removed the charges without hassle.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whippetguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a good, clean, medium-end hotel. As one would expect, the food and drinks were excellent and the service fine. It was a good 20 min walk to the centre of town but there was a tram stop nearby (10 min ride) and taxis were only c. €8 each way. Very good breakfast. Room ok but a little small for 2. Would certainly use it again of needed. A typical hotel from this company.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriceTheOrgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The interior of the hotel is very nice. The room spacy with big soft bed, clean and well equipped. Breakfast is interesting with diversity of products and the lounge is nice to stay. However, personnel is doing just what is required and no more (for example we were not helped with a restaurant reservation), the sleep is not very good as we have noise especially from other rooms and last but not least WiFi is unavailable in rooms and cable internet is costly. I always feel bad for hotels that do not provide internet service free to their clients and this will determine my review. If you are not interested in net connection the place is nice and worth visiting. I wanted to put 3 stars because of the internet but I feel I would misjudge the rest of the hotel...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel close to the Belvedere Gardens and 20 minutes walk from the centre or a short tram journey. Number 71.

In all respects this is a five star establishment but unfortunately we had appalling service for our evening meal orgaised as a group booking by our tour company. Afterwards the bar service was non-existent and we had to ask to be served after we had been seated in front of the bar for about 45 minutes.

However we would definitely recommend this hotel for business or vacatioon stays.

Unfortunately the atmosphere during the late afternoon and evening was totally ruined by an outside disco pounding heavy metal/rap music which went on for several hours but fortunately finished at 10.00pm.

The hotel management obviously have little regard for other paying guests when such events take place as the noise permeated every part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Check whether there is an outside event before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here 20/22 May 2014 and loved everything about the Hotel ... in particular the beds - had the best night's sleep in a hotel in a long time. Breakfast is excellent. Staff are helpful and courteous.
However, this is another of those hotels that doesn't believe we are living in the 21st century. They were charging €15 a day for wifi. There was no free wifi anywhere in the hotel ... there was free wifi in a bus I took outside the hotel, but not in the Renaissance. I brought it to the attention of the reception staff who said they were reviewing their policy. I hope they will move with the times ... or maybe they will decide to start charging guests for water and electricity in their rooms!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#61 of 359 in Vienna
1,913 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#67 of 359 in Vienna
1,192 reviews
Landstraße
Hilton Vienna
Hilton Vienna
#109 of 359 in Vienna
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel

Address: Ungargasse 60, Vienna 1030, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Vienna
#91 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#92 Business Hotel in Vienna
#105 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £64 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a former military riding school from 1850, the neo-classical Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel is located conveniently to public transportation, the airport and famous attractions. The baroque Belvedere Palace with its impressive Klimt collection is just a short walk away. All guest rooms were renovated in 2013 and feature elegant design details, air-conditioning, high-speed Internet access, a large work space, 24-hour room service, a flat-screen TV and bed dressed with fluffy pillows, down duvets and crisp linens. This hotel offers numerous dining options throughout the day. Enjoy a full American breakfast buffet, sample traditional Austrian dishes and seasonal specialties at the rustic Arsenal; or sip cocktails late into the night at the Lobby Bar. The City Garden is host to the hotel's popular City Barbecue, where diners can enjoy chef favorites, grill on their own or just relax in the lounge. Both business and leisure guests will enjoy the indoor pool with adjacent sunbathing-area and the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vienna
Vienna Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing