We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avarage hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Wien Hotel
Ranked #78 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Szeged, Hungary
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Avarage hotel”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Location is pretty good, parking avaliable but expensive. Room was clean and okay. Meeting room was hot, air conditioning was not really working, staff tried couple times but did not manage to fix. Windows were closed... Regarding breakfast and lunch, food was good, but not too much options. Soups were great !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denes222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Wien Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Denes S,

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Renaissance Wien Hotel and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We regret that there had obviously been some challenges with the air condition in the meeting room. Please rest assured that our engineering team has been able to fix the issue in the meanwhile.
Parking in Vienna is not cheap, I perfectly agree with you. However, compared to other car parks you will find that we are in the middle of the price range. Alternatively, free public parking spaces can be found in the vicinity of the hotel (Monday – Friday: 7 pm – 9 am, Saturdays and Sundays).

We sincerely hope that overall you have enjoyed your stay in Vienna. Thanks again for your constructive feedback and our entire team would be delighted to take care of you again on a future occasion.

with kind regards from Vienna,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    483
    154
    44
    23
See reviews for
166
374
71
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel is not in the expensive, lavish, over-priced heart of Vienna. It is 5 metro stops away, so about 10 minutes give-or-take. It is totally worth the 10 minutes to have an amazing rate and be out of the hub.
It has an enclosed pool on the roof with an entire spa - very very nice.
The breakfast buffet could not be beat. I don't know the cost, it is included with Gold status with Marriott. But it was the nicest breakfast I've seen. A huge selection including 5 or 6 kinds of juice, an omelet station, 10 kinds of meats, 10 kinds of breads, 10 kinds of fruit, you name it, they had it. Amazing. Worth whatever it cost.
With a kid this was ideal.
The metro is across the street, the green line U4, and has an elevator so if you have a stroller (like we did) it is no problem. The metro comes every 3 or 5 minutes during the main day hours so you hardly wait at all. Quick and painless.
The staff is also excellent. Our room was spotless and they even had a toy and bedtime story in the crib for our little guy. There was a mini-fridge as well.
And the price was fantastic - way cheaper than the other hotels in the heart of Vienna.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trvladdictsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Overall
Service - No problems in communication, all staff speaks English. Reception staff were patient and friendly enough to explain on directions to the nearest car rental and possible day trips from Vienna.

Location - 30 mins by taxi from airport (~€40). 7 stations via U-bahn to Karlsplatz, 1 station away from Schonbrunn palace. U-bahn is directly opposite the hotel. For the price/night, I would say that this hotel is a very good deal.

Facilities - It's true.... The hotel does have some history both on the outside and within. Furniture and decorations are dated and in need of a revamp. Read somewhere before my trip that these changes will come soon. Looking forward to the update for future trips to Vienna.

Heated indoor rooftop pool is small but enjoyable in the cold weather. If only the window panels are cleaner, the city view would have been more visible.

Street noise is minimum (room at level 6) and overall hotel cleanliness is good. Wifi which is included in room rate requires login after period of inactivity.

Food - Same breakfast selections every morning typical of most European hotels. Simple but good.

Limited options around hotel in the evening for dinner. There is a friendly traditional Austria restaurant next to the hotel, a bar opposite diagonally, a Japanese sushi bar and some deli(s) at the U-bahn station. The "ring" would have much more selections to choose from.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxim_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

As a Marriott Rewards member and looking for a hotel out of the tourist-trap centre, I booked this hotel for 2 nights, thinking that the price was too good to miss and particularly as I get free breakfast and internet anyway. About 5 stops (8 minutes) from Karlsplatz on the U4 line, the hotel is a 2 minute walk from the station at Meidling Hauptstrasse and one stop from the famous Schönbrunn Palace. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is not that much to look at from the outside and looks a bit dated. Inside it is all dark wood and slightly worn carpets. I was allocated a room on the 6th floor looking towards the city, which was of a fair size, although the fixtures and fittings were a bit 'tired' and the old CRT TV made me smile. The bathroom was acceptable with a few tile cracks here and there but, for the money, no bad thing. Internet connection was good and I was able to download easily, although there was a need to keep logging back in, which proved wearisome. The lack of a hospitality tray was already known, which tends to be common practice throughout most European hotels. There was a minibar fridge, which was empty but could be stocked at OK prices from the on-site shop next to reception. Armchair and bed were comfortable and I slept well despite the somewhat noisy AC system (turn it off at night if I were you!).
Breakfast was an absolute joy to behold and offered a very varied selection to suit all tastes. If you can't find anything you enjoy for breakfast here, you are beyond pleasing! As I prefer to eat outside the hotel I didn't partake of lunch or dinner here but the menu looked good and varied. I recommend you hunt out a place called "Herzogs Wirtshaus" about 0.5m from the hotel towards the Schönbrunn Palace - you won't be disappointed for dinner!
The fitness room was unfortunately very cramped and I was surprised at the lack of a cross-trainer. There are however 5 bikes and some weight machines but no water fountain, which was inconvenient but there is a bar next door. The panorama pool on the 7th floor was great and I managed a morning swim on both mornings, even better as I had it all to myself.
The biggest positive I took from this hotel and something that puts all the negatives in the shade is the attitude of every single member of staff with whom I came into contact. Reception staff, waiters, waitresses, cleaners, concierges, greeters, bar staff, just everyone made my stay first class. Friendly, professional, caring, helpful, prepared to go the extra mile and just plain marvellous. I cannot praise them enough and made sure I informed the management upon departure. As a regular business traveller in Western Europe, I stay in many hotels of both the Marriott and other brands and seldom do I experience such dedication from the staff.
See past the tired building and warm to the people there to serve you, which, for me, makes a stay that much better!
Well done the people of the Renaissance Wien, I will return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex Junction, Vermont, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Easily accessible by metro (which is right across the street). Excellent breakfast buffet with helpful staff members all the time. Rooms are slightly dated and need some renovating however the sleep quality was great. Even though this specific Renaissance hotel it is not up the usual Renaissance Hotel chain standards still, it was a great experience which we truly enjoyed. Spent whole week there with my husband, and yes we will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The rooms are modern and overall comfortable. The breakfast buffet was great and fortunately, there was never a wait.
The staff was knowledgeable and helpful.
The only thing negative about this hotel is that there is nothing around it. Yes, the train station is across the street for you to use during the day, but if all you wanted was to end a great day by grabbing a couple of beers and then walking back to the hotel, you're out of luck.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Just spent a weekend there with my family. Extremely warm welcome from courteous staff. Reception, bar and restaurant without exception. Slightly outside city centre but easy access with underground station across street. We will return.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ColinJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 362 in Vienna
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Hietzing
Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Wien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Wien Hotel

Property: Renaissance Wien Hotel
Address: Ullmannstrasse 71, Vienna 1150, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#56 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#100 Family Hotel in Vienna
#102 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#106 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Wien Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Rocking Baroque Hotel near Schönbrunn, the Renaissance Wien Hotel. Guest rooms, bathrooms and common areas have been completely redesigned and a new restaurant concept was implemented. The well-known pink facade was replaced by a modern and distinctive one, representing the relaunch from outside. Hotel facilities include 305 guest rooms and suites, a fitness centre with sauna, and an innovative restaurant that offers a culinary journey from Paris over Vienna to Constantinopel. The modern function meeting rooms provide the ideal place for meetings and weddings in Vienna. The Renaissance Wien Hotel offers the perfect location for exploring Vienna: Schönbrunn Palace is just a short walk away. The subway offers fast access to the city centre, Stadthalle or Westbahnhof train station. Book your stay already today and be one of the first explorers at the Renaissance Wien Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Wien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vienna
Vienna Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing