We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredibly comfortable beds and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Wien Hotel
Ranked #74 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“incredibly comfortable beds and great location”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is nice, basic and very comfortable. The rooms are very simple a but the beds are amazing and very comfortable and the pillows feel like clouds. The bathrooms also simple, but in a city like Vienna you don't want to be wasting time in your hotel room anyway. So its really has all the essentials and is very comfortable. nothing fancy. The location is great, its not city centre but the U Bahn metro station is not even a minute walk from the hotel and only takes about 5 minutes to get to Stephansplatz. The Schoenbrunn palace is also only one metro stop away from the hotel. The staff are very friendly and the bar has a great range of cocktails which are nicely affordable and are great from a before you hit the town session. only issue was there is no free wifi, which in 2014 I believe all hotels should provide wifi. Nonetheless a very comfortable stay and could not argue with the fantastic beds and great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomasfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    508
    158
    47
    25
See reviews for
177
408
74
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at the Renaissance Wien last week for one night. The hotel is located within easy walking distance to Schoenbrunn palace and the subway. The service was excellent--as a Marriott Gold Elite member, I received a complimentary bottle of wine as well as a complimentary full breakfast in the restaurant (far superior to the continental breakfast typically offered in the executive lounge at Marriott properties). I easily found free overnight parking on one of the side streets. The only downside to this hotel was that the furnishings were quite dated, although still comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is in a suburb, so it is close to the city centre only by the underground (U-Bahn). The hotel itself, including the furniture in the rooms is very tired. There is a not-very-nice-smell in the 3rd floor hallway area. I think it's coming from the carpets or because this area is not airy enough. On the plus side, the staff is really friendly. The bed was comfy, the room was clean. I didn't have breakfast, so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Wien Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear filiztaylanyuzak,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community, regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciated your comments about our friendly team and the convenient location of the underground station which is right in front of the hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the inconvenient smell which you experienced in our hallways. Due to strong rainfall during the last two weeks, the air humidity in Vienna was extraordinarily high and this naturally affected the air in our building as well. Please rest assured that this is rather unusual and that such a condition has never occurred before.

With regard to our tired décor, we are happy to inform you that we will start a renovation which will cover all areas of the hotel in September. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our “new hotel” then.

With best regards from Vienna!

Evelyn Harton
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel smell like garbage, ugly carpet, unprofessional front desk, amenities were a mess and dirty. Room was OK but they charged ~$40 for parking in hotel garage. Just waste of pressious time and money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ayahya2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Wien Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Atooftip tripadvisor,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Renaissance Wien Hotel. We sincerely regret that we could not fully meet your expectations. It is our first priority to make our guests feel comfortable and try to react on spot if they need assistance.

What the parking fee is concerned there are quite strict parking regulations all over Vienna. However, parking is still free in the vicinity of the hotel between 7 pm and 9 am during weekdays and from Friday 7 pm until Monday 9 am. The fee in the hotel garage ranges at the lower end of the local fees. We kindly ask you for your understanding.

We are happy to inform you that a total property improvement will start in autumn. We are sure that you will enjoy the new style then. Dear guest, we cannot revoke your experiences, however we will be delighted to welcome you again at the Renaissance Wien Hotel to convince you of our usual service.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here three nights and would recommend it. It is in a nondescript suburb but travel in and out of the cente of Vienna is no problem given the efficient Metro system and the hotel is convenient for Schonbrunn. It's a good standard business/tourist hotel. A number of reviewers have commented on the outdated decor but our room was fine. Comfortable bed, good bathroom and nothing shabby or worn about the furniture or decor. Everything was very clean. Our 4th floor room faced the main road and while traffic noise wasn't really a problem, light sleepers might want to be on the other side of the hotel. Internal soundproofing was great. We had a room only deal and we thought the charge for the buffet breakfast was a bit expensive so we went to cafes in Meidling High Street (just a few minutes walk on the other side of the Metro line) which proved a good alternative. We would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room but there was a small fridge to keep things in. Staff were friendly and efficient. There are some good traditional restaurants in the area - Quell in particular. If you are going to Schonbrunn in the morning get there early as it soon gets busy !

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper avoid the rooms facing the main road or go for the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilwyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

What a find…part of the Marriot chain, this hotel stood out as being amazing in terms of location as its literally across the road ( 1 min) from the U4 ( Green Line) Metro station called Meidling Hauptstrasse - the austrian metro network is so efficient that you have trains coming every 4 mins and you get into old town Vienna in less than 10 mins.The hotel is a 8 mins walk away from the beautiful summer seat of the Hapsburgs - The Schonbrunn Palace. Breakfast was amazing with all sorts of hots foods, wide variety of fruits, cereals, yoghurts, Breads, pastries, cold cuts, and they even had a live food stations for eggs which is not something you get everywhere. A special shout out to Front Office Manager Hannes who was not only gave us fabulous rooms overlooking the inner courtyard which afford views of Vienna whilst maintaining the serenity of quiet with the birds chirping in the courtyard- Hannes went out of how way and recommended our itinery…we followed it and it turned out to be perfect - as we arrived late afternoon..he suggested doing the Schonbrunn Palace that evening before sundown and then sent us to this beautiful hidden away "non touristy" restaurant behind the Am Hof in Vienna called Brezl Gwolb ( which means Pretzel Basement)…we had the best soft freshly baked Pretzels with light Austrian Beer, followed by lip smacking Wiener Shnitzel and a fresh Asparagus salad!! We checked out to go to Budapest and rebooked our last night in Vienna at the Renaissance..this hotel literally became home for us. Spent the last day using their panoramic rooftop pool, sauna and sunroof. In terms of getting here from the airport its quick and inexpensive ( 14 Euros for the CAT Train from the Airport which also includes all public transportation for a day…the CAT ride is a non stop 16 min ride to Landstrasse Station where you get off and change into the Green Metro Line U4 bound towards Hutteldorf ) In all you get from airport to hotel in 20 mins.

Room Tip: As for a courtyard room on a high floor away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndaluciaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yankton, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Room was dusty and small. Room was very dated. Bathroom even more dated. Bed wasn't what I expected from a Marriott affiliated brand hotel and wasn't very comfortable. This hotel wasn't worth the price being charged. It's in serious need of renovations and better food for breakfast. Staff was uninterested in guest feedback. At least from me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cxbonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Wien Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Cxbonne,

Many thanks for giving us feedback and sharing your impression with us. Usually we are well-known for our friendly staff. We are very sorry if we failed to do so this time. We regret that we could not meet your expectations regarding breakfast during your stay and we definitely will discuss this matter within our team for further improvements. We agree that the Renaissance Wien Hotel is at present not the very up to date hotel within the Marriott family. However, we kindly ask you for some patience. By the end of next spring you will not recognize the hotel. You will experience a totally new renovated, stylish “new” Renaissance Wien Hotel with all the comfort you may expect from a Marriott branded Hotel. We will be delighted to have the chance to take care of you again.

Many thanks again for your comments and your kind understanding,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#36 of 360 in Vienna
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Hietzing
Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna
Hotel Lucia
#54 of 360 in Vienna
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Wien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Wien Hotel

Property: Renaissance Wien Hotel
Address: Ullmannstrasse 71, Vienna 1150, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#54 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#100 Family Hotel in Vienna
#102 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#106 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Wien Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Rocking Baroque Hotel near Schönbrunn, the Renaissance Wien Hotel. Guest rooms, bathrooms and common areas have been completely redesigned and a new restaurant concept was implemented. The well-known pink facade was replaced by a modern and distinctive one, representing the relaunch from outside. Hotel facilities include 305 guest rooms and suites, a fitness centre with sauna, and an innovative restaurant that offers a culinary journey from Paris over Vienna to Constantinopel. The modern function meeting rooms provide the ideal place for meetings and weddings in Vienna. The Renaissance Wien Hotel offers the perfect location for exploring Vienna: Schönbrunn Palace is just a short walk away. The subway offers fast access to the city centre, Stadthalle or Westbahnhof train station. Book your stay already today and be one of the first explorers at the Renaissance Wien Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Wien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vienna
Vienna Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing