We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is lovely, but saving water and electricity is too much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Stadthalle
Ranked #12 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel is lovely, but saving water and electricity is too much”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Hello, the hotel is really nice, expecially bio-breafast (very tasty, many choices). The room was nice as well, there was a complimenrary wine and card left for us. The bathroom was tiny thou - just the part of the room was separated by the thin wall (removable). Toilet and bathroom were probably 1.5m2 total. Quite surprising. The location is fine, not far from several subway stations. The reception is nice. I recomment to everyone, but make sure your bathroom is a real one not the camping version.

Room Tip: Make sure bathroom is of normal size with regular walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shumilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefania A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Shumilon,

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor.com!
We are sorry that the bathroom in your room did not meet your expectations. The hotel rooms are furnished with modern and traditional bathrooms. In the traditional bathroom the toilet and bath are separate. If we had known during your stay, we could have tried to find a different room for you.
Please contact me directly at stefania.aloia@hotelstadthalle.at if you would like to have a traditional bathroom for your next visit.

We are really glad to read that you were satisfied with our breakfast and our reception team and are looking forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Vienna.

Best regards,

Stefania Aloia
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    310
    59
    15
    4
See reviews for
224
660
112
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The room was nice but during the night a bunch of drunks were outside on the curb yelling at the top of their lungs, one of the women neighbors started yelling at them to move on. Though our train was early we still had time to grab breakfast in the dinning room and to make a couple of sandwiches to take with us which was a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVerschoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefania A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear JVerschoyle,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor.com.

We appreciate your comment regarding the noise from the street and are very sorry that you woke up during the night.

However, we hope we may welcome you again some time in our Boutiquehotel!
Best regards,

Stefania Aloia
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

i stayed here for 3 nights with a friend - lovely little hotel, very chic and cool - energy neutral is a quirky bonus
5 mins from main rail station - a supermaket opposite, an italian and a croatian restaurant 2 mins away - otherwise you're a hefty walk/train ride away from the centre
breakfast included - fairly basic - no hot food, no toast... mainly organic breads, cheeses, hams and fruit.. plentiful but would have preferred some hot options and some croissants/pastries
bathroom is slightly curious, not a lot of privacy but lots of hot water and clean towels
really reasonable price, but would probably stay closer to centre if i returned

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

What a place! The rooms are comfortable and the hotel clearly does much to promote its pro-environment claims - herbs growing in reception etc. I found the breakfast really good and the bar and staff helpful. I only knock it down as the room was a little dated, with the TV quite old but serviceable.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentofte, Denmark
Level Contributor
159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, at Stadthalle. Besides feeling good about ourselves since the hotel is energy neutral, the stay was also wonderful because of the biiig rooms, the service minded staff and the calm, even though our room was facing the street.
The hotel is placed very near to the Westbahnhoff, so even though it is not really close to the main museums etc. it is really easy to get there by S-bahn or U-bahn.
We can absolutely recommend this very reasonable priced hotel where you really get value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel was the last stop on our 16 day European tour and what a great way to end a wonderful trip. The hotel was very clean, modern, green, and inviting. The room was lovely and the view of the little courtyard and rooftop lavender garden was beautiful. The decor is very kitschy with a neo-modern flair yet the whole place still felt really The staff was amazingly sweet and gave us free coffee (which, by the way, was the best coffee we had all trip) and arranged a luxury taxi to airport for us that costed for 40 Euro total (cheaper than the airport bus). The Included breakfast was amazing and had loads of organically produced breads, fruits, nuts, cheeses and meats - and more of our favorite coffee. It is one tram ride to the city center which at the time costs 2.40 Euros (Westbahnhof stop) and it pics up and drops off right at the end of the street. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Vienna!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorinneReif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. It's location near the Westbahnhof made it easy to get where ever we wanted to go. We bought a parking permit from the hotel and parked on the street (we never used our car once we arrived). The room was small but clean and comfortable. Be forewarned that we had glass doors for the toilet and separate shower so privacy was lacking. The staff was most friendly and helpful.

We did have a problem with a bad odor coming from the shower when we first checked in but it went away after we used the shower.

Contrary to some recommendations we had read, we bought a 72-hour, 2 person transit ticket and found it to be well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJO72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#25 of 360 in Vienna
820 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 360 in Vienna
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,369 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Stadthalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Stadthalle

Property: Boutique Hotel Stadthalle
Address: Hackengasse 20, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly Minotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vienna
#9 Business Hotel in Vienna
#16 Family Hotel in Vienna
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Stadthalle 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trendsetting combination of sustainability, design, and a touch of luxury: the world’s first hotel with a net zero energy balance is located in the heart of Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel Stadthalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutiquehotel Stadthalle Hotel Vienna
Boutique Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing