We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, kind staff, very good breakfast, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel One Wien Westbahnhof
Ranked #83 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean room, kind staff, very good breakfast, excellent location”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Clean room, kind and helpful staff, very good breakfast, very good location, good price. Value for money
A minus could be the parking and the entrance to the hotel, not too easy to find.
Overall recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camelia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWienWestbahnhof, Manager at Motel One Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Camelia C!

The feedback of our guests is very important for us therefore we are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay!

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    525
    114
    25
    17
See reviews for
120
381
133
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at Motel One Wien for 1 night during a trip to Austria and it was a generally positive experience.
It's at a very practical location, especially when you arrive by train and want to leave early next day to the airport like us. It's 2 steps out of the Westbahnhof and the airport bus starts just outside. Metro to old town is also just outside, but you can also walk down Mariahilferstrasse which is a very nice walk. Check-in and check-out are at the same time, fast and easy. Rooms are modern with great shower. There's good wi-fi connection in the room.
On the negative side, the room is very small and there was some noise from the street although our room was on 5th floor and window was closed. There were no bathroom amenities except a liquid all-in-one soap.
We didn't bother with breakfast because we tried it in Motel One in Munich and we were disappointed of the value.
Overall, we would stay here again at a similar occasion where it fits to the logistics of the trip. For a longer stay we would choose a more comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbgath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWienWestbahnhof, Manager at Motel One Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear sbgath!

Thank you very much for giving us your impressions of your stay at the Motel One Wien-Westbahnhof. Our guests value the practical and conveniently situated location of our hotel.
We are sorry to hear that the breakfast during a former stay at one of the Motel One Hotels didn't meet your expectations. For Motel One the quality and freshness of the products offered are very important.
Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future! To ensure that you have a good night's sleep we recommend to ask for a room to our patio.

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Motel is brand new so everything is shiny and sparkly.

Room was a bit small, another 5sqm wouldn't hurt... It's not a problem if you don't plan to spend a lot of time in your hotel room
Bed is very comfortable, although I would have prefered one mattres instead of two next to each other for double bed.
Bathroom is cool and modern. I especially liked walk in shower.
There was no hand soap provided, just bottles of shower/shampoo combo which I foud a bit weird. Soap is the only thing I DON'T carry in my toiletry bag.

Lounge area near the reception is excellent, with lush carpets, soft sofas and chill music...
Breakfast was very basic, but for the price of 7€ I didn't expect much... Coffe and juices are excelent, brand quality.

Location is perfect for shopping and exploring. We've been to Vienna many times and always look for accomodation near U-bahn stations. This was one of the best. Entrance to Westbahnhof is literally in front of the hotel.

Given the price of room is cca 20€ cheaper then similar accomodation nearby I would say this hotel is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puregreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWienWestbahnhof, Manager at Motel One Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear puregreen!

Thank you very much for investing your time to comment on your stay at the Motel One Wien-Westbahnhof. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time in our hotel!
Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed here 2 nights, 26, 27 december 2013 and I enjoyed most of the staying. The hotel is at 200m from Mariahilferstrasse, and at an average of 15-20 minutes of walking from the city hall, schonbrunn palace or history museum, so it's location is very good.
There is also a parking they are working with and where you can leave the car - it has direct access from the mall situated right next to the Motel.
The motel is quite big, but modern. The rooms do not have phones nor fridge, and the rooms are quite small, but I think this is not an inconvenience if you are just passing through Wien.
What I enjoyed at the rooms was the nice white TV that suits the wall's color, the modern bathroom and the confy bed. The rooms are also very good isolated, as you sleep right in the heart of the city, but you are not disturbed by the noise from outside and they include access to free WI-FI.
You can also have breakfast if you choose to(you can also eat at the mall right next to the motel).
Overall was a nice experience and on our way back, because we enjoyed our staying here, we chose to stay at another One Motel - the one from Salzburg.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWienWestbahnhof, Manager at Motel One Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Oana 12!

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay in Vienna at the Motel One Wien-Westbahnhof! Thank you very much for your positive rating. We also hope that you enjoyed your stay in the Motel One Salzburg!

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I advice anyone on a touristic trip to choose this hotel. It's right at the exit of the Westbahnhof Train Station, and it may sound like just a railway station, but it is more of a shopping centre. You have about everything you wish for there, from Food Court with Subway, Starbucks and even healthier food at Furchtbar (perfect breakfast choice with smoothies or musli yogurt) to international fashion brands and a whole range of fresh products at the Merkur supermarket. We made full use of the railway station, without throwing money on expensive restaurants at dinner or breakfast. We chose to eat breakfast at the hotel one day and the 7,5 ? is quie a fair charge, as there are a lot of choices to pick from (coffee of all sorts, orange and apple juice, croissants, fitness and regular bread etc.). However, on various occasions we either didn't feel hungry enough in the morning or we wanted to take the breakfast away in the town, so Westbahnhof was perfect for it. The Underground and Mariahilferstrasse were right across the railway station. Everything was in easy reach and we recommend it for any tourist visiting Vienna.

Helpful?
Thank Andu B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MOWienWestbahnhof, Manager at Motel One Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Andu B!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna at the Motel One Wien-Westbahnhof! Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atlanta Georgia
Level Contributor
322 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I will not stay here again. They tout certain conveniences that they do not deliver upon. Air-conditioning is number one.

I stayed in Motel One Wien-Westbahnhof 4 September 2013 through 8 September 2013.

The first night I was assigned room 4226. That room has no air-conditioning. Air-conditioning was included in my room rate according to the Web Site, and is an essential hotel amenity during the summer. I was miserable that first night. When I complained, the staff dispatched maintenance. That was an utter charade, because it was obvious to anyone that the air-conditioning in room 4226 was not functioning.

I continued to complain until I was moved to room 4103 where the air-conditioning does work. I am not sure whether this is part of an unethical business plan, making air-conditioning only available in limited rooms, in order to reduce costs, or whether the air-conditioning was simply out of order in 4226 on the days that I was staying. Regardless of the root cause, in no event should Motel One be placing guests in non-air-conditioned rooms during summer months.

Secondly, on the night of 6 September 2013, the Internet was obviously down. When I complained, instead of honesty, the front desk, gave me a new username/password, pretending that would correct the problem. Obviously, all that did was increase my frustration. When I pointed out that I still had no connectivity, I received a reassuring shrug of the shoulders. When services that have been promised to guests are not available, deception is not the best strategy. Honesty is the best strategy. Perhaps the front desk staff is not consciously deceiving; perhaps the local management has simply chosen not to keep them informed. I cannot be sure, but I can be certain that kind of carelessness will cost Motel One my future business.

Since it is possible that Motel One does not know the proper response to a guest's inquiry regarding the lack of promised Internet connectivity, I will share it: "We apologize, Mr paying-customer, we are having a temporary problem with our connection to the Internet service supplier. Our telecommunications specialists are working to correct the issue and they expect that service will be restored no latter than 00:00 this evening."

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWienWestbahnhof, Manager at Motel One Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear User Twinkles!

First of all we would like to thank you for giving us your honest feedback. We regret to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay in the Motel One Wien-Westbahnhof in September.

We are very sorry that your night’s sleep was disturbed by a defective air conditioning in your room. Your resulting resentment about this is very reasonable. In the meantime we have conferred with our maintenance department to ensure that every air conditioning is properly maintained and periodically checked in all the rooms.
Every single one of our rooms is equipped with an air conditioning operated during the entire year. We apologize for the broken AC in the room you had first. However we would like to state that we are not engaging in some “unethical business plan”.

We indeed had a Wifi issue in our hotel in the beginning of September which was solved in cooperation with our Wifi supplier. We totally agree with you that the handling of your complaint at the front office desk did not meet our service standards. As the satisfaction of our guests is the top priority, Motel One has set very high levels regarding the quality of our services in order to ensure a pleasant stay for our guests.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused and hope that your positive impressions of your stay in Vienna will prevail! Once again thank you for your valuable comments.

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was in Vienna in December for the first time in my life and choosing the Motel One by Westbahnhof was a great choice. Just as I have indicated in the title of this review, you will find only the bare necessities in this hotel, but really, if you are there only for a few days or a week, this is all you need. There is no minibar in the hotel room, there is no cabinet to hang your clothes, only a rail with a few clothes hangers. But really, one does not need more when the rooms are so clean in style, as well as clean in the true sense of the word. The breakfast buffet is very adequate and offers everything you need, from breads, muffins, fruit, yogourts, cheese, meat and various types of jams and cereals. What you cannot do either at this hotel, is charge things to your room. Everything has to be paid upfront always, including the room. This, as well as the simple, yet elegant decor helps the hotel keep its fares low and interesting. The location of Motel One is good, as well. You are just a few minutes away from the shopping street Maria Hilfer Strasse and because Motel One is located next to the Westbahnhof, even if you crave a chocolate or a coke after hours (no room service in the hotel), you can always nip in to the supermarket in the underground to get your sweet fix. I would definitely return to Motel One if I returned to Vienna.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne_from_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWienWestbahnhof, Manager at Motel One Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Marianne !

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences at Motel One Wien-Westbahnhof.
Furthermore are we delighted to hear that you entirely agree with our hotel concept of offering all the necessities at high quality but therefor do not offer all additional services for example room - service or minibars.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel in Vienna or at one of our other Motel One Hotels around Europe!

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#25 of 360 in Vienna
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Wien Westbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Wien Westbahnhof

Property: Motel One Wien Westbahnhof
Address: Europaplatz 3, Vienna 1150, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Wien Westbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 438
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Motel One Wien Westbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing