We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheated Twice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Ranked #169 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights (11/27-12/2/2013) with my father-in-law who is handicapped. When I asked them a barrier-free room, they told me that I had to reserve a superior room with those equipments and I did so. When we arrived, the room was ready (the "barrier-free" room was end of the hallway. Why it is so far from elevators for people having difficulties of walk?). When we entered the room, found it was rather small (not superior room at all) and had strong smell of toilet (saw lots of stains of urine on the toilet floor). We opened a window but smell was never disappeared. But my father was too tired and we did not complain on the first day. Next morning when we came back from breakfast, we could not stand the smell any more and asked them to change the room. It took half a day to change but they did it (we assumed everybody complained about the room), the new room was twice bigger and bathroom was newly renovated with a large tub and separated shower (no smell anymore). But no equipment for handicapped person. Actually my father slipped in the shower room and he was afraid of washing himself since then. How they could do like this twice? They put us into a lower-ranked room (not what I paid for), we had to stay there for 4 more days if we did not complain?
At checking out I told a receptionist about this, and she said "sorry about that but next time will be perfect". There is no "NEXT TIME".

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akinewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger.
We are deeply sorry for the circumstances and that your stay wasn´t up to your expectations.
We would like to apologize for the problems with your room.
We have in our hotel three “barrier-free” rooms. On the day of your check in, we had just the “barrier-free” room you have got available. We would like to apologize for the circumstances with this room. On the next day we could move you into another room, the same category as you booked, our superior room which is also mentioned as “barrier-free”. We have also in this room equipment for handicapped person.
We regret that you felt uncomfortable during your stay at the ARCOTEL Wimberger and that our hotel left a negative impression. We want to make sure that you know that your experience according to your feedback was by no means up to our standard.
For us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guest.

Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to disprove your negative impression of the ARCOTEL Wimberger on your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We've been to Arcotel Wimberger last April and we stayed there 4 days...unfortunately not enough time to discover all the sightseeing that a city like Wien could offer.One of the nicest city we've ever been.The hotel is marvellous and has got a great wellness area free of charge located on the top floor with an amazing view.The hotel is very good located and has got very comfortable rooms,staff is really helpful and always available,breakfast is excellent and the restaurant is very beautiful.I promised my husband to come back for sure.He wants to go there very soon!!!!!!Many compliments to everyone.Annalisa e Domenico

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annalisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and we would like to welcome you in next future.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We went to Vienna in a family trip for the weekend and the hotel disappointed us because the family room was not as promoted (darker and old fashioned) and some people attending was not friendly. We have to admit the breakfast is very good (but getting a table is chaotic because is overbooked) and location is good. With proper selection and training could be a lot better hotel. The superior room was good and as advertised.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank sesog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your feedback.
We are very sorry for the circumstances during your stay and that you couldn´t enjoy your room.
For the next time we would like to offer you our new renovated rooms on the higher floors.
These rooms have a more modern design.
We also would like to apologise that our service left a negative impression and we want to make sure that you know that your experience according to your feedback was by no means up to our standard. For us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guests.
We already talked to all the departments which it concerns.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel, so we will convince you of our high quality service.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We went there for a weekend in November 2013 and found this hotel of being of a good value. The rooms have enough space and the bathrooms are big (at least in room 519 we had). There were two disadvantages: First, our room located at the front-side with the big traffic road just under the window, which required us to keep the windows closed all the time. At the same time, the air in the rooms was enormously dry which made us wake up several times during night to dring water. The breakfast provided sufficient variety, although it was pretty packed, especially as it closes at 10am, even during the weekend. Still, overall a good value. I experienced the sauna and the whirlpool as just great.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lerche35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We would like to apologise for the problems with your room. For the next time we would like to offer you a room to the inside.
It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed in oct end 2013. Location is very good -- 10 mins from the Westbahnof station. Please note its Westbahnof and not Hauptbhanof (Central station). If one does not want to all from Westbahnof to hotel you can take the tram number 6 or 18 to front of hotel.

Wifi free. No coffee or tea in room. Rooms are big and also has bathtub. Overall setup looks like an ancient hotel. Breakfast was euro 16 per person and so we didn't take it. Has lot of good restaurants nearby to hotel.

Didn't feel so good about the stay with kind of money spent. Mercure and intercity are other hotels nearby which can be considered as alternatives. Also a hotel called as Motel one on the Westbahnof seems to be recommended by locals.

Air conditioning was not proper. And if the window was opened the noise from the roads due to continuos traffic was disturbing.

Staff was polite and helpful, cleaning was good. But somehow didn't feel the money's worth stay.

Room Tip: Don't take road facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAB-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had the misfortune to stay here for 2 nights on a Globus tour in September and can't believe the great reviews this place is getting. We stayed in Room 132. A strange cramped room. No view except a wall and roof. A broken refrigerator door on an empty warm refrigerator which didn't shut properly and had a gap of light glowing all night long. The soap dispenser fell of the wall the first time it was used. The second day the beds were made up but no new towels, an empty tissue box and no toiletries. I asked a staff member who remedied the situation for us. The bath/shower had sluggish drainage. After both of us had a shower,we were having a shower in ankle/calf deep water.
At breakfast, a member of staff guarded an entire area of the breakfast room reserved for a large group to arrive apparently. None of which turned up. They were all probably integrated in the cramped and overcrowded area we all had to find seats in. In the end we stood by and waited for people to finish and sat in their uncleared seats. Staff seemed to always be busy but didn't seem to know how to clear tables quickly. The breakfast buffet was very good, but the chaos in the morning was unnecessary and frankly ridiculous.
Location is very close (100 metres) to the local BILA supermarket where we bought some shampoo and conditioner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your feedback.
Your feedback gives us the chance to improve and change our work procedures.
We are really sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay in our hotel.

We are also very sorry that there were some technical problems in your room. We already talked to our engineers and we would like you to know that everything is already fixed.
About the towels, we have to tell you, that there is a notice in the bathroom, that towels will be changed only if you put them on the floor because of environment.
We also would like to apologise for the situation at the breakfast.
We already talked to all our departments, that something like that will not happen again.

We would like you to know, that this in not standard in our house. The most important thing are satisfied guest, who would always like to return to our hotel.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel.
Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to disprove your negative impression of the ARCOTEL Wimberger.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Hotel lobby appears a little dated yet very clean and staff is helpful and friendly. The deluxe rooms were very large and updated. Again, very clean. Breakfast was one of the best I've seen around the world.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abby2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind feedback.
We are glad, that you enjoyed your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and it would be great to welcome you again in next future.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Alla Lenz Hotel
Alla Lenz Hotel
#221 of 359 in Vienna
100 reviews
Arcotel Kaiserwasser
#129 of 359 in Vienna
732 reviews
Neubau
Fleming's Conference Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Neubau
Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel Wimberger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel Wimberger Hotel

Address: Neubauguertel 34-36, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#121 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £53 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arcotel Wimberger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Wimberger is located in Vienna’s vibrant 7th district and is a charismatic hotel with 225 rooms. A legend in Vienna since 1871 the hotel remains a popular place for celebrities, artists and cosmopolitan types to stay.The hotel’s central location makes it perfect for fans of art and culture as well as those who love to shop. Close by are Vienna’s main shopping boulevard, the Mariahilfer Straße, the Wiener Stadthalle, the city’s major concert venue, and numerous galleries and boutiques. The city’s museum quarter is also just a few minutes away either on foot or by public transport.The hotel has its own restaurant, the Restaurant WIMBERGERs wia z'Haus which serves traditional Viennese dishes and also boasts the most famous brunch anywhere in the city - WIMBERGERs Jazzbrunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Arcotel Wimberger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Wimberger Vienna
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing