We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostels can be better than this "4 star hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Ranked #151 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

First, this is not a four star hotel, this is more like a hostel. Rooms are way too small, bad furniture with terrible quality, no air conditioning in the rooms. Cleanliness is also poor and staff is totally useless.

Room Tip: All rooms are bad, just avoid this place.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paulo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

First of all, I want to thank you for your feedback! It helps us to improve our service.
I am very sorry, that you didn't enjoy your stay in our hotel. It's true, we do not have air conditioning in our hotel, there are only a few comfort rooms with A/C which is available for a little extra charge, also the hotel Lobby and breakfast Lounge is airconditioned.
The sice of the rooms are all in the for star cathegory, but sure, there are some smaller and some bigger once. Just let us know on time of reservation that you prefer a bigger room and there is still the opportunity to book a comfort room.
For sure, I will talk to our hotel staff. The rooms have to be clean, that's top priority, and they also have to be friendly and helpfull!
I hope you accacpt our appologies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

The Viennart hotel has a perfect location right next to the Museumsquartier, 2 Min from Mariahilfer shopping street, 10 Min walk from the Naschmarkt, and right at the romantice Spittelberg.
It´s a new hotel, with clean rooms. A great breakfast buffet where one can order fresh eggs and make your own fresh veggie / fruit juice. Day and night coffee and cold beverages for free at a self service station. I like the free WLAN, especially since there is still hotels that charge a lot of money for it. I would recommend a "blue" room to the back, since the "red" rooms could face the front street which has a streetcar, I don´t mind but some people are sensitive to city sounds.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

the location of the hotel is quite good for sightseeing, and the spacious clean lobby is terrific. free juices, coffee and tea are available for all guests, just help yourself. The free wifi through the hotel is great, with 2 Mac PCs in the lobby for guests as well.

one problem we had was that the room had no air con, and we were not told upon check in. the weather during our summer trip was mid 20s and quite unbearable in the room at night unless we opened the window, letting in street noise.

The bathroom is a bit pokey and the shower in the bath gives you wet floors.

Another disappointing occurrence was when we complained about no aircon by calling reception, we were first told there are no other rooms available.

Then when heading out to a busy day of sightseeing in the morning, we spoke at the front desk where they told us that there was a suite available with aircon but it would cost us 30 Euro a night extra. We refused this on principal and thought that they should have had the common sense to upgrade us for our last night at no expense, especially since the room wasn't booked.

Otherwise this had many pluses with a good location and a supermarket across the road. Don't forget to eat at the beer garden across the road, down the steps.

1  Thank Jono_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 May 2013

It's in the artsy-fartsy museum quarter. I mean right across the street from it. That's great and so is the service and the breakfast and the bedding, but that's all. I have a couple of big problems and a couple of small problems. BP1: to lock the door it takes a key. So when leaving the room one needs to lock the door, ok, but if your spouse is in the room, she's locked in and cannot get out unless the front desk gives you two keys on check-in, and they do not; BP2: breakfast is WAY over priced for anyone (like me) who has coffee and a pastry, and maybe juice (liquids are free, BTW, all day long). So, the doughnut in fact costs 15 Euros. That's too much. And small problems: SP1: the room was not aired out upon our arrival and so it smelled; SP2: it is not air conditioned; SP3: it's noisy on the street below because the artsy-fartsy folks are young, drunk, and clueless.

Room Tip: Upgrade and eat their big smorgasbord, or stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thank you for your time to give us some feedback! It helps us to improve our services.
I am sorry, you did't get a second key. Our reception staff is instructed to give second keys if guests ask for it. I will talk to them, so it won't be a problem anymore for other guests. Next year, we sould get key-cards, so that should not be a problem anymore at all.
Concerning the breakfast, we can not make differences between a small breakfast and a full breakfast, as it is a buffet and people can take as much as they want.
I will also talk to our housekeeping staff, there has to be fresh air in the room, i totally agree with you.
It's true, we do not have airconditioning. There are comfort rooms with airconditioning, so you could just ask at the reception for an upgrade in a comfort room what we offer for just a little extra charge.
I hope, you still had a nice stay in Vienna and in our hotel and we would be happy, to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The location is good - not far from the metro station (2 minutes on foot) and the city centre (20 minutes on foot).

Free WiFi is a benefit but you need to regularly renew the pasword at reception.The staff is very polite and helpful.

The room is very small (we stayed at standard room), it seemed that the bathroom is of the same size. But we stayed for 1 night only, therefore it was ok. The room was furnished very nicely. Others say, there is no air-conditioning in the building - we have no need as stayed in October.

The bathroom was very impressive - it was completely white, very clean, very large but warm. Lots accessories such as shower gel, shampoo, shaver, tothbrashes, etc. were provided which was really unexpected from 4 stars hotel.

Beverages for free are at your disposal in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback! It's nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
On this way, i also want to inform you, that we just changed the system for wi-fi and it is much easier now!
Maybe you can find out yourself! We would be happy to welcoming you again in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is a great hotel, highly recommended!
Location: less than five minutes to Museums Quartier (one of the entrances to Museums Quartier is right across the street), and maybe 15 minutes walking from the historic district (through the main tourist areas). From the street it is a bit hard to spot, but our taxi got us there without a problem.
Interior: very modern and clean. There is a 24/7 bar with free non-alcoholic beverages, great for getting water/coffee/tea/juice/etc.
Rooms: not too large, but clean. The top floor has rooms with slanted ceilings that follow the contour of the roof. We did not notice much noise.
Breakfast: 15 euro. There are lots of cafes in the area, however, that are a great alternative.
Staff: extremely helpful. We asked for restaurant recommendations and a map and got both.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taisia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback - and the nice picture of our lobby - and the time you spent, for writing those lines. It helps us to improve our service and other guests to decide for a hotel!
We are very happy to hear, that you liked our hotel and we would be happy to welcome you or your friends again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel is perfect for a weekend in Vienna - the street is linked by a stairway to the Museumsquartier, a few minutes from the Art History and Natural History museums, a short walk to the Stephansdom and just off the Ring.
Our room was comfortable, the bathroom well-appointed and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Having coffee and soft drinks available all day in the ground floor lounge is a nice touch. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Top floor Blue section quiet with good views
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taistealoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback and the time for writings some words! We are very happy to hear, that you liked the stay in our hotel and we would be happy to welcome you again! Your Hotel ViennArt-Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#87 of 361 in Vienna
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#245 of 361 in Vienna
235 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Mariahilf
Mercure Secession Wien
Mercure Secession Wien
#127 of 361 in Vienna
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier

Address: Breite Gasse 9, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#117 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £62 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art, Design & Joie de VivreIn our house, you will enjoy the most modern comfort in our stylish rooms and a warm hospitality. A special highlight is the location in the idyllic, vibrant, and creative area at the Spittelberg, right next to one of the most important museum complexes in the world, with the Museum of Natural History and the Museum of Art History, as well as the trendy Museumsquartier. The impressive Ringstraße with the imperial residence „Hofburg“, the theatre „Burgtheater“, and the public gardens “Burggarten” and “Volksgarten” is within walking distance.• odern 4-star boutique hotel directly at the Museumsquartier• perfect downtown location in immediate vicinity of the most important sights such as the Hofburg with the Spanish Riding School and the Sissi Apartments, the Wiener Ringstraße with the Opera, the City Hall, the theater “Burgtheater “…• 60 standard or superior rooms and suites with bath tub or shower, toilet, telephone, satellite TV with Sky channels, safe, radio, minibar, hair-dryer, and make-up mirror• rich buffet breakfast with Austrian quality products• free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel• free PC use with free internet access in the hotel lobby• free drinks in our “Café Lounge” (coffee, tea, juice) from 12:00 to 24:00• underground stops of U2 & U3 in immediate vicinity of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austrotel Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing