We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Ranked #74 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, great location”
Reviewed 4 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Vienna Marriot over the Easter holiday and very much enjoyed it. The hotel is centrally located, right across from Stadtpark, close to several metro and tram stations, and easy to get to from the airport via train and metro. The staff was very helpful and the rooms are what I expect of a Marriott hotel. I am a Marriott platium member, so I get access to the executive lounge and also get breakfast at no additional costs which are very nice benefits. Both the lounge and the breakfast buffet were great, but if you have to pay seperately for the breakfast, it would have been expensive. The hotel also has a very good workout and the pool / hot tub facility which we used.
If we go back to Vienna, we will definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    651
    232
    64
    31
See reviews for
525
521
88
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weinfelden, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We would certainly have preferred something more traditional in Vienna. Not so easy with the kids, only the big chain hotels offer rooms for four. Novotel and Holiday Inn were about the same price but they are located outside the Ring and they are one category lower. Also, the indoor pool (27°C) was popular with the kids as was the big playground in the park opposite.

We asked for a room with a view and got one of the few larger rooms overlooking Palais Coburg. Very nice indeed, and quiet, too. Be aware that the Marriott has plenty of rooms overlooking a dull courtyard - to be avoided. Rooms are renovated but very plain, like one would expect at a Quality Inn or so. No robes, slippers, coffee maker, fruits, flowers, newspaper, turndown service – just the basics. I understand that some of the above items are available on request, but that’s kind of annoying. And yes, we also got no shampoo one day – looks the same as the bath gel bottle so mix-ups are not really surprising.

Breakfast was included in our rate. Otherwise, it’s 26 EUR for the full American version. Both selection and quality were adequate for a 5-star hotel. Nothing elaborate, selection of fresh fruits and bread could have been more extensive. Positive elements were the cheese board, Mehlspeisen (baked sweets) and the lovely, elegant venue overlooking the park.

All employees were not only friendly but also very professional, a rare find in today’s world. Tip: Discuss your Vienna plans with the concierge. She is selling tickets for some popular attractions where the lines to purchase tickets can be enormous.

All in all a pleasant hotel but nothing luxurious.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank faranghusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Just spent 3 days at the hotel the second week of April. The location is fantastic with easy access to everything in Vienna. Standard Marriott with all the American business hotel standards. Service was great especially at the hotel bar. Hotel is a little worn but good value for the space and location.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigGNorthVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Overall, an elegant hotel that fits in well with the rococo and Art Nouveau architecture in the city. My stay was comfortable and pleasant.

Many reviews of this hotel dwell on the basics--reception, cleanliness, proximity to city center, etc. I'll focus on elements that stood out for me.

Breakfast: I found the breakfast buffet to be disappointing. It had a nice selection of breads, rolls, and cereals, but the fruit was a mixed bag--apricots, pineapple, watermelon, and grapefruit were excellent; canteloupe and apples were insipid. My biggest issue was with the omelet bar, which is a nice touch. I eat egg white omelets, but the ones here were awful. Perhaps they didn't use real eggs, or maybe it had something to do with how they made them, but they were puffy, soft and wet. Comparable hotels have far superior buffets.

Gym: There is a room in the basement that is crammed with about 15 weight-training machines and perhaps 8 treadmills and other cardio machines. The mirrored walls make the place look larger. Space is used very efficiently, although when the gym is crowded, your neighbor may be very close to you. You can get a good workout with what they have, which includes dumbbells that range from about 10 lbs to 90 lbs. A very pleasant surprise, rarely seen in hotel gyms, is that they have a little coffee/smoothie bar. After one workout, I had a delicious strawberry smoothie with a protein supplement, for the reasonable price of 4.10 euros, or about $6.50.

Prices: The smoothie was one of few bargains. The souvenir shop is excellent---from key chains to Mozart music boxes to liqueur to full-size suitcases--but pricey. Its big downfall is that it doesn't sell water or other drinks, so you are forced to go to the bar, or, worse, the minibar for liquids after hours. One tiny bottle of water I took from the minibar cost $7.

Executive lounge: If you can swing it, get access to the executive lounge. An assortment of light and heavy fare and drinks are available all day, for no charge. I saw kids playing on hotel computers in that area too, and I think Web access is free.

All told, Vienna is a beautiful but costly city, and the Marriott is no exception. If you stay here, don't look to save pennies. Suck it up and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The only way to see the sky from our room was to open the window or press your face against the glass as it looked directly onto another building. We asked to move but no other rooms were available, we were told there might be another room available the following day but no one got back to us.I am sorry to say that this hotel is not really a 5 star hotel, there is no bath robes, slippers or any little extras that you might expect from a 5 star. We booked a deluxe room and we really thought that we had been given the wrong room but we were told that a "deluxe room" is actually a "standard room". On the plus side it is in a good location handy for the sites and the staff were very nice especially Martina who was serving at breakfast, she went out of her way to find out about the Spanish Riding School for us.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirl1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

This rating is influenced by the fact that I am a Platinum Member, and as such, I had access to the Executive Floor and Lounge.

Room - Room was very comfortable and spacious. We had room 714, on the executive floor, overlooking the Stadtpark at the front of the hotel. This room also has two double beds, upholstered chair, desk with wired internet (wired internet is free on the Executive Floor - wireless is available for an additional fee), a complimentary mini-bar in the room, and a fair sized washroom. The shower is European in style with a handheld spout, and the "shower curtain" comprised a small halfdoor of glass which didn't move. It took a while to be able to shower without flooding the rest of the room. The closet was well stocked with hangers, shelves, iron, safe and cabinets. There were no drawers in the room. Overall, it was a pleasant room which was a joy to return to after a long day. The addition of the turndown service was particularly appreciated. Treats ranged from chocolates to cookies to bath salts.

Location - This hotel is located directly on the main "ring road", opposite the Stadtpark. A tram stop for Tram #2 is immediately outside the hotel entrance, and two different U-Bahn stations (subway) were within a few blocks of the hotel. The area was clean and safe, with one of our return trips bringing us to the Stubentor station at 11:00pm, and we had no issues walking the few blocks from the station to the hotel. It is also walking distance to the Stephansdom historic area which has a lot of additional shopping and restaurants.

Hotel Extras - their fitness center seemed well-equipped, and the pool and whirlpool were nicely sized and never too crowded. Several Restaurants are on sight, and the room service menu was plentiful. The Executive Lounge was a great addition with food throughout the day - and most importantly, free access to beverages, including soft drinks, and espresso machine and alcoholic drinks in the evening. Since a bottle of coke can go for 2 to 3 euro in restaurants, the free drinks really came in handy. The gift shop was good sized, but nothing special available. Most significant was that they sold stamps for postcards to the US, so that was never an issue. Post box is also available within the hotel as well as money changing (although a money exchange bureau is also within walking distance). The concierge can also sell Vienna cards (well worth the fee for unlimited use of the public transportation network) and can provide train schedules, etc.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbadeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurgaon, india
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

very nice hotel. the location was great. its across from the statdpark which has the golden johann strauss statue. and has the tram going right past it. it has very nice coffee houses located nearby and is only a couple of stops away from the city hall which has the biggest xmas market. and from the parliament house too.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gitsmuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#79 of 360 in Vienna
2,888 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#23 of 360 in Vienna
701 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#35 of 360 in Vienna
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Landstraße
InterContinental Wien
InterContinental Wien
#70 of 360 in Vienna
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vienna Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna Marriott Hotel

Property: Vienna Marriott Hotel
Address: Parkring 12a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Vienna
#52 Family Hotel in Vienna
#54 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#63 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vienna Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vienna Marriott Hotel awaits you with warm Viennese geniality in an inviting and international atmosphere. Being situated in the heart of Vienna, all of the city's major attractions lie within walking distance and can easily be reached by foot. St. Stephen's Cathedral, the State Opera, theaters and numerous of the famous museums reveal themselves while you are strolling the elegant Ring Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vienna Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vienna
Vienna Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing