We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel One Wien Westbahnhof
Nearby Hotels
US$460
US$397
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$248
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$359
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$242
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$159
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$173
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$198
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Courtyard by Marriott Vienna Prater/Messe(Vienna)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$272
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Renaissance Wien Hotel(Vienna)(Great Value!)
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,221)
Filter reviews
1,221 results
Traveller rating
471
572
128
29
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
471
572
128
29
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationrooms are smallconvenient locationboiled eggsexcellent locationstayed here for one nightvienna airportpublic transportcold cutseasy accessbusiness hotelcomfortable hotelwi fihotel staffdouble bedcity centremuseum quarter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 1,221 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Without a doubt, this is a very convenient, new hotel. If you don't mind taking any of the great transportation options available in Vienna (they all hub right outside the doors), this is your hotel. And it's reasonable. The train station has a two story mall inside with all the food and stuff you might need.
The staff is very nice all the way down to housekeeping. Breakfast is typical euro affair. All fresh. All good, but does not change day-to-day. We were there for 4 days and it was getting a bit boring.
The rooms are clean, very euro modern, quiet and have air conditioning. However, the euro modern is a problem. The one 'sort of a chair' was highly uncomfortable if you sat it in for more than 10 min and the round 'sump' chair-thing was just weird. There is a great lack of plugs...well, actually they are not conveniently located if you have to plug things in for charging.
The 2 biggest irritations were the door to the bathroom. It auto-closed. That got to be like a splinter in your finger you could not dig out. The other is the TV. Your room card turns on the power to the room. Very euro typical. The TV always comes on to video of fish tank with very annoying music. After the second day it was a race to see how fast you could turn it off.
Others have commented on how 'cold' the atmosphere is and they are right. It's 'design functional' but still, a safe bet for a reasonable room. And the shopping street just across the way is full of more reasonable priced stores, good eateries and desserts. It was being renovated into a walking mall type street and despite the street construction, it was bustling every night.

Room Tip: Want a view, ask for a room facing the tram station.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Good location right by the main train station Westbahnhof. Access is easy by the U-Bahn or Tram to all the attractions. Breakfast is very cheap for Europe. Rooms are very basic but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravelerlebanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

As soon as my wife and I got off the train at Wien Westbahnhof, we couldn't have found the Austrian people more friendly and helpful! This was in complete contrast to a largely negative experience in Budapest.

We were swiftly directed to the Motel One right next door to the station. The reception staff were efficient and smiling, and we settled into our immaculate room within 10 minutes. The wifi wasn't very good, but it wasn't important enough to worry about, as we were on a whistle stop tour of the Hofburg, Schonbrunn, and Belvedere Palaces, and we didn't have time to be overly concerned on that kind of thing.

We will be returning there soon!

Room Tip: Choose the top floors for a panoramic view of Vienna!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel for one night for a quick business. Staff are really nice and helpful. The room was really nice and better than what I expected for a 1-person room. The hotel is quite new with a nice location. Distance to U-2 is 1 minute and with a change you are just 7 minutes away from city center. There were actually some noises in the corridor at sleeping time but I guess it is not every night. The breakfast buffe could be better with more variations, but it is good and everything is fresh.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nazanin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWienWestbahnhof, Manager at Motel One Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Nazanin B,

Thank you very much for investing your time to tell us your impressions of your stay at Motel One.
We would also like to thank you for your constructive comments concerning the rooms and the breakfast. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Motel One Vienna Westbahnhof and hope to welcome you again as soon as possible!

Best regards from Vienna,

your Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Initially this hotel seemed attractive -- the modern, turquoise and brown decor was attractive, as was the price and location. However, the hotel's appeal wore off quickly, as quickly in our visit it became obvious that this place is simply a cattle car -- too many people in too small of spaces, especially in the main lobby and at breakfast where the hotel simply couldn't deal with the masses and the overflow of people. Although the offerings at the breakfast buffet were fine, it was a fight to just get a cup of coffee. The "hike" to our room after waiting for the slow elevators added to our frustration, as well as the arrogance of the rude supervisor on staff. Other staff members, including the manager at the bar and the maids, were great. The room was small and functional -- no phones however, so one couldn't contact the reception when issues arrived. Air conditioning didn't work, for instance, on a very hot day, and the back and forth between the manager and us and the up and down on the elevator from the room to the reception to try to get the issue resolved proved to be efforts made in vain. This place is okay for a night but not necessarily the kind of place where one would want to spend too much time... It lacks the amenities of most well-established hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmalotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews