We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for money hotel in walking distance to city center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boutique Hotel Stadthalle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Stadthalle
Ranked #13 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good value for money hotel in walking distance to city center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Rooms are cozy (not luxurious but nice - and it is fair to say the nicer, luxurious stuff like Kempinski does cost two to three times as much).

Breakfast is very high quality and offers wide selection (continental style only, no gut-busting Ënglish breakfast - but things like six types of healthy high quality bread or home-made egg spread are great).

Staff are really friendly and try to help.

Good location whether you drive (hotel has a garage over the street - EUR 14, I think) or arrive by train (Wien Westbahnhof five mins walking distance). All cool things 5-20 minutes walking distance (shopping five mins, most cultural stuff 15 - 20 mins).

Dogs are allowed (EUR 20 charge and you cannot take them to breakfast).

The only downsides to me were 1. incredibly slow and unreliable Wi-Fi and 2. staff cleaning up food from breakfast buffet even before the official 10:00 / 10:30 (weekend) end of breakfast.

Room Tip: Pay the extra EUR 10 for garden-facing room. Really quiet, nice / relaxing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakub S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefania A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Jakub!
Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor.com.
We are sorry to hear about the issues you have had with the slow Wifi connection.
We do not know why the connection did not work faster when you stayed with us and apologize for this inconsistency. We will certainly look into this matter with great concern.
Regarding breakfast, I will forward your comment to the department. I deeply regret that the breakfast buffet was cleaned before breakfast officially ended. Thank you for informing us about this!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Best regards,

Stefania Aloia
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    296
    57
    15
    3
See reviews for
214
629
106
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

One of the best hotels we have stayed in. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Alex's service was exceptional and even on her day off had left a message for us to enjoy the rest our our trip. Although a little out of the city centre public transport was a few minutes walk away. Alex recommended the Pescaria a Croatian restaurant and we werent dissapointed - the food was wonderful. Can definitely recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill_445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Excellent location for public transport. This more than compensates for the fact it's not centrally located and in a fairly quiet neighbourhood. Do make use of the airport coach service which costs 8 euros one way to the airport (45 minutes) and can be found directly in front of Westbahnhof station. The hotel staff very kindly advised us to do that rather than take the subway/train as we had done when we arrived. (We took the 16 minute city train from the airport which cost a lot more and actually was no quicker in the long run.) Cannot really fault the hotel. Quiet, small, helpful and friendly staff, nice well appointed rooms, good breakfast. A hotel run with a conscience and very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank metaldolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

A lot of thought must have gone into making this a great hotel to stay: it is tastefully furnished, looks spick and span and has very helpful and friendly staff.
They gave valuable information on taking the trams to our destinations. Our special thanks to Alexandria who patiently inserted our newly bought SIM cards into our old Nokias.
A nice touch: finding fresh apples every evening when we return to our room.
Great breakfast, thoroughly enjoyed the wide range of ingredients for the cereals including fresh figs, in addition to the cheeses, hams etc; only thing, they don’t have a freshly cooked hot food section. Breakfast area was spacious and looked into a garden.

Room was spacious with desk for those who need to work on their computer.
Toilet and shower were compact, like in planes; however the taps shone like new, the towels were fluffy and sheets were crisp.
Opposite was a minimart, useful for purchases of water, fruits, etc.
Though hotel isn’t near any tourist attraction, it is less than 10 minutes’ walk to Westbanhof station, a major interchange with a shopping mall and eateries like Subway and has Chinese/Thai food, pizzas, etc. 5 train stops away is Stephansdom, heart of the city.

Minor cons: we didn’t feel comfortable walking barefoot on the carpet but I suppose no slippers were provided because of their green policy.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay of 6 nights in Mar. Would happily return to Stadthalle if we visit Vienna again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abletree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I choose this hotel because of it environmental engagement and because of the very friendly lady answering my questions on the phone.
I arrived late, got an excellent advice where to eat out in the evening (100 meters down the road, Serbien restaurant) and enjoyed the many little details in my room, like the mirror in a tennis racket.
The next day I had a full day meeting which we had in the lobby the garden. It could not have been more peaceful there.
I will return there any time in Vienna.

Room Tip: Save your appetite for breakfast, great bread!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed twice in a matter of 2 weeks; loved it right from the first time. Located just 5 mins from the Wein Westbahnhof; & right next to a Billa in a residential area- top marks for position. The rooms are spacious, clean and very energy friendly. Loved their total dedication to energy conservation; and without the loss of any amenities. They are close to most of the good eateries; but a little far from the main town centre. Expect a good sleep and an even better breakfast. Staff are helpful, well informed and very polite. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a garden view, esp when the lavenders are in bloom. Amazing experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djpri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

When arriving at the hotel you immediatly realize, that the management put a lot of thought in the hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome and friendly help, whenever you need it. I also enjoyed the gesture of giving a piece of chocolate at check-in.
The infrastructure is very modern and you will notice the focus on sustainability. But I have to say that it is definitely not annoying or too present.
The rooms are quite, offer enough space (especially for a city hotel) and offer all inventory you need (free safe, hairdryer, A/C,....)
The garage is a bit pricy, but that's just normal for Vienna. Anyway: You will face difficoulties when entering with an SUV. It was a close call with my station wagon.
Room service was also alright, nothing special - but what can be special about it?
Healthy breakfast with a variety of food & drinks.

To sum up: Great for business and city trip. They focus on their core business and do a excellent job there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kreatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#20 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Stadthalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Stadthalle

Property: Boutique Hotel Stadthalle
Address: Hackengasse 20, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly Minotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vienna
#9 Business Hotel in Vienna
#16 Family Hotel in Vienna
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Stadthalle 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trendsetting combination of sustainability, design, and a touch of luxury: the world’s first hotel with a net zero energy balance is located in the heart of Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Boutique Hotel Stadthalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutiquehotel Stadthalle Hotel Vienna
Boutique Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing