We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Restaurant Wia zhaus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Ranked #150 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Visit Restaurant Wia zhaus”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Bar in the down basement is wonderful the Restaurant Wiazhaus is a "time wasting experience" - better to visit Restaurants in the city - the rooms I don't know / the personal makes the impression to be well trained but they are not ambitious and motivated

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HMP123HMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger.
Thank you for your kind feedback about our bar.
We are sorry that our restaurant wasn´t up to your expectations. We would like to apologize that our service left a negative impression and we want to make sure that you know that your experience according to your feedback in our restaurant was by no means up to our standard.
We already talked to the department and we will make a retraining with our employees.
For us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guests.
Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to disprove your negative impression of our restaurant on your next stay.
Kind Regards, your ARCOTEL Wimberger team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    338
    159
    36
    38
See reviews for
136
308
54
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our flight back to London was cancelled that night so we were shipped out by Austrian Airways to spend the night here. We got there at 10pm and the staff opened up the restaurant, which I believe they have to do most weeks for cancelled flights!, and the charming waiter, older guy, could not have been more helpful, sorting out a vegetarian dinner for us. Next morning there were taxi issues, but the Desk staff were so helpful in sorting this out at 5.30 am, to ensure we got our new flight. Shame we couldn't have stayed longer to enjoy it! Not that central, but good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Front Office Manager at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your feedback in ARCOTEL Wimberger.
It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Staff are HORRIBLE, rude and basically ignore you. They took my credit card as a deposit in case something breaks and ended up withdrawing money from it which they had no right to do. They assured me that the deposit had not been taken but I realised after the holiday that it had. After emailing them post my holiday the money came back into the account.

They did not even try to help you find the tourist areas. The halls smell badly. The gym or spa area is cold and on the top floor and run certain hours only. There have slippers but the floor is wet and you run the risk of getting injured.

The only thing good was the breakfast which was quite big and nice. The hotel location was OK too. Room size was OK but the rooms could be facing the streets and quity noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your feedback. We are sorry that your stay wasn´t up to your expectations.
It has a big impact on us to read that our staff is horrible and we want to make sure that you know that your experience according to your feedback was by no means up to our standard. For all of us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guests.
About the deposit we can tell you that this is an international standard in hotel business and we take it from all guests at time of check in. This deposit is just a guarentee if our guests would like to consume extras in our hotel bar or restaurant. After check out it will be automatically cancelled from our side.
Our wellness and fitness area is open from 6 o´clock in the morning until midnight and every hour our housekeeping staff makes sure that the area is tidy and clean. We are very sorry that you had a different impression.
Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to disprove your negative impression of the ARCOTEL Wimberger on your next stay.
Kind Regards,
ARCOTEL Wimberger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Nothing to complain about, really. My room was looking at the main street, but windows are soundproof and there were no problems with the noise. The room I stayed in was a little bit dark, but very clean and spacious. Bed was comfortable, I had three nights of good sleep there. Breakfast was OK too. Comparing the price with value I got, I would say this hotel was a very good choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and it would be great to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during my husband's business trip to Vienna. The company he was visiting booked it as it was close to their offices.

I first thought we were staying in a superior room because it was so spacious, but a look at the minibar prices and the fact that the internet was definitely not highspeed made me realize it was probably a comfort room. And comfortable it was!

It faced the back and not the busy road. Therefore it was rather quiet except for the extraction pipes which we could hear if we left the window open at night. This didn't bother us much since it was a monotonous noise like from an air conditioner unit.

The beds were very comfortable, the room was large and it had a good bathroom, although the toilet paper was just about the roughest I have ever experienced anywhere. It reminded me more of an army camp than of a **** hotel! Coffee making facilities would have been nice instead of the overpriced mini bar (1 bottle of mineral water 0,75 l € 4,80, nut-fruit-mix € 6,00).

Breakfast was super with a large choice of everything. I especially appreciated the great variety of different kinds of bread! The staff could be friendlier and at least wish a good morning when you enter.

The hotel is located within an easy walk to Westbahnhof. It takes exactly 5 stops and 5 minutes by underground to get right into the centre of Vienna (single ticket: € 2,10). Near the Westbahnhof are lots of shops, bakeries and take-aways in the bustling Mariahilfer Strasse.

We were very happy with our stay and can definitely recommend this hotel!
If it had coffee making facilities, softer toilet paper and friendlier staff I would rate it 5 out of 5!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hirondelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Front Office Manager at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for your stay at ARCOTEL Wimberger Vienna and that you have given us a feedback.
You feedback give us the chance to improve our operational procedures because for us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guests.
We are glad that you enjoy your stay and we want to apologise, that our service left a negative impression and we want to make sure that you know that your experience according to your feedback in our hotel was by means up to our standard.
About the Minibar we want to inform you, that the whole Minibar and the High Speed Internet Access is included if you book a Superior Room.
Coffee making facilities are in the Junior Suites or Suites available.
We want to apologise but also to thank you for your feedback about the flaws during your stay.
It would be great to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Kind regards,

your ARCOTEL Wimberger team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Everything about the Wimberger (as the locals call it) has a certain touch of class.

There are more upmarket hotels in Vienna, but this one has a very good combination of quality, price, location and service. That's enough to be going on with.

Staff in the ample-sized reception area are very helpful. You may need to check what exact sort of room you getting, and what you are paying for - since they have an array which includes Comfort, Comfort Deluxe, Superior, Junior Suite and possibly more. Ours was Comfort Deluxe, which included the usual minibar, safe, TV and free wifi. Overall room quality was good, and had a decent bath in the bathroom (I hate hotels that provide shower only).

Breakfast was included in the price, and was a very high quality buffet, served up to 10.00 am (but not a second beyond that).

Public transport links are good - 5 mins walk to the U station, and several trams passing up and down by the front door.

Overall reaction - positive

Room Tip: Check exactly what kind of room you are getting, and how much the "extras" are costing you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dec105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Front Office Manager at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger Vienna and also for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your room and the quality of our house.
You feedback give us the chance to improve our operational procedures because for us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guests.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

your ARCOTEL Wimberger team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a good one for your duty break in Vienna. Situated 5 mins walk from Westbahnhof station, we did't have any problems using the subway to get about. Also we felt safe and didn't see any 'dodgy' areas as per the previous comment. The room was good, we were offered an upgrade which for an extra amount which would have included high speed internet and the contents of the mini bar, but we felt that it didn't justify paying the extra for us. Did feel that the high speed internet should have been free through out the hotel though.
We didn't have breakfast as we thought it was too expensive and instead went out and had a brunch on our travels.
The staff were pleasant and helped out with any queries we had. The rooms were clean and comfortable

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DanieleJollyRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed our service and the room. About the internet we can tell you that we have it for free in all our rooms. Just for the high speed internet you have to pay extra when you are not in an upgraded room.
We hope that we will welcome you again in our hotel in next future.
Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Arcotel Kaiserwasser
#128 of 360 in Vienna
655 reviews
Neubau
Fleming's Hotel Wien-Westbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
IntercityHotel Vienna
IntercityHotel Vienna
#162 of 360 in Vienna
588 reviews
Margareten
Ibis Wien City
Ibis Wien City
#106 of 360 in Vienna
878 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#55 of 360 in Vienna
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel Wimberger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel Wimberger Hotel

Property: Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Address: Neubauguertel 34-36, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#110 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arcotel Wimberger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Wimberger is located in Vienna’s vibrant 7th district and is a charismatic hotel with 225 rooms. A legend in Vienna since 1871 the hotel remains a popular place for celebrities, artists and cosmopolitan types to stay.The hotel’s central location makes it perfect for fans of art and culture as well as those who love to shop. Close by are Vienna’s main shopping boulevard, the Mariahilfer Straße, the Wiener Stadthalle, the city’s major concert venue, and numerous galleries and boutiques. The city’s museum quarter is also just a few minutes away either on foot or by public transport.The hotel has its own restaurant, the Restaurant WIMBERGERs wia z'Haus which serves traditional Viennese dishes and also boasts the most famous brunch anywhere in the city - WIMBERGERs Jazzbrunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arcotel Wimberger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Wimberger Vienna
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing