We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Stadthalle
Ranked #13 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 May 2009

I totally enjoyed my stay at the hotel. It looks as if it has been recently renovated. The hotel and the rooms are spic and clean, pretty and comfortable. The location is in a quiet lane and gets a bit lonely late evening. But the hotel is easily accessible by tram and metro, which are very well connected to the main attractions. The biggest advantage was that the grocery store Billa is located directly opposite the hotel. The main shopping street Mariahilfestrasse is at a walking distance. The main station Westbahnhof (which is connected to the airport by a shuttle) is very close to the hotel. The reception staff was friendly, was helpful in every way. For those wishing to travel by public transport, if you have a day pass (which costs 5.70 Euros), you can board the tram very close to the hotel, and the tram will take you to westbahnhof metro station.

    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanakya82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2009

Arrival - upon landing in Vienna airport, we took the City Airport Train to the city center. Then it got a bit adventurous as instead of taking the subway, we ended up taking another train. Bit of running around in early am, but we finally got into a cab and reached the hotel.

Check-in - we got in early but they were very nice and gave us our room. The room itself was decent - not very huge but we have seen smaller in Austria.

Breakfast - in the ground floor was fabulous - fresh stuff, eggs, nice coffee, the works.

Location - its a 5 minute walk to Westbanoff. That itself is not bad as once can pretty much go anywhere from there, but the location of the hotel was slightly off, and a bit dead around the hotel area. There is a supermarket right across, so once can always buy stuff there.

Tickets - the hotel staff was kind enough to get us tickets to a show at the orangery.

In sum, great place, location no so wow, but given the price not a bad deal!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PedroPony76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Hello!
I have stayed in this hotel with my father for 5 days. The hotel is not far from Westbanhof, which is a good thing.
I did not like the stay here, the bathroom was small, the walls were not painted, they were dirty. The hotel had an elevator. The staff was ok, they helped in any way possible. But the cleaning service did not change the sheet at all during our stay.
Breakfast is ok, ehough food and fresh. The price was a little high, but what can u expect from Vienna?
There is a supermarket just accross the street. The hotel is also very close to the Vienner Stadthalle (concert hall).
Also if you are interested they have a computer with no restricted access to the internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Namiko_Mika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the nearest metro and the surrounding area is not great.

The staff are helpful. Our room was quiet and reasonably furnished though the bathroom (actually a shower room) was small and the toiletries consisted of two big bottles of body wash/shampoo on the wall (like a travelodge!). The TV did not work.

I asked for parking and was told that a place was reserved for me on the street for 7 euros (which I thought was a bit odd) and on arrival, I found that such a reservation did not exist as there was only street parking which anyone could use. Fortunately, they offered me a place in the garage instead (12 euros a day). I still have no idea what the 7 euros referred to.

Reasonable cold breakfast.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel if you wish to avoid the expense of one of the more central hotels.

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank mew20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

I stayed at the Pension Stadthallle, an annex of the Hotel Stadthalle. Check in is at the Hotel Stadthalle. The Pension is one block up the street.

Facility: My small room was newly renovated, with a comfortable bed, clean private shower and toilet, new flat screen TV, a rod for hanging clothing, and a window at street level. There was no desk, no chair, no drawers for clothing, no cup, no functioning soap dispenser. The staff at the front desk of the Hotel Stadthalle were helpful and friendly, but messaging and other basic services are not part of the deal for guests at the Pension.
Small gripes: The booking website advertised internet in all rooms for the Pension Stadthalle, but there was no internet or phone in the room.

Location: A couple of blocks from West Bahnhauf, with easy access to major subway lines. The neighborhood was mixed, with a good small food market across the street from the hotel, a major shopping area a few blocks south, and sleazy clubs a block east. It was a safe area, but not totally savory. An easy subway ride to major tourist areas, business district, and UN.

The two star Pension Stadthalle Annex is reasonably priced at 50 euro. I would not stay there again, since I need minimal messaging services at a front desk and I need easy internet access instead of having to walk down the block to the lobby of the Hotel Stadthalle. But the Pension provided an austere clean room at a good price.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank aversetospam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

We stayed at the Stadthalle Hotel in Vienna for 2 nights with a friend of mine. The hotel is nicely located 5 minutes walk from the Westbanhnof which has linked to the center of town as well ast the airport (only 30 mns by bus for 6 EUR).
we had an economy room which was a bit smaller but i believe they are in the process of revamping all the rooms. The walls are a bit thin and it was quite noisy the first night. There were also people smoking around which meant that we had smoke smells in our room even though it was non smoking.
The breakfast was very nice (no hot plates, but cheese, ham, cereal, fruits, yogurts and breads as well as hard boiled eggs).The area where the hotel is located is nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nanceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2008

I asked my travel agents to find me a hotel in Vienna - near the city centre, not too expensive, and close to a place where I could go ice-skating. As usual, they came up trumps.

LOCATION
Hotel Stadthalle is close to the Stadthalle, which is a huge complex that includes an indoor skating rink and an Olympic-sized (i.e. 50 m long) swimming pool. Sheer heaven.

It is also close to the Westbahnhof. This means you can catch the bus that travels to and from the airport every half an hour in winter (every 20 minutes in the summer) for just EUR 6 for one way. The journey takes 35 minutes.

The Westbahnhof is also a junction point for trains, the underground trains, trams and buses. Very convenient.

The hotel and station are also close to Mariahilferstrasse - one of the main shopping streets there - with lots of bookshops including a British bookshop and an English-speaking cinema (Cinema Haydn - [--]).

At the end of Mariahilferstrasse, there are the main museums, the opera house, the beautiful Ring Street including the Town Hall and parliament building and the old central part of town.

HOTEL
The hotel itself was clean. The staff was young and friendly, pleasant, polite and helpful. The breakfast buffet was plentiful - nothing cooked, however. Very quiet - no piped music. Free Internet access in the lobby for the guests. No lifts because the hotel is in an old town house.

There were some nice little touches over Christmas and New Year. One cute feature was that the hotel has a lavender garden on a flat roof. This can only be viewed from the second and third floors, however. I came back home with a quite different souvenir from the norm - a jar containing 30 g of lavender harvested from the hotel's own garden.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nina_glyndwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#2 of 358 in Vienna
1,893 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#15 of 358 in Vienna
1,710 reviews
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#14 of 358 in Vienna
641 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 358 in Vienna
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Stadthalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Stadthalle

Address: Hackengasse 20, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly Minotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vienna
#9 Business Hotel in Vienna
#12 Family Hotel in Vienna
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £70 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Stadthalle 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trendsetting combination of sustainability, design, and a touch of luxury: the world’s first hotel with a net zero energy balance is located in the heart of Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Boutique Hotel Stadthalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutiquehotel Stadthalle Hotel Vienna
Boutique Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing