We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, price and most of all amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Wien Hotel
Ranked #74 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Location, price and most of all amazing staff”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

What a find…part of the Marriot chain, this hotel stood out as being amazing in terms of location as its literally across the road ( 1 min) from the U4 ( Green Line) Metro station called Meidling Hauptstrasse - the austrian metro network is so efficient that you have trains coming every 4 mins and you get into old town Vienna in less than 10 mins.The hotel is a 8 mins walk away from the beautiful summer seat of the Hapsburgs - The Schonbrunn Palace. Breakfast was amazing with all sorts of hots foods, wide variety of fruits, cereals, yoghurts, Breads, pastries, cold cuts, and they even had a live food stations for eggs which is not something you get everywhere. A special shout out to Front Office Manager Hannes who was not only gave us fabulous rooms overlooking the inner courtyard which afford views of Vienna whilst maintaining the serenity of quiet with the birds chirping in the courtyard- Hannes went out of how way and recommended our itinery…we followed it and it turned out to be perfect - as we arrived late afternoon..he suggested doing the Schonbrunn Palace that evening before sundown and then sent us to this beautiful hidden away "non touristy" restaurant behind the Am Hof in Vienna called Brezl Gwolb ( which means Pretzel Basement)…we had the best soft freshly baked Pretzels with light Austrian Beer, followed by lip smacking Wiener Shnitzel and a fresh Asparagus salad!! We checked out to go to Budapest and rebooked our last night in Vienna at the Renaissance..this hotel literally became home for us. Spent the last day using their panoramic rooftop pool, sauna and sunroof. In terms of getting here from the airport its quick and inexpensive ( 14 Euros for the CAT Train from the Airport which also includes all public transportation for a day…the CAT ride is a non stop 16 min ride to Landstrasse Station where you get off and change into the Green Metro Line U4 bound towards Hutteldorf ) In all you get from airport to hotel in 20 mins.

Room Tip: As for a courtyard room on a high floor away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndaluciaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    508
    158
    47
    25
See reviews for
177
408
74
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yankton, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Room was dusty and small. Room was very dated. Bathroom even more dated. Bed wasn't what I expected from a Marriott affiliated brand hotel and wasn't very comfortable. This hotel wasn't worth the price being charged. It's in serious need of renovations and better food for breakfast. Staff was uninterested in guest feedback. At least from me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cxbonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Wien Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Cxbonne,

Many thanks for giving us feedback and sharing your impression with us. Usually we are well-known for our friendly staff. We are very sorry if we failed to do so this time. We regret that we could not meet your expectations regarding breakfast during your stay and we definitely will discuss this matter within our team for further improvements. We agree that the Renaissance Wien Hotel is at present not the very up to date hotel within the Marriott family. However, we kindly ask you for some patience. By the end of next spring you will not recognize the hotel. You will experience a totally new renovated, stylish “new” Renaissance Wien Hotel with all the comfort you may expect from a Marriott branded Hotel. We will be delighted to have the chance to take care of you again.

Many thanks again for your comments and your kind understanding,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our 1st trip to Vienna, the hotel itself is of a good standard, also the food in the Restaurant is nice. I had no complaints with the breakfast itself, the only thing was it took the staff a longtime to clear tables, But other than that I would come back to this hotel again. Many Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuggster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Located near the Summer palace and across the metro which is nice. The area itself isn't noisy so you get a good night sleep. The lobby itself is very nice the staff is quite helpful. The hotel doesn't not carry free 30 mins wifi for every 24 hours as I was told. If you decided to use the hotel wifi there are different selections for you to choose and you will have to pay for each device you use. I purchased the 2 hours for 9€ wifi. Afterwards I decided to just purchase a SIM card for 9€ that I can use for all my devices opening my hotspot for the next 3 days. The bed for my room was lumpy. You can literally see how the previous guest slept in but the bed was big. The sockets were far away from me and the bathroom was decent. Breakfast, the staff wasn't really pleasant when they asked if I would like coffee they looked moody. Selections of food was just okay. Overall, it is okay just no free wifi. If you can bare without the free wifi.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kittycheungkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Wien Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Kittycheungkm,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your observations and your constructive criticism on TripAdvisor. Your comments regarding our helpful front desk staff have been shared with the team and they really appreciated your feedback. We can assure you that our breakfast servers are usually really guest orientated as well. However, on this occasion we have obviously not met your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences this experience caused you. We will certainly follow up on this as it is our main priority to ensure that our guests feel comfortable during their stay with us.

We were also sorry to learn that you were not entirely happy with our facilities. With regards to this matter we have some good news for you: The hotel will go through a full renovation which includes the replacement of the guest room furniture and an update on the wifi network and service. We hope that the 30 min free wifi service which is currently available in the lobby area, will then be extended as well.

Let us express that we are still at your service in case any comments remained unsaid or further questions may arise. We hope that we will get the chance to welcome you on a future occasion to show you the new look of the Renaissance Wien Hotel. On behalf of the entire staff we will be delighted to take care of you again.

Thanks for your understanding and best regards from Vienna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The friendly, accommodating, and caring staff is the key takeaway here. Location is across the street from public transportation, which is a big plus. The rooms are basic: simple and a bit dated. But, you should not be spending time in your room! Get out and enjoy the city! Upon return, enjoy the always comfortable bedding the Renaissance provides. Breakfast was great with a large selection of buffet items. A special acknowledgement to Mr Hannes at the front desk: extremely helpful and professional.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is nice, but not perfect. The location is just across the street from a metro stop (which is just one stop from the Schoenbrunn palace stop). The hotel is not downtown, but is easily reached by metro. Positives include the breakfast, which is extensive, the friendly staff and the comparatively low rates. I also had dinner in the bar, and the food was fine. Rooms are dated, but clean, and I did not notice anything that was worn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemonhead1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam, netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Renaissance Vienna has decent sized, clean rooms. The staff is very, very friendly and they serve an excellent breakfast. The location is great, right across from the subway station. Trains run every 4 minutes and take you either right into the city centre or the other way to Schonbrunn. We took a three day Vienna card for 19,50 euro and travelled all across town by subway and tram.
The hotel is a bit older, so at some points the rooms show their age (some tears in the curtains and some chips on the mirror, no flat screen and a bit to few points to charge cellphones etc.). But this didnot bother us at all. Overall the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the atmosphere in the hotel is great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#36 of 360 in Vienna
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Hietzing
Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna
Hotel Lucia
#54 of 360 in Vienna
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Wien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Wien Hotel

Property: Renaissance Wien Hotel
Address: Ullmannstrasse 71, Vienna 1150, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#55 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#100 Family Hotel in Vienna
#102 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#106 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Wien Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Rocking Baroque Hotel near Schönbrunn, the Renaissance Wien Hotel. Guest rooms, bathrooms and common areas have been completely redesigned and a new restaurant concept was implemented. The well-known pink facade was replaced by a modern and distinctive one, representing the relaunch from outside. Hotel facilities include 305 guest rooms and suites, a fitness centre with sauna, and an innovative restaurant that offers a culinary journey from Paris over Vienna to Constantinopel. The modern function meeting rooms provide the ideal place for meetings and weddings in Vienna. The Renaissance Wien Hotel offers the perfect location for exploring Vienna: Schönbrunn Palace is just a short walk away. The subway offers fast access to the city centre, Stadthalle or Westbahnhof train station. Book your stay already today and be one of the first explorers at the Renaissance Wien Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Wien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vienna
Vienna Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing