We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not really 4 star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries
Ranked #67 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“not really 4 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel is in a very good location, about 10 minutes walk to the Stephans Dom. However it is not 4 star standard, specially for an Austrian hotel. The suite we had was very spacious, though it was dated. We did have two seperate flat screen TVs, which was good. The bath had two sinks, but the shower and bath tub were not really 4 star. The breakfast was definately not of 4 star standard, never the less did it offer a good variety of food. The reception staff were very nice and helpful. All in all we were happy with our accomodation, though it is not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fluig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    202
    36
    11
    4
See reviews for
70
231
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

the hotel is in the center of vienna - less than 10 minutes walk from stephan platz.
the area is very quite the bed is comfortable -so you get a good night sleep
the room is big and clean and the service was excellent and the price was only 109 earo

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zguby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Its an excellent hotel, and I stayed there for almost a month. The day staff is extremely helpful, and knows the places around. The night staff on the other hand is clueless of what happens in the hotel. But I did not have many issues with them

I do have a gripe with their plumbing. Since the rooms and plumbings are some what ols, bathrooms have leaks and sometime, there are weird smells emanating from there. However it happened for couple of nights only. So its a small gripe.

The other big advantage is its location and it is dead center in the city.

The breakfast was not so good, and the spread was small. But again this is a small gripe.

Overall, very happy with the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spig0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Really struggled to write this negative review, but after staying at several hotels in Europe during this trip, realized this hotel just didn't measure up. The room was in the upper floor, which was in the attic,with low ceilings on the perimeter. When we looked in the elevator, and did not see our floor number, we went back to the reception desk. They told us that we needed to take the elevator to the top floor, walk down a hallway, and up a short flight of stairs!! Not sure why they did not tell us how to get to the room when they gave us the key!! However, we were not impressed with any of the staff during our entire stay. They appeared extremely inexperienced, and did not seem to want to make recommendations or have the knowledge to do any problem solving! Another example of this was when we had a problem with the hot water, and we were told that they "thought" it was to the left side, but if not, we could try the right side! We did eventually get hot water after letting the water run for a solid 15 minutes!

The one positive was the size of the room and the location. It is a suite hotel, so the rooms are quite large, but it is not a good lay out. Even making coffee was a major effort, because the coffee pot had to be put on the floor due to the short cord!! We could each have one cup of coffee, but I had to once again go downstairs to get cream! Breakfast was available in the lobby, but it was way overpriced for what was offered, especially when compared to other places we stayed during this trip.

We would most likely not return to this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbimont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinga N, Vezető at Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries, responded to this review, 17 November 2015
Dear Sirs,

thank you for sharing your experiences with the Tripadvisor community. The entire staff do apologize that we were not able to provide you the expected service. We have taken note of all your inputs and trying to implement and improve all our service standards as high as we can.
Wishing you all the best and better hotel experiences than you had with us.

With my best regards,

Kinga Nagy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Crazy large rooms with custom furnishings, friendly service, and a good Innere Stadt location... the Starlight Suiten hotel in Vienna has it all going on, with a couple of puzzling glitches.

In such a nicely furnished property, why do the halls and rooms have ratty, stained carpeting? Similarly, our suite was basically awesome, but the bedspread and the upholstered seat of a chair were pretty disgusting. Strange, because in other respects the room furnishings are quite nice: granite, ceramic tile, leather furniture, nice linens... Hotel staff seem to be entirely made up of cute 20-something women who are cute, cheerful, helpful, and cute. Breakfast is ridiculously overpriced but you can find all sorts of alternatives within a few blocks.

Hard to imagine a better value in Vienna.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundogg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights on a recent trip to Vienna at this hotel with my wife and 5 year old son. I had a great experience and enjoyed my stay at the hotel. It is centrally located with easy access to the tube and other public transport services.
The hotel is within walking distance of the shopping streets and many tourist spots like the St. Stephen Cathedral. There are also a number of restaurants and cafes around the hotel that offer a great culinary experience.
The hotel itself has large spacious rooms with all features like a kitchen sink, microwave, dishes, etc - hence it is perfect for a family with small kids. The staff at the reception was also very helpful and helped us with recommendations on places to visit and how to go.
I would definitely recommend this place to others!

Room Tip: Avoid the 7th floor - the elevator does not go till there and you may have problems with carrying yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balaji V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

we were there a couple of nights, the air conditioning was not working throughout our stay. the staff didnot bother to inform us. we got to know only after we called the recption late at night after waiting couple of hours for the room to cool. initial reponse was they had given out all their fans and didnt have any more. shouting got us a rickety table fan half an hour later, which somehow saved us. we surely would have found a different hotel had the management informed when we checked in. the next morning they told us it wont be repaired for the next 3 days, we just decided to stay on as we were checking out early next morning. the hotel staff never offerred to refund the money btw. apologies were real perfunctory.
rooms are spacious. the location is nothing great, just at the edge of the circle.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank yashbiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinga N, Vezető at Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries, responded to this review, 17 November 2015
Dear Sirs,

thank you for staying with us in the Starlight Sutien Hotel and for your valuable feedback.
I am so sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations and that our staff was not able to satisfy all your needs. Since your last visit all the technical issues have been fixed and the staff has been trained how to handle issues and situations like this - we hope to have the chance welcoming you back and provide you as professional service as possible!

Wishing you all the best,

Kinga Nagy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#39 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Das Tigra
Hotel Das Tigra
#49 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#24 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#71 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries

Property: Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries
Address: Salzgries 12, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Vienna
#50 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#66 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#90 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starlight Suiten Hotel Wien Salzgries is located in the city centre of Vienna, 1st district. Thanks to the excellent location and the public transport connections, you can reach your destination within a very short time. You can easily walk to the most famous sights of the city in a few minutes, like St. Stephen's Cathedral, Mozart's house and the Imperial Apartments, or stroll through the Graben, the Carinthian Street and the Golden Quarter, three well-known shopping destinations in Vienna. The four-star suites of the hotel offer you the highest comfort in a modern atmosphere and the sauna and fitness areas are at your disposal for relaxing and training. Guests travelling by car- can avail themselves of our parking service. Our reception staffs are there for you round the clock and will be pleased to help you plan your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Suiten i Salzgries Hotel Vienna
Starlight Suiten i Salzgries Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing