We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries
Ranked #78 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights on a recent trip to Vienna at this hotel with my wife and 5 year old son. I had a great experience and enjoyed my stay at the hotel. It is centrally located with easy access to the tube and other public transport services.
The hotel is within walking distance of the shopping streets and many tourist spots like the St. Stephen Cathedral. There are also a number of restaurants and cafes around the hotel that offer a great culinary experience.
The hotel itself has large spacious rooms with all features like a kitchen sink, microwave, dishes, etc - hence it is perfect for a family with small kids. The staff at the reception was also very helpful and helped us with recommendations on places to visit and how to go.
I would definitely recommend this place to others!

Room Tip: Avoid the 7th floor - the elevator does not go till there and you may have problems with carrying yo...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balaji V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

we were there a couple of nights, the air conditioning was not working throughout our stay. the staff didnot bother to inform us. we got to know only after we called the recption late at night after waiting couple of hours for the room to cool. initial reponse was they had given out all their fans and didnt have any more. shouting got us a rickety table fan half an hour later, which somehow saved us. we surely would have found a different hotel had the management informed when we checked in. the next morning they told us it wont be repaired for the next 3 days, we just decided to stay on as we were checking out early next morning. the hotel staff never offerred to refund the money btw. apologies were real perfunctory.
rooms are spacious. the location is nothing great, just at the edge of the circle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank yashbiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinga N, Vezető at Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Dear Sirs,

thank you for staying with us in the Starlight Sutien Hotel and for your valuable feedback.
I am so sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations and that our staff was not able to satisfy all your needs. Since your last visit all the technical issues have been fixed and the staff has been trained how to handle issues and situations like this - we hope to have the chance welcoming you back and provide you as professional service as possible!

Wishing you all the best,

Kinga Nagy
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The building was not impressive from the outside, but make no mistake, this is a nice hotel with decent facilities. Our room was big and attractive, the staff were very helpful, and the location is great. There was an endless choice of restaurants and bars around us, while the heart of Vienna was minutes away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel with children and everything was fine.
Large rooms, we had a bedroom and a room equipped with fridge, glasses, tea, sugar, microwave, everything you need in a room. Staff at hotel very helpful, whenever I asked I explained how to get to different places, I have recommended retaurant and more ... You can buy the card vienna hotel which is very useful and profitable Away in Vienna. The hotel is very well located, about 10 minutes stefandome and 5 subway station.
At the recommendation of the hotel staff took our room one Espresso machines coffee, which offers free coffee consumed only have to pay a very useful if you want to drink coffee in the morning.
A hotel that I will return for sure if I will return wien, because staff and location.

Room Tip: All are good, 1st floor bedroom is larger than the first room on the 4th floor and is backwards but...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank life i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Very nice Hotel/Suites with frendly service in oldfashioned, historical residential-buildings. The Location is excellent, just a few steps to the vibrating nightlife in Viennas 'Bermuda-Triangle' and just some Minutes to all the Highlights downtown. Metro-station about 3 min walk, bus-station in front of the door.
Our suite was very clean, huge and well equipped.
An absolute recommendation - just one little thing: the ventilation/heating/cooling of our room was a little bit noisy. Rest: perfect!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hotel is in a good location on a very cute block with a couple restaurants and bars right across the street. We made our reservation through hotels.com and they could not find it. Not a great start, but I had a copy of the email confirmation and they quickly made a copy and gave us a room. We got to our room and it was a bit warm. The window was broken, so we lowered the heat and ventured out in the city for a couple of hours. When we returned around 9:00pm the room was still very warm. We called the front desk and was told from the woman at the front desk that she was the only one there and we would have to wait about 30 minutes for another employee to get there so they could come check it out. It took about an hour, but they came by to see and gave us a new room conveniently located across the hall. All of the employees were very nice and the room was spacious and clean. However, I would say that the lack of amenities made it more of a 3 star than a 4 star hotel. And the steep price of 4 euros for an hour of internet service was beyond annoying. If I had the ability to give the hotel 3.5 stars, I would. Still, a great value for what could easily be an expensive city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitzlovos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed at the Starlight on Salzgries for two nights at the end of March 2013. I arrived quite late in the evening, but was welcomed by a friendly and cheerful night receptionist. He was also extremely helpful when it came to getting the internet (I had not euros on me and could not pay for the cards).
The room was extremely big, with a separate reception area, and a large bathroom (with regular size bathtub). The bed was good, although it would have been even better to have a single large duvet rather than the two individual ones they usually give you in Austria.
The best thing was the location, right in the center and walking distance from everything of interest.
The prices was good, at EUR150 for two nights.
I have used Starlight Suites regularly in Vienna, and will continue to do so. You get amazing rooms and excellent service at a great price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OrangeBleue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#41 of 361 in Vienna
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Das Tigra
Hotel Das Tigra
#50 of 361 in Vienna
916 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#33 of 361 in Vienna
442 reviews
Inner City
MyPlace Premium Apartments - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries

Address: Salzgries 12, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Vienna
#58 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#66 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#90 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £87 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starlight Suiten Hotel Wien Salzgries is located in the city centre of Vienna, 1st district. Thanks to the excellent location and the public transport connections, you can reach your destination within a very short time. You can easily walk to the most famous sights of the city in a few minutes, like St. Stephen's Cathedral, Mozart's house and the Imperial Apartments, or stroll through the Graben, the Carinthian Street and the Golden Quarter, three well-known shopping destinations in Vienna. The four-star suites of the hotel offer you the highest comfort in a modern atmosphere and the sauna and fitness areas are at your disposal for relaxing and training. Guests travelling by car- can avail themselves of our parking service. Our reception staffs are there for you round the clock and will be pleased to help you plan your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Suiten i Salzgries Hotel Vienna
Starlight Suiten i Salzgries Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing