We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, average hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Ranked #133 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Amersham
Level Contributor
202 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good location, average hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Located in he 7th district Viennart is well placed to see the less fancy side of Vienna. The MQ offers lots of interesting tourist sights and places to visit just a short walk from the hotel.

The room we had was clean with all you expect but with quite uninspiring decor for an "art" hotel. There is no air-con so in summer we could not recommend this hotel, with the windows open the street noise is disturbing and goes on well into the early hours.

Staff are very friendly and are very happy to help.

Breakfast at €15 seems a bit expensive when there are many cafes in the MQ offering similar for €9 or less.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazy_amersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback and the time you spent for writing it! It helps us to improve our services and other guests to decide for a hotel!
It's good to hear, that you like the location of our hotel!
As we offer a buffet breakfast and you can drink as much coffee, tea and juices and eat as much as you want, and we offer a wide range of austrian quality products the price seems to be in the average compared to other similar offers in this area. Of course you can have cheaper breakfast somewhere else, it always depends, what you want and what you get.
We do also have rooms to the court or the more quiet back-street, so if you come back to Vienna we would be happy to welcoming you again in our hotel and we can book a more quiet room for you!
As all rooms are designed in a different style, we could book a different room for you the next time, and see if you like it more, or book a superior room with modern design and first-class facilities!
We would be happy to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    263
    127
    31
    14
See reviews for
97
290
58
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey
Level Contributor
227 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I just love this hotel, we stayed 7 years ago and it has been totally refurbished which has made it even better. The foyer and breakfast room are lovely and so was our room. Fourth floor, comfortable and spacious and lovely. Everything about this hotel is relay great, the buffet breakfast has really wide choice to start the day...including a glass of fizz ! The staff are friendly, smiling and helpful which is unusual in city centre hotels . As for the location it's perfect, smack bang on the Museum Quarter, Spittelberg and the Kuntshistorisches Museuem plus the U bahn and the trams . Ten out of ten,well done!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanneAlbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thanks a lot for your feedback and the time you spent to write it! We are very delighted that you enjoyed to stay in our hotel! I will forward it to our staff as well!
We would be happy to welcoming you, your friends or family again in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile


This is a lovely hotel in a great location, very central near U bahn station Volkstheater and the trams of the Ringstrasse. We stayed here seven years ago and the hotel has been refurbished since then making it even better. Our room was terrific , on the top floor, large and comfortable. the staff are really friendly and helpful too. Breakfast was excellent, everything that you could wish for and a glass of fizz too!! Spittelberg is a great location for an evening wander with plenty of bars and a wide range of restaurants plus the Museum Quarter is across the road. We have had a great time in Vienna and the hotel made it so much better. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely love to stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I went to Vienna at the end of Sept. Just when it started getting cool. The hotel was conveniently located, and got a 4 star rating, which is why we picked it. We arrived in the afternoon, and the hotel staff were welcoming. The stairs that you have to carry your suitcases up at the entrance did not make for an inviting first impression.
The weather was cool, it was in the 40 degrees F at night, and 60 degrees F during the day. It made for some very cold nights in the room.. Apparently, the old water boiler heat system was not very efficient, and the room was very cold. The hotel staff were quick to provide extra blankets and try to fix the heat, but it still did not work very well. The free coffee/juice was nice, along with free wi-fi in the rooms was a plus. It would have been nice to be allowed to enjoy the free cappuccino up in the room, which would have helped to keep us warm.
We only found out that this hotel did not have A/C when we checked in, apparently they have a few rooms with basic A/C but there is an extra charge, and after the extra charge, you would be better off to book a different hotel. The hotel room also smelled like smoke when we requested non-smoking, and with the lack of heat + smell of smoke, we did not have good sleep.

Had we known about the lack of A/C, we would have booked elsewhere, and probably enjoyed our stay in Vienna a lot more. But, unfortunately for us, we prepaid. Won't make that mistake again. They really should work on getting A/C in all the rooms, and it wouldn't be too bad of a hotel, but I would definitely recommend passing on this hotel in Vienna.

Room Tip: If you insist on staying here, get a room with A/C!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
First of all, I want to thank you for your feedback and the time you spent for writing it. It helps other people to decide for a hotel and us, to improve our services.
I am really sorry for the inconveniences in our hotel. With 1.11.2013 we will be a complete non-smoking hotel, so the problem with the smell of smoke will be solved.
We only have air-conditioning in our Suites and some of our Junior Suites and comfort rooms, so there is an extra charge for the higher room-category if you booked a standard room.
I also want to appologize for the problem with the heating. When we change from summer to winter it takes some time until everything works properly and the cool temperatures came very early, also this should not be a problem anymore.
I still hope that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel is 5 minutes walk from Volkstheater underground station. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Room was on top floor, blue side. Very quiet though no views because Velux windows in the roof showed roof of opposite building. Having said that, because it overlooks narrow alley, there wouldn't be any view to see in any case, and privacy maintained.

Bed was comfortable, but the TV was a real delight, huge flat screen with HD. Ensuite space was cosy, shower functional. No noise from neighbouring rooms and had good nights sleep.

If you come out of Hotel entrance and turn right and keep walking you come to T junction, road called Mariahilferstrasse is lined with cafe's at night for choice of meals. It is less than 10 minute walk. I would also recommend an evening meal in Rathauspark, the atmosphere is absolutely fantastic for a foodie. The place has all the world cuisines and free flowing wine and beer in an open air garden. And to top it they serve with proper plates, cutlery and glass, something you will never find in UK in open air food retails. Really enjoyed the evening and would love to go again.

You are in the heart of Museum quarter and spoilt for choice if you like museums and galleries. Stephansplatz is only 15 - 20 minute stroll and on the way you will see all the major tourist places, like Kaiser museum, the Spanish Riding school etc.

I would stay here again, at 60 euros a night had a very comfortable stay. For same price you would get a closet in Paris or London.

Room Tip: Blue rooms esp top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 64hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed with my husband and daughter in this hotel for 6 nights in August. We arrived near midnight in a hot and closed room with no air conditioned and locked windows. As Vienna was facing a summer with 39oC temperatures, we barely could sleep. Next morning we ask and they changed us to an air conditioned room for more €$ 20. Other than that, this is a nice hotel.
For a good price you have large and clean room and bathroom, in the heart of Museum Quartier, walking distance from the historic district and less than 1 block from metro station. It has a “different” entrance but a large and refreshing lobby and the staff was always helpful. We did not take breakfast in hotel, but there was free coffee, water and juice available 24/7.
I certainly would recommend this hotel to friends reminding them to ask for an air conditioned room, at least in the summer.

Room Tip: For a good night sleep, ask for A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariamala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
259 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Great location, good price, excellent value, but no parking and no air conditioning on the room...close to the museum quarter,lots of shops and the excellence restaurant Glasis Bleisl
Espresso and tea free of charge.
Great shower !!

Room Tip: Most of all in the summer , check if your room have air conditioning....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreValentim71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback! It helps us to improve our services.
We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed it in our Hotel ViennArt.
We do not have our own garage but there is a public garage only about 500 meters from our hotel, for which we have tickets for a reduced price. I am sorry, if our receptionists did not give you this information.
Air conditioning we only have in a few rooms in our comfort room-category, bookable on request. We are glad that the heat is over now, it was a really hot summer this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Neubau
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#231 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#89 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Mariahilf
Mercure Secession Wien
Mercure Secession Wien
#142 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier

Property: Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Address: Breite Gasse 9, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#117 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art, Design & Joie de VivreIn our house, you will enjoy the most modern comfort in our stylish rooms and a warm hospitality. A special highlight is the location in the idyllic, vibrant, and creative area at the Spittelberg, right next to one of the most important museum complexes in the world, with the Museum of Natural History and the Museum of Art History, as well as the trendy Museumsquartier. The impressive Ringstraße with the imperial residence „Hofburg“, the theatre „Burgtheater“, and the public gardens “Burggarten” and “Volksgarten” is within walking distance.• odern 4-star boutique hotel directly at the Museumsquartier• perfect downtown location in immediate vicinity of the most important sights such as the Hofburg with the Spanish Riding School and the Sissi Apartments, the Wiener Ringstraße with the Opera, the City Hall, the theater “Burgtheater “…• 60 standard or superior rooms and suites with bath tub or shower, toilet, telephone, satellite TV with Sky channels, safe, radio, minibar, hair-dryer, and make-up mirror• rich buffet breakfast with Austrian quality products• free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel• free PC use with free internet access in the hotel lobby• free drinks in our “Café Lounge” (coffee, tea, juice) from 12:00 to 24:00• underground stops of U2 & U3 in immediate vicinity of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austrotel Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing