We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is perfect, except for housekeeping.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Ranked #164 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Everything is perfect, except for housekeeping.The maid does not want to change the towels every day and toalet paper. She entered the room and same dirty towels set as they are clean.
liquid soap is not enough, just at the bottom of the bottle.
We had to ask the receptionist for the that service.

Food is awesome in plentiful, employees at the reception also, rooms are comfortable, wi-fi is free and very strong.
Almost excellent, but housekeeping acts as if working in a hotel with two stars, not with four.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Марко С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay but we would like to apologize for the problems with our housekeeping staff. We would like you to know that we already talked to our employees and that we made a retraining with our staff.
It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel and that you will give us the opportunity to disprove this negative impression of the ARCOTEL Wimberger.
Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Really pleased with both the hotel and the staff. Excellent value for money and located within a short walk to underground and main line rail links. Definitely take the upgrade if you are offered and you like a drink! 15 Euros for an upgraded room, unlimited fast WiFi and the mini-bar included....this was an excellent offer! We had to check 3 times that all drinks from the mini-bar were included! The staff were really helpful both with hotel matters and advice on where to go (and with very good English). I would certainly return here and highly recommend.
Top tips:
Cafes and restaurants cheaper away from the Stephensplatz.
The Underground is excellent and cheap and get the ticket for unlimited travel for the duration of your stay.
The bus tours are not cheap and you can get everywhere by foot or underground...do a bit of research.
Museums are not free, all around 10 Euros each but would recommend the Museum of Technology.
The Schonnbrun Palace is amazing and free to walk around the grounds.
If you are in Vienna in July and August head for behind the town hall (Rathaus) in the evening for a great free night of culture and inexpensive food at one of the stalls.......this is kept a bit of a secret by the locals!
If you don't book in advance Budapest return is 82 Euros but Bratislava is a great day trip for 15 Euros return and the beer is a third of the price compared to Vienna!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennymoore19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your kind feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and also the upgraded room.
It would be great to welcome you again in ARCOTEL Wimberger.
Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is average and, in a basic sense, satisfactory, but there are pros and cons of which a potential user should be aware. The pros are simple: it is modern, quiet (when the windows are shut), spacious, with a nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. The bellhop is VERY helpful. Its air conditioning is adequate. The cons are more complex. The television in my room did not work until the bellhop fixed it. The password for the Internet changes daily, but you are not told that. The front desk staff is mixed: the young man speaks English well and is very pleasant; the young ladies are somewhat grumpy and not helpful. I did not use the dining room, which seemed empty, and the surrounding area of this hotel features sex shops and vacant shops--along with some restaurants. The bar was a disaster: three out of four drinks were botched up on the first order; after the second, the waiter disappeared, and when I went searching for him I found no waiter or bartender anywhere. If I had been by myself I would have left without paying. Eventually the waiter appeared. The advertising is slightly misleading in that it says the hotel is just steps from the Museum Quarter; it is a good 20-25 minute walk.
So all in all it was so-so. I might or might not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darwin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your feedback. We are sorry for the circumstances and that your stay was not really up to your expectations.
We would like to apologize for the service at the reception and on the bar. We made a retraining with our employees and we want to make sure that you know that your experience according to your feedback was by no means up to our standard. For us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guests.
About the advertising of our location we would like to tell you, that we checked all sites in the internet and we could not find a description that our hotel is located just a few steps from the Museums Quarter. On all pages it is written that it takes you 15 to 20 minutes walk to reach the Museums Quarter. It would be very helpful if you could send us the link of the page where you saw this kind of advertising.
Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to disprove your negative impression of the ARCOTEL Wimberger on your next stay.
Kind Regards your ARCOTEL Wimberger team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was a clean modern hotel food good and the rooms clean and comfortable, we were at the front over the main road but it was quiet, and we both had a good night sleep, there was two Apples left for us, which was a lovely touch.
Free Wi-Fi, and the staff at front desk gave us information on what Metro to use

WELL done Wimberger

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your kind feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and it would be great to welcome you again in ARCOTEL Wimberger.
Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

After 6 days in London and Paris when we walked into this hotel, it was...OMG! Modern and clean. Huge, huge room with huge bathroom. Comfortable beds, quality linens and pillows, air conditioning, wi-fi. Our room was on the 4th floor, facing front. It was quiet and barely noticed traffic noise. At first thought the location was a bit off, but by day 2 found that a 30 minute walk gets you to all the sites or 5-8 minute walk gets you to the underground or the tram. For less than 8 euro an all day pass gets you anywhere on public transportation in the city. There are 4 elevators, so there was never a wait. Also, for an extra charge, there was parking on site. The staff, although helpful, was not necessarily overly friendly. I felt that if I asked more than one question, I was a bother. I think a concierge would do them well instead of the staff multi tasking. Also, it was a bit hard to get ice. This is a definite "return to" hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely worth the few extra bucks to upgrade to larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NIck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we would like you to know that for us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guests.
We would like to apologize that you didn´t feel treated overly friendly by our front desk staff. We made a retraining with our employees and we want to make sure that you know that your experience according to your feedback was by no means up to our standard.
It would be great to welcome you again in ARCOTEL Wimberger in next furture.
Kind Regards, your ARCOTEL Wimberger team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Very good hotel, near the metro station. Not too far from the center of Wien (20-30 minutes on foot).
Good spacious room, renovated, complimentary 0.75l bottle of mineral water each day, all amenities in the bathroom, and bathroom itself is very comfortable.
Clean bed linen and towels. Towels are fresh every day.
Internet free of charge and fast enough.
Really rich breakfast. Waiters in restaurant start to take away buffet much later than at 10 am and always ask if anyone needs something else from the buffet.
Polite staff.
Safe undeground parking in a hotel.

What we did not like: It is allowed to smoke in lobby and it is awful.
Smoked salmon (the only fish for the breakfast) was available at breakfast buffet only on working days, on weekend not, probably because of the much bigger quantity of tourists in a hotel.
We had a room on the 5th floor opposite elevators (508). Some mechanical noise was heard from the upper room, probably there was a technical room for elevators.

I would recommend this hotel to stay in Wien.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FrauWolpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your kind feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and also that you enjoyed our service. For us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guests.
About the smoke in the lobby, we would like to tell you, that there is no smoking area anywhere in our hotel. The only possibilty for guests who smoke is in our garden.
About the salmon at the breakfast and the mechanical noise in your room we would like to apologize and we would like you to know that we already talked to the responsible employees.
It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel in next future.
Kind Regards, your ARCOTEL Wimberger team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Attentive and friendly staff, excellent service and delicious Breakfast!
Spacious room with comfortable beds and 2 full-length mirrors :)), free Wi-Fi.
Good location (5 min. walking to metro, 10 min. - Westbahnhof) - is the ideal hotel for tourists.

Thanks to all staff for their work! For us all was OK! If we will again in Vienna, be sure, we will stay at Arcotel. We will recommend your hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank OLyubanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Front Office Manager at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear guest,

first of all we want to thank you for your stay at ARCOTEL Wimberger Vienna and also, that you have given us a feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Your ARCOTEL Wimberger Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#65 of 358 in Vienna
1,158 reviews
Landstraße
NH Wien Belvedere
NH Wien Belvedere
#98 of 358 in Vienna
1,350 reviews
Neubau
IntercityHotel Vienna
IntercityHotel Vienna
#154 of 358 in Vienna
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Fleming's Conference Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel Wimberger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel Wimberger Hotel

Address: Neubauguertel 34-36, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#118 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £58 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arcotel Wimberger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Wimberger is located in Vienna’s vibrant 7th district and is a charismatic hotel with 225 rooms. A legend in Vienna since 1871 the hotel remains a popular place for celebrities, artists and cosmopolitan types to stay.The hotel’s central location makes it perfect for fans of art and culture as well as those who love to shop. Close by are Vienna’s main shopping boulevard, the Mariahilfer Straße, the Wiener Stadthalle, the city’s major concert venue, and numerous galleries and boutiques. The city’s museum quarter is also just a few minutes away either on foot or by public transport.The hotel has its own restaurant, the Restaurant WIMBERGERs wia z'Haus which serves traditional Viennese dishes and also boasts the most famous brunch anywhere in the city - WIMBERGERs Jazzbrunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Arcotel Wimberger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Wimberger Vienna
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing