We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Hotel Cristall Wien Messe
Ranked #325 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really Good Location”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just come back from a 3 night stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it! We were in a 4 person room expecting it to be a bit small but there was plenty of room for all of us. One thing I would say is that the beds were very soft and weren't particularly comfortable but everything was clean. The breakfast was what we expected, a good enough continental spread with enough choice for everyone. We arrived at the hotel 4 hours before check in but they let us check in and go straight to our room at 10am instead of 2pm and because our return flight wasn't until late in the evening, they let us store our luggage there for the day. It is a 2 minute walk from the Praterstern train station which is connected to the main railway, S-Bahns, U-Bahns and trams so it really is very easy to get around Vienna. We all bought a 72 Stunde Wien Fahrkarte which cost €14, giving us unlimited use of public transport for 3 days which was really good. The hotel also has free wifi available and has a laptop in the lobby which is free to use and if you need to print anything off it is only 20 cents. The hotel was great value for money especially considering that breakfast is included! The maids also folded our pyjamas and put them on the beds which was a nice touch too!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefP92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    48
    52
    26
    30
See reviews for
34
60
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Hotel is fine for the price. Hotel staff helpful. Breakfast is good. 10 minutes walk from subway station. Bed mattress very hard. Chair did not fit desk; it was more in the way then helpful. Need renovations. But room is clean

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mag47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Perfect place to go if unfamiliar with Worn and haven't booked anything in advance. No thrills, basic stuff, clean room, bathroom and toilet are separated, Prater is close. Wifi is good. Rooms are spacious, but are next to a big enough street.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denislev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We settled on the Cristall Hotel as we had not prebooked on our road trip and were getting tired of looking for a hotel. It was fine, nothing more. In fact, I did not like the weird bathroom in our room (which seemed like an afterthought/add-on room, it was one of those designed by a man who could care less about seeing his face in a well lit mirror and the shower was horrible). Extremely hot water (hazardous for small kids) and if you wanted a decent warm temperature shower, the water pressure was a mere trickle. Beds not comfortable, no lift, and worst, the breakfast was minimal, bland, and not very well attended (bacon ran out, no one refilled). I will say it is well connected as in near the metro and the Praterstern, but other than that, nowhere near anything that you would walk to. We are walkers, so we actually did walk for an hour or more and ended up having to get a taxi before seeing anything we were interested in.

Room Tip: Check water pressure and temperature if you are booking in person!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ploiesti, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Cristall Hotel is an excellent value hotel in the nearby of a transport node in Vienna - Praterstern, from where you can reach virtually any place in the city. The hotel is located at 7 minutes of walking from the U-bahn (metro), S-bahn (local train) station.
The hotel is clean and has all the desired facilities for that price level: TV, air conditioning, minibar, hair dryer and even free Wi-Fi Internet. Our room was very spacious; the toilet was separated from bathroom.

The staff is very friendly, helpful and polite. They gave us some tips regarding interesting things to do & see in Vienna. The room was cleaned and the towels were changed every day.

The breakfast was continental with a lot of chess, bacon, salami, ham, cereals, yoghurt, fruit juice, coffee, honey and very tasty bread. The breakfast room is very welcoming and has old style furniture.

I enjoyed the stay at Cristall Hotel and I would recommend it for your stay in Vienna!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilpricop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We were looking for a cheap room in a hotel near to the centre. Cristall Hotel fit the bill and met our needs.

It was very easy to get to the centre of Vienna on the U-Bahn (2 Euros for a day ticket) but there wasn't very much in the area around the hotel and it seemed a little grotty to me.

The hotel itself was a bit tired, but clean and presentable. We were content with our spacious room, but the beds weren't terribly comfortable. With no AC in the hotel, it was extremely hot as we were too close to the main road to have the windows open because of the noise of the traffic. For those that consider this sort of thing, there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

The bathroom was OK - the toilet was in a separate room from the sink and bath tub, and the shower couldn't stay upright so had to be taken off the wall and held, which my husband found annoying but I didn't mind. A hair dryer was attached to the wall in the bathroom, but the shampoo/shower gel was a cheap sachet so you'd be best off bringing your own.

The breakfast was a standard continental offer: cereals, yoghurt, tinned fruit (pineapple or peach), honey, ham, cheese, bread and marble cake, as well as scrambled egg and sausage or bacon. I don't eat much meat and would have appreciated some pastries for variety, but it would be unfair to criticise what was on offer.

Overall, you get what you pay for and we knew what to expect. We tend to use hotels as a base during our holidays so were satisfied with Cristall Hotel. We wouldn't especially recommend it, but if friends mentioned they were planning to stay here we'd tell them they would be OK.

Room Tip: The our room on the first floor at the front of the hotel was very hot as there was no A/C, but with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MmeRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We arrived from the airport after dark. The accessibility of Praterstern station was a major factor in my selection of hotel. We found the hotel easily using the Tegetthoff Statue as a landmark.
Also, the convenience of the station was valuable for accessing the City.
We enjoyed our breakfasts and have no complaint about our room. We found the staff were all friendly and obliging.
We were happy customers!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
#285 of 361 in Vienna
257 reviews
Wieden
Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof
Leopoldstadt
Arthotel ANA Adlon
Arthotel ANA Adlon
#216 of 361 in Vienna
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#156 of 361 in Vienna
1,607 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Odeon
Hotel Odeon
#280 of 361 in Vienna
81 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Praterstern
Hotel Praterstern
#241 of 361 in Vienna
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Cristall Wien Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Cristall Wien Messe

Property: Novum Hotel Cristall Wien Messe
Address: Franzensbrueckenstrasse 9, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Cristall Wien Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Cristall Wien is a hotel with tradition, where you can relax in a landscaped courtyard. The hotel is centrally located near the Praterstern, a few minutes from the largest amusement park in the city. The rooms are functional but stylishly furnished and have private bathroom with shower and toilet, satellite TV, connection for your laptop and hairdryer. A full buffet breakfast is served in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novum Hotel Cristall Wien Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristall Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing