We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great city break base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boutique Hotel Stadthalle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Stadthalle
Ranked #13 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great city break base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

i stayed here for 3 nights with a friend - lovely little hotel, very chic and cool - energy neutral is a quirky bonus
5 mins from main rail station - a supermaket opposite, an italian and a croatian restaurant 2 mins away - otherwise you're a hefty walk/train ride away from the centre
breakfast included - fairly basic - no hot food, no toast... mainly organic breads, cheeses, hams and fruit.. plentiful but would have preferred some hot options and some croissants/pastries
bathroom is slightly curious, not a lot of privacy but lots of hot water and clean towels
really reasonable price, but would probably stay closer to centre if i returned

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rolly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    296
    57
    15
    3
See reviews for
214
629
106
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

What a place! The rooms are comfortable and the hotel clearly does much to promote its pro-environment claims - herbs growing in reception etc. I found the breakfast really good and the bar and staff helpful. I only knock it down as the room was a little dated, with the TV quite old but serviceable.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentofte, Denmark
Level Contributor
159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, at Stadthalle. Besides feeling good about ourselves since the hotel is energy neutral, the stay was also wonderful because of the biiig rooms, the service minded staff and the calm, even though our room was facing the street.
The hotel is placed very near to the Westbahnhoff, so even though it is not really close to the main museums etc. it is really easy to get there by S-bahn or U-bahn.
We can absolutely recommend this very reasonable priced hotel where you really get value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel was the last stop on our 16 day European tour and what a great way to end a wonderful trip. The hotel was very clean, modern, green, and inviting. The room was lovely and the view of the little courtyard and rooftop lavender garden was beautiful. The decor is very kitschy with a neo-modern flair yet the whole place still felt really The staff was amazingly sweet and gave us free coffee (which, by the way, was the best coffee we had all trip) and arranged a luxury taxi to airport for us that costed for 40 Euro total (cheaper than the airport bus). The Included breakfast was amazing and had loads of organically produced breads, fruits, nuts, cheeses and meats - and more of our favorite coffee. It is one tram ride to the city center which at the time costs 2.40 Euros (Westbahnhof stop) and it pics up and drops off right at the end of the street. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Vienna!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorinneReif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. It's location near the Westbahnhof made it easy to get where ever we wanted to go. We bought a parking permit from the hotel and parked on the street (we never used our car once we arrived). The room was small but clean and comfortable. Be forewarned that we had glass doors for the toilet and separate shower so privacy was lacking. The staff was most friendly and helpful.

We did have a problem with a bad odor coming from the shower when we first checked in but it went away after we used the shower.

Contrary to some recommendations we had read, we bought a 72-hour, 2 person transit ticket and found it to be well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJO72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We (family of three-kid 12 years) came to Vienna to attend a concert in Stadhalle. Hotel is 5 minute walk from there, so it is ideal to walk back to Hotel after concert (midnight). Even if you want to explore central Vienna it is not too bad. Westbanhof undergraund station is short walk away, Ubahn line U3 can get you in centre in next 10 minutes. That much about location.
Hotel is very nice. Reception was kind and fast. Also staff at breakfast was very helpfoul. It is very modern hotel. Bed was very good and pillow also suited me. Room was kind of small for triple room, but not too small. There is no clasic bathroom (at least in room 527). One corner is turned into bathroom and separatet by coutrain from rest of the room. Toalet is separated from bathroom. Aldo it is small, it is made with taste. Sleeping quality was excellent. Thre was no noise at all.
Special story was breakfast: that was really superb. Everybody could find something...
I have also used a garage, which is charged separetly 12€ per day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LjubljanaTurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

During our three nights, the hotel met or exceeded all our expectations. Our room was clean and nicely decorated. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. In particular, the front desk was helped with many questions. The included breakfast has a large number of selections, all delicious and fresh. The location is very convenient, particularly after you learn the wonderful system of public transportation. We appreciate their green environment and will definitely plan to stay there when we visit Vienna.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with windows to the road--we had a couple of evenings when people and traffic woke us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#21 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Stadthalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Stadthalle

Property: Boutique Hotel Stadthalle
Address: Hackengasse 20, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly Minotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vienna
#9 Business Hotel in Vienna
#16 Family Hotel in Vienna
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Stadthalle 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trendsetting combination of sustainability, design, and a touch of luxury: the world’s first hotel with a net zero energy balance is located in the heart of Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Boutique Hotel Stadthalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutiquehotel Stadthalle Hotel Vienna
Boutique Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing