We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Stadthalle
Ranked #14 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This is a very, very good hotel. Truly.
Pluses: Clean room and great common areas, comfortably and newly decorated (no tired old upholstered chairs here). Good, solid breakfast. Sweet receptionists, all shifts. Very helpful and patient too.
Possible drawback: Distance from the city. Can't walk it under 45 minutes down crowded streets and while the subway was quick and convenient, it was still another 'step' when you went out. Easy walking distance from the train and subway.
The bathroom was a 'modular' that took up 1/5 of the room and was not too comfortable, though more than adequate. My husband called the shower the 'phone booth' and I called the toilet the 'latrine'. It was like stepping into a closet. Odd, and the plastic walls don't look like they will hold up over time. I guess time will tell. No exhaust fan.
Noisy street late at night and in pre-dawn when grocery store across the street has deliveries. We had a sound machine but had to keep windows open a little for some air, even in October.
Still, we liked the feel of the place very much. It's a conundrum for sure! Worth the rating simply because the people were so nice (which isn't always the case in Vienna for sure!) and because we were comfortable despite the drawbacks.
**If you need to get a taxi and ask reception to order one, specify a NON-SMOKING taxi. Ours was fog-like it was so smoky. Cold out but I had to have windows down. It made for a miserable 35 minute, 40euro drive to airport!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Stadthalle1, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear 30bliss,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are sorry the style of your bathroom did not meet your expectations. Our hotel offers both, rooms with a modern bathroom integrated in the room and rooms with a classic bathroom located behind an ordinary door that you can close:-). If you send us an email, we will note down in your file that you prefer a classic bathroom for future bookings.

All the bathrooms, modern or classic, have some sort of exhaust fan. In your case it was a room in our passive house. These rooms have an automatic airing system. Fresh air is constantly blown into the room (on the outside of the bathroom modular) while the "used" air is constantly taken from the room (located on the ceiling of the shower and the toilet). This goes without much of a noise, unlike the ordinary exhaust fans where you always get to hear whether it's switched on or not. We would like to apologise for the noise of the supermarket delivery.

Thank you for your compliments regarding the friendliness of our team, which we have already passed on to everyone. We hope we may welcome you again some time and wish you all the best for your future travels!;-)

Claudia Plot, Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    316
    60
    15
    4
See reviews for
228
677
113
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is a small, well maintained, environmentally friendly "boutique" hotel. Generally friendly staff and within easy walking distance to a very large metro station complex with a multitude of shops. Also reasonably close to restaurants and major shopping areas (again walking). A very small hotel room with an equally small toilet, shower and wash basin area. No bar fridge to keep your own drink in which probably isn't too much of a problem were it not for the totally ineffectual airconditioning!! We stayed during a period when the temperature was high 20s/low30s C which made the room unbearable to sleep in. We also heard a number of other guests complain about this. Open the windows and not much changes temperature wise, except for the outside noise level which is also a problem. The small desk fan was a nice gesture but really of no benefit. Bottom line - a nice small hotel, but really unliveable without any effective aircon in summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prado123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Stadthalle1, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Prado123,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We apologise that the temperature in your room was too warm during your stay. The last week of August and the first few days of September were very hot in Vienna and our passive house sometimes had difficulties to provide the ideal temperature in the rooms. This was due to the low level of ground water in our well during this period, which we need to provide a proper temperature in the room. We are aware that the situation was not ideal and we are currently studying improvements for next summer.

Regarding the mini bar we would like to mention that we are a zero-energy-balance hotel and that minibars do not quite fit the concept:-). The fact that we do not have minibars saves 21024kg CO2 per year. Drinks are available at our reception 24-7.

We hope we may welcome you again some other time, so you can check on our improvements:-)

Kind regards,
Claudia Plot - Quality management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

What a great hotel!

Located conveniently near a major train station and directly opposite a grocery store, this was a great place to stay in Vienna.
A city that is notoriously expensive, this hotel was worth every bit. Yes - its a little bit different, and has some very random features and decorations, but it all comes together very well in a hotel that is working towards zero emissions and being carbon friendly.

From our arrival very late at night, we were greeted by friendly smiles and laid back, helpful attitude. And that same friendly service was there every day of our 5 day stay.

We stayed in the "new" part of the hotel which is designed differently from the "old" part. The room was compact, but functional and the big windows were a real plus.
Decoration was great - nice and fun, without being ugly. Full block out curtains were great!
Beds were super comfy - I slept great every night.

Bathroom is an interesting "pod" in the room. The frosted glass doors mean its not 100% private, but its not see through at all - so don't worry.
The amenities were all good quality and eco-friendly too!

Breakfast is amazing! One of the best breakfasts I've ever seen in a hotel - and a large selection is also organic too! Real teas, home made spreads, fruit, and full continental spread. I really loved getting up for breakfast here.

Hotel is also built around a lovely central courtyard which was nice and cool in summer and stayed open late at night.
Add to that the free wifi and this is an excellent base in Vienna.

Only negatives - the supermarket across the road gets its deliveries early in the morning, so there was a brief period of being woken up by that noise each morning. Not a huge issue.
Only other thing - there is no fridge / mini-bar. Obviously, as an enviro conscious hotel, its makes sense to not do it, but I really like having a fridge to keep a beer in!

Don't waste your money staying in the centre of the old city. Stay here instead - it's great!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydney_CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

Fabulous (free) breakfast, great rooms, comfy beds, wonderfully helpful staff. The hotel is a short walk from the train station, but taking public transit was easy if you're used to it (from a big city.) The neighborhood around the train station had some nice restaurants and cafes. The grocery store across from the hotel was super convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Vienna is an expensive place for hotels, but this was worth every penny. Gorgeous rooms and the best breakfast we've ever had in a hotel - a selection of teas, fruits, cereals, breads etc all lovely and locally sourced. Normally we stick to B&Bs but this was all the friendly service and lovely food of a B&B but in a city hotel. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shadeofshyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

Reached Vienna after cycling from Passau and stayed at this hotel. Location is great and staff and facilities great. A bonus was 10% reduction for arriving by bicycle. Security of bicycle very good. The breakfast was excellent, even had real tea insteadf tea bags. Highly recommend.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Padraig47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We had a lovely stay in this hotel for our ten year anniversary. The rooms are clean and tidy and well appointed. Everything is well decorated and the staff is very accommodating. The breakfast can't be beat. They have a large spread of breads, eggs, and a yogurt and fruit station. This may very well be our most favorite hotel in the world. It was absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBomh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 360 in Vienna
2,226 reviews
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#25 of 360 in Vienna
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,404 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 360 in Vienna
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Stadthalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Stadthalle

Property: Boutique Hotel Stadthalle
Address: Hackengasse 20, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly Minotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vienna
#9 Business Hotel in Vienna
#16 Family Hotel in Vienna
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Stadthalle 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trendsetting combination of sustainability, design, and a touch of luxury: the world’s first hotel with a net zero energy balance is located in the heart of Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel Stadthalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutiquehotel Stadthalle Hotel Vienna
Boutique Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing