We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Ranked #168 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed at Arcotel Wimberger for 2 nights travelling with a small baby! We had booked a comfort double but were upgraded due to a large group in the hotel! The room we were upgraded to was very spacious but we were put in a twin room rather than double! Having said that the beds were very comfortable and we weren't worried about having 2 single beds! The room was also quiet which was important travelling with a baby!
The buffet breakfast was great with large variety of food and always replenished! The first morning was like feeding time at the zoo with a large bus group all at breakfast at once with many rude people pushing and shoving to get to the buffet but that's not anything to fault the hotel on!
The location of the hotel is great if you want to be close to transport and was about a 20min walk to the old town and the Hofburg palace!
Overall we had a pleasant stay here and would consider staying again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your kind feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and it would be great to welcome you again in future.
Kind Regards, your ARCOTEL Wimberger team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Located just a short walk away from Wien West Bahnhof and the Maria Hilfer shopping district, this is an old but charming hotel. The newly renovated rooms are well appointed. Wi if is free. Breakfast spread is amazing and there is a nice cozy Joe's bar where you can relax. Friendly staff make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LalgudiRaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

About our 3 nights/4 days reservation at this hotel, I can only have appreciative remarks. We had one standard double room, on the 3rd floor. It was spacious, clean, comfortable, with all necessary pieces of furniture, with AC and a small fridge (not a mini-bar) and a safe included. On our arrival, we were asked if we want to change the room with a deluxe one, with high-speed internet connection and mini-bar included, for extra 15 euros per night. We declined the offer. We didn’t have a spectacular room view as the window faced an interior yard with the fire-escape stairs, but we didn’t yearned for one anyway. Because of this view, it was all so quiet. Exactly want we have wanted! And the bed… OMG! Phenomenal!!! We slept better then at home! And after a long feet-killing day, want more could you want if not a relaxing and restful sleep! The bathroom was also spacious, clean with all necessary appliances. Our internet connection was good, from our phones, we didn’t have to stay by or at the door as I have read in some other reviews.

And I’ve got to my favorite part: the breakfast. Only one word can describe it: ABUNDANCE. We should have booked 2 weeks so we could have tasted everything. And not only the quantity was impressive, but also products quality. It would be unfair from me to try and make a list of everything. I would most definitely forget something. So if you are curious, I’ll be glad to share further details.

Additionally, the hotel is exceptionally located: 5 min slow-walk from Burggasse/Stadhalle station or 10 min slow-walk from Westbahnhof station. Also, there is a Billa supermarket right by the hotel.

Hotel personnel was professional, discreet, kind.

All these being said, I kindly and sincerely recommend this hotel! And if I ever have another chance of visiting Vienna or another city with a hotel form ARCOTEL group, that will definitely be the first choice!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Corina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your really kind feedback.
It´s nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and it would be great to welcome you again in next future.
Kind Regards, your ARCOTEL Wimberger team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Location of this hotel is great. It's close to metro stations and within walking distance of the shopping street (Mariahilfstrasse or something like that). There is also some restaurants and shops close to this hotel.

Parking of this hotel was very clearly guided and the parking lots were surprisingly big. I liked that part much.

Room was nice and clean combined with unique details (like apples on the wall). Cleaners are doing good job. I had some problems with room upgrade / fast Wifi etc. but it was handled very nicely by Hotel Manager afterwards.

I would most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tommypee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Everything is perfect, except for housekeeping.The maid does not want to change the towels every day and toalet paper. She entered the room and same dirty towels set as they are clean.
liquid soap is not enough, just at the bottom of the bottle.
We had to ask the receptionist for the that service.

Food is awesome in plentiful, employees at the reception also, rooms are comfortable, wi-fi is free and very strong.
Almost excellent, but housekeeping acts as if working in a hotel with two stars, not with four.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Марко С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay but we would like to apologize for the problems with our housekeeping staff. We would like you to know that we already talked to our employees and that we made a retraining with our staff.
It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel and that you will give us the opportunity to disprove this negative impression of the ARCOTEL Wimberger.
Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Really pleased with both the hotel and the staff. Excellent value for money and located within a short walk to underground and main line rail links. Definitely take the upgrade if you are offered and you like a drink! 15 Euros for an upgraded room, unlimited fast WiFi and the mini-bar included....this was an excellent offer! We had to check 3 times that all drinks from the mini-bar were included! The staff were really helpful both with hotel matters and advice on where to go (and with very good English). I would certainly return here and highly recommend.
Top tips:
Cafes and restaurants cheaper away from the Stephensplatz.
The Underground is excellent and cheap and get the ticket for unlimited travel for the duration of your stay.
The bus tours are not cheap and you can get everywhere by foot or underground...do a bit of research.
Museums are not free, all around 10 Euros each but would recommend the Museum of Technology.
The Schonnbrun Palace is amazing and free to walk around the grounds.
If you are in Vienna in July and August head for behind the town hall (Rathaus) in the evening for a great free night of culture and inexpensive food at one of the stalls.......this is kept a bit of a secret by the locals!
If you don't book in advance Budapest return is 82 Euros but Bratislava is a great day trip for 15 Euros return and the beer is a third of the price compared to Vienna!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennymoore19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your kind feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and also the upgraded room.
It would be great to welcome you again in ARCOTEL Wimberger.
Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is average and, in a basic sense, satisfactory, but there are pros and cons of which a potential user should be aware. The pros are simple: it is modern, quiet (when the windows are shut), spacious, with a nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. The bellhop is VERY helpful. Its air conditioning is adequate. The cons are more complex. The television in my room did not work until the bellhop fixed it. The password for the Internet changes daily, but you are not told that. The front desk staff is mixed: the young man speaks English well and is very pleasant; the young ladies are somewhat grumpy and not helpful. I did not use the dining room, which seemed empty, and the surrounding area of this hotel features sex shops and vacant shops--along with some restaurants. The bar was a disaster: three out of four drinks were botched up on the first order; after the second, the waiter disappeared, and when I went searching for him I found no waiter or bartender anywhere. If I had been by myself I would have left without paying. Eventually the waiter appeared. The advertising is slightly misleading in that it says the hotel is just steps from the Museum Quarter; it is a good 20-25 minute walk.
So all in all it was so-so. I might or might not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darwin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your feedback. We are sorry for the circumstances and that your stay was not really up to your expectations.
We would like to apologize for the service at the reception and on the bar. We made a retraining with our employees and we want to make sure that you know that your experience according to your feedback was by no means up to our standard. For us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guests.
About the advertising of our location we would like to tell you, that we checked all sites in the internet and we could not find a description that our hotel is located just a few steps from the Museums Quarter. On all pages it is written that it takes you 15 to 20 minutes walk to reach the Museums Quarter. It would be very helpful if you could send us the link of the page where you saw this kind of advertising.
Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to disprove your negative impression of the ARCOTEL Wimberger on your next stay.
Kind Regards your ARCOTEL Wimberger team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Arcotel Kaiserwasser
#128 of 359 in Vienna
739 reviews
Neubau
Fleming's Conference Hotel Wien
Neubau
Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Alla Lenz Hotel
Alla Lenz Hotel
#227 of 359 in Vienna
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel Wimberger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel Wimberger Hotel

Address: Neubauguertel 34-36, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#120 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £58 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arcotel Wimberger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Wimberger is located in Vienna’s vibrant 7th district and is a charismatic hotel with 225 rooms. A legend in Vienna since 1871 the hotel remains a popular place for celebrities, artists and cosmopolitan types to stay.The hotel’s central location makes it perfect for fans of art and culture as well as those who love to shop. Close by are Vienna’s main shopping boulevard, the Mariahilfer Straße, the Wiener Stadthalle, the city’s major concert venue, and numerous galleries and boutiques. The city’s museum quarter is also just a few minutes away either on foot or by public transport.The hotel has its own restaurant, the Restaurant WIMBERGERs wia z'Haus which serves traditional Viennese dishes and also boasts the most famous brunch anywhere in the city - WIMBERGERs Jazzbrunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arcotel Wimberger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Wimberger Vienna
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing