We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Ranked #73 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing Stay”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

------original review-------

Subject: Vienna Marriott Hotel
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe
Title: Disappointing Stay
ID#: 222925898

We stayed at the Vienna Marriott 20 years ago. It was a beautiful upscale hotel. Unfortunately it has not aged well and a total renovation would be well advised. Beds are sagging and the carpet is worn. Our bathroom counter was a dark brown material with stains. Marcus, an assistant manager did provide me with a better mattress when I complained, but that required a move to an even smaller inside room for the remaining 6 days of our stay. This month the hotel is filled with families who are allowing their children to run in the halls and slam doors at all hours. Families with numerous children take up most of the space in the executive lounge also making it a noisy and unpleasant place to be. The lobby is dark, unattractive and has several junky stores.
The breakfast buffet is so crowded that the line for eggs is impossibly long. Housekeeping services were very late and we often had to call to get the room made up. One little bar of soap was provided and we had to ask to get an extra one. We are gold level Marriott members and bottled water has always been provided in the room free of charge at other Marriotts. When we checked in we asked for a room facing the park but were told none were available. The attitude of the clerk was that we were lucky to get any room. True, we were staying on points but those points represent brand loyalty and money. Overall the hotel was certainly not up to 4 or 5 star standards. The hotel is well located and that's the best feature.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park have the best view. Try not to get a room facing the ugly inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 62redtag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    648
    232
    64
    31
See reviews for
525
512
88
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed with family for 3 nights. The location is excellent, staff is helpful, breakfast was very good. The rooms are large but look dated with old style furniture. There was musty smell in our room. The air condition was not cooling well. The room became warm and humid. Despite calling maintenance twice they were unable to fix it. The maintenance guy told us that the humidity was due to the humid weather in Vienna at that time...... "Seriously"!!. Finally on my trip a hotel with some English channels on TV. Coming back to Vienna in December won't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrShahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna_Marriott, Guest Relations Manager at Vienna Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

We very much appreciate the time you have taken to rate our hotel.
You indicated in your response that especially the condition of your room was unsatisfactory. Please accept our apologies if we did not fully meet your expectations this time. We are happy to inform you that we already have scheduled a total refurbishment of our rooms including bathrooms in 2015. It is in our interest to continue offering a high quality standard, product and service and we are glad to take your comments into consideration for further improvements,

Furthermore, we are very happy to hear that you also enjoyed your stay at the Vienna Marriott Hotel and we are grateful for your nice feedback in regards to the staff & service. Your kind words will encourage us to try even harder. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again in our hotel during your next trip to Vienna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I liked staying in this hotel, rooms were clean and spacious, view from the window onto the park was fantastic, opera house and park were within workind distance. I couldnt enjoy that as I was at a conference there. The lounge was excellent. You could have a very good breakfast and dinner. It is located at the heart of the city, staff was friendly and helpful, the hotel was very clean and neat, Wi-fi was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Rooms are ok, but stunning but marriott makes up for it with excellent service.
Good breakfast and a decent sized Gym downstairs. Very easy access to Vienna.
I have stayed here several times now and it´s very consistent. A bit expensive though.
I always add the business package which is wifi+breakfast. Shame wi-fi is not included in a business hotel....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joakimlundberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I recently had the pleasure to stay one evening at the Vienna Marriott hotel. It is located across from a park and walking distance to the Opera House. The staff was courteous and helpful. I ate dinner in the lobby restaurant/ bar and it was good - although the menu was a little limited. There are many restaurants within walking distance. The room and bathroom was updated and very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcalianno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Fairly centrally located but apart from the location i can give no credit to this hotel. Our family room was very small and not worth the money.We had a deluxe room but the room and the service was far from it. A major drawback were the dirty carpets throughout the hotel. The breakfast seemed great but the whole picture was destroyed when you got closer by....the food was covered daily by small insects and flies. The information given by the reception can not always be relied on. The night before check out reception told us they can call us a taxi to the airport costing 45 euro.They did call us a taxi but it charged us 70euro and it proved to be their own taxi service so dont be tricked. I would certainly not chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVI G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna_Marriott, Front Office Manager at Vienna Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear valued customer,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Vienna Marriott Hotel.
You indicated in your response that the cleanliness and the staff service at the front desk was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. Please be assured that trainings have been scheduled to prevent such incidents from reoccurring in the future.
We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel itself is what you would expect from Marriott- nice rooms, very clean and comfortable, but what set this Marriott apart for me was the service. From the front desk, to the executive lounge staff, and especially the concierge staff, everyone went above and beyond to ensure we had a comfortable stay. I need to especially recognize the concierges, Miriam and especially Evelyne who helped us resolve an issue with the airline over missing luggage. At this hotel the concierges help coordinate the retrieval of missing luggage from the airlines, but what happened here was that when our bags were delivered from the baggage service my wife's bag was delivered, but I was delivered someone else's bag. I brought the bag down to the lobby and Evelyne took charge of the matter for me, calling the airline, arranging for pickup of the bag, and getting them to expedite recovery and delivery of my bag. I am sure that by being able to speak to the airline people in German, she was much better able to resolve the problem than I could, and sure enough, my bag was located and delivered to the hotel that evening. It was very reassuring to know that the hotel was on my side in recovering the bag as it had been almost 2 days before I received it. Fortunately we were able to get it before we left Vienna, saving our vacation.

Otherwise, as others have noted, the hotel is in a very good location, across from Stadtpark, easy walk to the Opera, Stephensdom, shopping, and restaurants. The trams stopped outside the front door and you could buy a Vienna Transit Card from the hotel making them very easy to use. The hotel also provided a sheet of transit directions which made it very easy to get from the hotel to Belvedere Palace, Freud's house, Schoenbrun, and the like. Couldn't have been easier. Food and service in the Executive Lounge was very good, and special thanks to the morning staff who were always especially helpful to my wife's dietary needs.

I would definitely stay here again, should my travels bring me back to Vienna.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#81 of 360 in Vienna
2,881 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#23 of 360 in Vienna
698 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#35 of 360 in Vienna
1,217 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Landstraße
InterContinental Wien
InterContinental Wien
#71 of 360 in Vienna
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vienna Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna Marriott Hotel

Property: Vienna Marriott Hotel
Address: Parkring 12a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Vienna
#52 Family Hotel in Vienna
#53 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#63 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vienna Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vienna Marriott Hotel awaits you with warm Viennese geniality in an inviting and international atmosphere. Being situated in the heart of Vienna, all of the city's major attractions lie within walking distance and can easily be reached by foot. St. Stephen's Cathedral, the State Opera, theaters and numerous of the famous museums reveal themselves while you are strolling the elegant Ring Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vienna Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vienna
Vienna Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing